We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashford Court Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have to say I was a bit underwhelmed when we pulled up to the hotel that seemed to be located on a backstreet, but my concerns were forgotten the second we entered the hotel. We were greeted warmly by the manager of the hotel and were made feel instantly at home. I would describe the decor of the hotel as classical yet modern, very inviting! The best thing about this hotel is the service. Every member of staff we met went above and beyond to help us in whatever way possible. The one thing that was slightly below par was the bedroom, It was a little on the small side and laced a few basic fittings, there was only 1 bedside table and lamp and the room was overall a bit dark. This is me being a bit over critical, as Its definitely nothing that would stop me from visiting again. In fact I look forward to visiting the hotel again in the future and would recommend to anyone looking for a short break in Ennis!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    67
    36
    30
    25
See reviews for
26
98
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at Ashford Court during Easter break, selected the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't sorry. Firstly the staff are so helpful and friendly and it's genuine. The reception area and foyer and breakfast area décor are lovely, as is the hotel in general.

I was a little disappointed with our room, it was beginning to flag a little, i.e. the TV had no ariel so we couldn't watch it, which in the long run wasn't such a hindrance. There were no reading lights in the room, only a bit ceiling light which was a dull light and I found it very hard to read and I though the carpet wasn't as clean as it could have been i.e. sweets left over from previous guests still on the floor, and sticky substance walked into the carpet.

However, the shower was lovely, strong and plenty of hot water, the beds were comfortable, lovely pillows and fabulous crisp linens on the bed. We had great sleeps in the beds. The breakfast was great, buffet breakfast and again the staff couldn't do enough for you there. There is a room on the first floor with a kettle and tea and coffee and vending machine, which is a nice idea as there are no kettles in the rooms.

The location is fantastic for the town of Ennis and touring around Clare in general. We really enjoyed our time there thoroughly and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wong11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

when we arrived and the area we thought oh no but once we entered it all changed,lovley decor althouigh our room wasnt ready we left our bags and wandered into town,we got back to our hotel a couple of hours later we were in the vine room 304,a nice big room big bed and a medium sized bathroom,not good if your a tall person in the shower the ceiling is tilted,because the hotel has been shut for a while,the room is a little bit dated needs toughing up in areas,breakfast time is something else the room is brilliant decorated,the food is lovley great breakfast great selection,the staff are brilliant too and the owner is top notch would reccomend this place.

Room Tip: if your a tall person the bath/shower in 304 the vine room would'nt be good for you the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpfc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was slightly hard to find, and calling the hotel for details was not the most productive task. It is nice that there is free parking, however it was a tight parking spot for sure. The facilities are nice, and the front desk staff was pleasant (maybe too pleasant?) the room was small but typical for Europe and the bathroom was nice and clean. No shower curtain, however, which is a little strange. The common tea room was a mess when we went to use it while eating late-night Supermacs, so we just ate in the room. The heater needed to be turned on, as the room was cold on arrival, and eventually warmed us up. However, it made a horrific loud noise which I can only guess was from the heater as it stopped once I turned it off. Also heard some strange rumors from the locals about this place...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Recently stayed here on business for a few nights, and from the get go it was a great experience. Tom and his staff really extend a warm welcome and couldnt do enough to make my stay pleasant. The rooms are large, clean and comfy and as for breakfast its a never ending supply of food full Irish with a great selection of breads, cheeses, cereals and more including fresh scones some mornings.Tom can advise on all the local attractions and takes time to make you feel welcome. Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone staying in Ennis

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Stayed for 2 nights and came back to stay for one more night before leaving for Shannon. Very clean, extremely comfortable beds, good breakfast, tea / coffee room and great location. Walking distance to city center and no need to drive through small windy roads. Not expensive at all. Tom and his staff made us feel at home. Overall I believe that Tom's great hospitality, help and attention to every detail, relaxed and assuring manners made us feel so wonderful and at ease. Ennis is a truly beautiful and unspoiled Irish town, nice old architecture and wonderful nature around. Also, Ennis is a convenient stop on the way to explore western parts of Ireland. We will definitely be back. Thank you for everything, Tom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata8K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here at the weekend with a group of friends. The rooms are incredibly spacious with really comfy beds and are spotlessly clean. The staff were so friendly and welcoming- gave us loads of tips on where to go in the area and where to go out at night. Breakfast was amazing- full Irish with loads of extras! Perfect place to stay on a trip to Clare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_beirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Banner Lodge
Banner Lodge
#7 of 9 in Ennis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Court Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Court Boutique Hotel

Property: Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Address: 1 Old Mill Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashford Court Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ashford Court Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Court Ennis
Hotel Ashford Court
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing