We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
mountmellick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you have kids and need a break away this is the hotel for you, kids friendly more than adults, big lobby for lazying around while kids over 4 had games room and kids club, we hardly saw them at all, cliffs of moher, the burren, ailwee caves, horse riding and pet farms not far and not too expensive, theres 3 restaurants in the hotel but I recommend the restaurant in the bar, grub was delicious, we could hardly walk after but food in the main restaurant was great value 2adults+3kids evening meal €50 3courses can't go wrong with that shur ya'd spend as much in McDonald's.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    267
    159
    114
    83
See reviews for
327
218
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
waterford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the west county hotel with the hubby and 13 year old son.After reading reviews on trip advisor I was a little apprehensive.However I was pleasently surprised.Firstly the public areas are lovely and clean.Reception staff very friendly and informative especially Marie,Michelle and Deirdre.

A few small things that could be improved on The breakfast was really only ok not very well laid out and long queues.The small cafe in the foyer was not great in my opinion.I ordered a toasted ham and cheese sandwich ,waited approx 15 mins and when it came there was no ham but lovely garnish only prob was no cutlery to eat it with.

Having said all that all the staff were extremely courteous friendly efficient and the money I paid it was well worth it and I would def return.

Finally the leisure centre was excellant spotlessly clean plenty of lifeguards,absolutly lovely for children.The hotel is very child friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deporresWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed for 3nights, Family room. 2 adults and 1 child. In the bedroom was a double bed and 3 singles. The room had plenty of space, but the decor was a bit shabby, could do with
decorating and be a bit more modern.The staff were great and very helpful, Its an ideal spot, not too far from Ennis town( which is beautiful.) The only thing we found was that the bedroom was very hot, it had no air conditioning, and we had to ask for a fan for the room, which was brought to the room very quickly.We stayed in a non-smoking family room. In the bathroom you have a hand wash and showergel dispenser handy if you forget your own. Also there is a hairdryer in one of the drawers.The swimming pool was clean.The bar meal we had the 1st night was nice, the 2nd was not, so we went into Ennis town to a pub for an evening meal, and that was fantastic..A lot of work needs to be done on the Hotel Decor.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room( family room) plenty of space in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spent two nights in the West County, this was our third visit, our previous visits in 1999 and 2000 were great, a lot can happen in ten years. Decor is now shabby, paintwork chipped, sanitary ware in bathrooms grubby and tiles in need of grouting, carpets and curtains are stained and have seen better days. The big problem we had was at breakfast, when we arrived each morning there was a large crowd waiting to be seated, we had to give our room numbers and wait in the lobby, too many people and not enough chairs to accommodate them, we waited approximately 40 minutes, we did ask at reception why there was such a delay and wer wee told "probably no tables available" this was not the case, we can see directly into the dining room and there were plenty of tables which were laid out but not being used, when we were eventually escorted to our table for four, we proceeded to the self service buffet but when we got back to our table the same member of staff was giving our table to 4 other people, this proved embarrassing for us all, the dining room manager asked who gave us the table, I told her that she did, so she had to ask the other 4 people to go back outside, not professional. They lock the door into the hotel at night, you have to ring a bell and wait for the night porter to let you in, there is no residents bar due to staffing cutbacks. On the plus side the food is very good, bot this does not compensate for the other shortcomings. For us there will not be a fourth visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Pluses - pool is decent (water warm), staff are very friendly and warm, breakfast very good (coffee was excellent!), rooms clean.

Not so good - rooms very dated and in need of a refurb. Food in the bar in the evening was awful fare - definelty avoid that.

Overall a good experience and good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

stayed in the west county in 2006,revisited the hotel on august 2012.rooms smelled of smoke,could not take our clothes out of suitcase as smell was so bad..the hotel has become very run down.friday morning ,no water in the hotel.checked my family out two days early.food in the bar is very poor.This hotel is really for parents who want to leave their children in the kids club while they stay in the bar ,drink themselves stupid,then take it out on their children.the children were better behaved than the parents.staff were very friendly and helpful,but this does not make up for our holiday from hell.will never go back.the pool is the only part of hotel that has being cared for..your bedrooms are a disgrace.do something about it.teach your staff how to use a hoover .

Room Tip: do not take room 220 or 230.stink of smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donegalpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the west county hotel for 3 nights with our 3 children. From the time we entered the hotel the hospitality of all the staff could not have been better. We arrived early but even though our room was not ready the receptionist checked us in and gave use all that we needed so that we did not have any waiting around when we got back from our day out. They had staff that provided information on things to do in Co Claire and she could not have been more helpful even offering to go to the shop for me at one point. The kids attented the kids club which was excellent value. Even my 13 yr old was kept entertained with the free teen area, which has computer games etc.. Breakfast was delicious and plentlyful , can be busy between 9.30 and 10.30 and you might have to wait for a table but not for long. The rooms were comfortable but can get quiet warm at night. We had housekeeping every morning which provided plenty of fresh towels. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is central to all the main attractions that Claire has to offer, 30 minutes from the cliffs of moher, Ailwee caves, bunratty castle the list goes on. But if you are just looking for a child friendly relaxing holiday this is the place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West_GM_12, Public Relations Manager at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest
I refer to your recent review of your experiences at the West County Hotel and firstly wish to express our thanks to you for your valuable feedback, which we find most helpful in enabling us to ensure that we are always trying to surpass our guests’ expectations.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff – it is much appreciated.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the West County Hotel in the not too distant future.
Sincerely
Brian Harrington
Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel

Property: Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Address: Clare Road | Limerick Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing