We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to land after overnight flight from U.S.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railway View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway View House
Ranked #10 of 35 Ennis B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to land after overnight flight from U.S.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We chose to stay in Ennis because of the proximity to Shannon. Railway View was easy to find, important given our exhausted state. We arrived early, but Kathleen was not there. After a walk, Kathleen drove in right behind us. She was very gracious and promptly showed us our room. The entrance and public area was very clean and this was reflected in the room. The room was a reasonable size. Our only complaint was how long it took the toilet to fill. Kathleen explained this was because this room was at the end of the plumbing. She offered that we were probably tired after our flight said she would be quiet while we napped. We met her young granddaughter who took easily to us. Kathleen gave us suggestions for dining and activities in the area. Breakfast was wonderful. We highly recommend Railway View if you are flying in or out of Shannon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfische1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stay in Ennis for 2 nights with my family of 4. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erno219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

I chose this B & B because of reviews on TripAdvisor. The place looked nice and was in a quiet location but the bed wasn't comfortable. Also, even though I wasn't expecting this, the other B & Bs we had stayed in had offered a choice of breakfast and this place did not.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlibGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

The hosts at this lovely B&B are all any traveler could hope for. We found them to be gracious and helpful, making our stay a memorable one. They even let us store some take-out food in their refrigerator so we could have it for the next day. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. One day, we had a burned out lightbulb in one fixture and they replaced it as soon as we mentioned it. The home is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, so there are no street noises to keep you awake. I would definitely stay there again if we return to Ennis.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Railway View House is my favorite place to stay in Ireland. I've been there many times before, the last being last week; and always find a warm welcome from Kathleen and Denis. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet: the location of the house some yards off the main road means that traffic noise isn't an issue. The ensuite facilities were the most up-to-date I've found in Ireland--never a problem getting hot water or ample water pressure. Kathleen is a most welcoming hostess, happy to accommodate to visitors' needs and schedules. (I always seem to be on the run, to catch a bus or a train at Ennis station, which is about a 20-minute walk). The gardens are lovely and restful, and a beautiful sunny day there is a treat indeed: very secluded feeling, even though the house is just off a main road. In all, a terrific place--one worth going back to again and again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookline1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed at Railway View House recently and I have to say it was one of my most pleasant experiences and this is coming from someone who has travelled the world. This Bed and Breakfast is so peaceful and incredibly homely even though it is only a ten minute walk to the town centre. The house is big and beautiful and you would swear you were in the heart of the country-side. Denis and Kathleen were so welcoming and eager to give advice that I really did not want to leave. The breakfast was so filling and I could have as much as I wanted. I would highly recommend this beautiful house as a home from home. I will definitely be back with my wife and two kids.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali79NorthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

We spent two nights at the Railway View House in Ennis and it was one our favorite B&Bs during our trip to Ireland. While it's slightly off the beaten path (about 15-20 min walk to downtown Ennis), our rooms were charming and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed with our two younger children and I'd highly recommend Railway View House to anyone coming to Ennis.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable rooms and great breakfast
  • Disliked — Not directly in town
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CinJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
1.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Ardilaun Guesthouse
#7 of 35 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway View House

Property: Railway View House
Address: Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on secluded, wooded grounds in the heart of Ennis town just 8 minutes walk to the town centre, Railway View House is a purpose-built bed and breakfast with six guest rooms and quality breakfasts. Hosts Kathleen Cahill and her husband Denis provide pleasing bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet, residential setting. Railway View House is easy to reach by car and just a short walk into town. Kathleen is a sweet and kindly lady, pleased to dispense advice. Each of the six guest rooms are decorated in a relaxed, country-cottage motif, with wooden floors. Bedrooms are all en suite with power showers, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a comfortable lounge also at your disposal with a TV and library should you feel the urge to unwind after your day's travel. Just fifteen minutes drive to Shannon Airport. Ennis provides the ideal stopover point on the first or last night in Ireland or as a base to explore all the wonderful sights the west of Ireland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Railway View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway View House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing