We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Glenomra House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenomra House
Ranked #1 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arrived in the early am from the US, but we were made comfortable in the living room, and given tea, scones and jam until our rooms were ready.

Not much else to add to the other comments. We had a room in the front, and with the window open some might be bothered by the traffic noise, but it's only cars, and no noisy trucks. We slept just fine. Also, we appreciated a ride to the train station, as we were on foot!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be better for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmdrBozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    36
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
126
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our first trip to Ireland, arriving into Ennis in the pouring rain, and we're lost. We phoned Mary, and bless her heart, she navigated us better than our GPS (which didn't recognize "Glenomra House, Limerick Road" as an address). When we arrived, she greeted us like long-lost relatives, welcoming us into her lovely home. She gave us directions, suggestions for restaurants, and even a lift into town ("Well, it's pouring rain!" she said). Mary is the embodiment of hospitality, she's drop-dead gorgeous (think: sophisticated interior designer or fashion editor) and has a wicked sense of humor, and minutes after you've walked through her, you'll feel like you've known her for years. Breakfast was delicious; and we had the good fortune to chat with some interesting British guests who were there for the music festival, which we knew nothing about but were able to attend for a couple of hours before our departure from Ennis. The festival is an annual event, and both spectators and performers come from all over the world; our brief experience of it was one of the highlights of our trip! If you're going to the Cliffs of Moher or anyplace else in County Clare, Ennis is a charming town to visit; and Glenomra house is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Glenomra, a really lovely place to stay. Mary was a wonderful hostess- friendly, very helpful, and cooked a great breakfast. Our room faced the back yard and was spacious and very comfortable. There's plenty of parking in the front garden. It was a 10 minute flat walk to the centre of town. We really enjoyed staying at Glenomra, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ennis. It was a true delight staying with Mary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozduo2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgantown
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great place to stay if visiting the Cliffs of Moher. Easy walk to town for dinner or shopping. Agree with other positive reviews. I am a light sleeper and had no problems, you can hear other guests but no more then other places we have stayed. The house is on a major road but it was very quiet at night. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast selection was wonderful and very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtnjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful guest house with a wonderful owner. The house is a short walk from the town center. A perfect stroll after dinner and music. Our room was very comfortable, and overlooked a lovely back yard. Mary is a great hostess and provided an excellent dinner recommendation. She also made a fabulous breakfast the next morning. This was the perfect finish to our Irish adventure.

We really enjoyed our stay in Ennis, and hope to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irmo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I can't think of a single negative thing about this bed and breakfast. The host helped us to track down papers that we left at the airport and was a wonderful source of local information. The house is located close to the center of Ennis on a major street, but we did not hear any noise to impede a good night's rest. Everything was spotless. The walk into town was about ten minutes, and Shannon airport was an easy twenty minutes. The breakfast was unbelievable: a buffet of cheeses, meats and fruits, followed by a menu of beautifully cooked options. We would go back in a minute, and I cannot more highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfort c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We recently stayed at Glenomra House for a short visit to see Ennis and County Clare. Glenomra House was decent. It's a nice house within walking distance of Ennis' city centre. The rooms are clean, and our host was pleasant. But the house is old, and with an old house come thin walls and creaky floors.

We heard our neighbor's conversations, and they weren't being loud. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and while trying to sleep we heard every footstep and noise above us. I am not a light sleeper, but I had a terrible time trying to fall asleep here. If you can sleep amongst the noise, it's a decent place to stay. But if you are at all a light sleeper or have trouble falling asleep with distracting background noise, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IrishRob118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenomra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenomra House

Property: Glenomra House
Address: Glen House Glenomra House Limerick Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenomra House Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing