We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House with Great Hostess”
Review of Glenomra House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenomra House
Ranked #1 of 34 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This B&B is conveniently located. As we arrived on foot from the bus station, the hostess met us and immediately helped us get on our excursion to the Cliffs of Moher. Ms. Mary went out of her way to make sure we made it to the bus station. The room was very nice along with the bathroom. We enjoyed our time at this B&B and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stopped in last minute during our drive around Ireland last week. Mary was very sweet and welcoming making sure we had a comfortable room and all we needed. We only stayed for one night, but it was a pleasant respite. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Glenomra House. Mary, the owner is a delightful lady and the accommodations and breakfast were fine. It is a lovely B and B. There is much to do around Ennis, Ireland and the Glenomra House is within an easy walk of the center of town. She responded quickly when I sent an email after leaving there about an item I thought I left there.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second of three floors, very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARK973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our last stop in Ireland. Not spectacular but, a nice owner: Mary. Glenomra House is located on the main street (Limerick Road), right-off the Super Highway, easy to find -egress and park. I would say of the 11 B&B / Bed & Breakfast Houses we stayed at, unlike most of the others, it didn't give me a feeling of Warm and Fuzzy- just function. Our room, at the back of the building (2nd story), had a view of the large backyard (by Irish City Standards). It was reasonably priced and the beds were 'okay'. Squeaky -Well-Used-Floors (could use a 'floor insulation' installation). But, from what we drove around and saw- it's a choice of ONE in Ennis. This B&B was it. I was glad I booked it two weeks out....

Only bleak point: There were virtually, only 1-2 decent LOOKING restaurants to choose from in the entire City (we drove side to side and end to end!) and we ended up at an American 50's Diner for lunch and then later at The West County Hotel- both close to the Hotel B&B and both 'average' in food quality. This B&B House is all about Convenient- Location- Location-Location!
This building is 'purpose built', clean, and run like a well-oiled machine. Mary is very cordial and helpful- but, in my view, all business. It was advertised on another website as "15 minutes" from the Shannon Airport and you can set your morning clock by that claim (driving at 7:30-8a). The parking lot was posted "Not Responsible For Theft" so, not wanting to risk it, we brought ALL our luggage and items into the room (Ennis is far from a 'high-income residents City'). Sadly, I have a very bad back so, my poor wife had to lug everything up and down the stairs. Certainly not Mary's fault.
Best of all, the price was right- we didn't stay for breakfast ( no credit given) as we had an 'issue' with the Hertz Rental Car and tires. Glenomra House was still a great Value~

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The owner of this B&B is so hospitable and just such a kind person! Her place doesn't look that big from the street but when you walk in it is pretty huge. It is very cozy and feels like home...maybe even better than home :) She talks to you like you're an old friend and is very helpful with where to go for food and sightseeing. The only downside is that I guess the walls are kind of thin so you can hear people walking around but we love her place even with that minor detail. The view from our room was very pretty, it overlooked her backyard which was gorgeous. Her breakfast is delicious and has a wide selection to choose from. We stayed there for 2 days and even thought about going back to Ennis just to stay there again. We never left her place hungry or disappointed, maybe only disappointed to be leaving. She even gave us some scones to take on our hike so we don't get hungry. Needless to say we would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanipie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Mary was the hostess with the mostest. We were made to feel very welcome and our room was immaculately clean and comfortable.

The proximity to Ennis town was very convenient, being only a short walk which enabled us to enjoy an evening meal at the local Town Hall restaurant.

We enjoyed one of the best breakfast menus ever. The choice was vast. We enjoyed our stay at Glenomra House very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is an incredible B&B. The rooms are beautiful and sparkling clean. Mary is a delightful hostess and someone you'd love to invite to your home! She serves a wonderful breakfast. Her prices are very affordable. It's a great location to stay when visiting The Burren and the Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ennis hotels
0.5 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,624 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grey Gables B & B
Grey Gables B & B
#3 of 34 in Ennis
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenomra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenomra House

Address: Glen House Glenomra House Limerick Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenomra House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing