We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Going Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Never Going Back!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Buy cheap pay twice! Except this wasn't cheap and we paid twice!
Food.....McDonalds does better!
Decor very dated, their website photographer is an extremely talented person!
Pool area disappointing, HUGE difference between photo and reality!
We incurred a charge for the FREE kids club!
Very poor customer service regarding a double billing issue and resolving of same!
Never going back...even if we got for free!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    280
    175
    123
    88
See reviews for
353
236
22
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Aug 2nd, Friday night the hotel Flooded....roof very old ....lots of rain = Buckets everywhere collecting waterfalls of running water!
Meal in Bar was very average. Burger was nice, Chicken Goujans were frozen chicken nuggets! Entertainment was good but didn't start til 10.30pm!
Saturday...Pool closed as a child had vomited in pool.
Meal in restaurant was inedible, wine list....First 3 bottles we chose were not in stock!
Free kids club had a charge of €5 per child!!!!!
Room ok,bathroom dated. Furniture very scuffed. No air con, rooms were noisey, had to ask people in next room to stop party at 2 a.m. Pool area very old and tired.
Worst of all:
Credit card was CHARGED TWICE for the stay...hotel admit mistake...10 days later money is still not refunded!

Room Tip: Bus bunk beds were a great hit with our kids. Only plus of the whole stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCusack, Marketing Assistant at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Denise

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry for your obvious disappointment following your stay with us, it regretful that you did not bring any issues or problems you may have been having to our Managers or staff on duty to afford us the opportunity to resolve them for you.

I am especially surprised that you found the food in the dining room to be inedible and didn’t mention it to your server and allow us to bring it to the chef’s attention.

It is disappointing that you found the start time of Live Entertainment in the Bar to be too late, 10.30pm is the start time every Friday and Saturday night as the Bar closing time is later and this has been preferred by all our guests to date.

You are correct in saying that the swimming pool had to be closed on Saturday as a child fell ill while swimming, thankfully the child is doing well and we were able to drain and clean the pool in under 24hours. Unfortunately this is something we cannot control and I do apologise for the inconvenience.

Indeed we do run a free kids club seven days a week with various activities like Arts & Crafts where children get to make a keepsake to bring home with them, as well as Wii games and Obstacle courses. We then have either a Disco or show a Movie on the big screen in the evening time. The only cost incurred for these services is a €5 charge for drinks and popcorn which we provide during the movie, it is widely advertised both at reception and in the bedroom information as well as verbally by our staff about the charge.

With reference to you being charged twice, as you are now aware it was a preauthorisation you gave on check-in which was holding on your account, this holding is done by your own bank and not a second charge by the hotel. I do know that our mangers were in constant contact with you and explained the procedure in full so I am glad it has been cleared up for you.

Kind regards
Sinéad Cusack, Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we stayed in this hotel on 02/08/14 while we were in ennis for a hen night .28 of us stayed and from arrival to departue we all found the hotel of highest standards staff were fantastic the meal was excellent definetly will be back here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 574kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCusack, Marketing Assistant at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Kate

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you and your fellow hen’s enjoyed your visit. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed dining with us and that your stay ran smoothly for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys West County again soon.

Kind regards
Sinéad Cusack, Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were booked into an other hotel, but when we arrived at the other hotel we were told it was over booked and that we were booked into Treacys.
The staff in Treacys were really nice and helpful. Food in the pub was good and the swimming pool and saunas were great.
My only complain is that the room was really warm even with the window open. Othervis a good hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hennica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCusack, Marketing Assistant at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Hennica

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always love to hear from our guests.

It is lovely to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you made the most of leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys West County again soon.

Kind regards
Sinéad Cusack, Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was staying on a Sunday evening. Family sort of hotel also full of tour parties. No air con in rooms - not even a fan, so was quite stuffy and muggy. Comfortable, clean, if a little tired. Good staff, polite and friendly. Rooms are not sound-proofed, large gaps under doors so all sound from the corridor travels in - especially the loudest burp I think I've ever heard at about 2:00am from the people heading into the room opposite. On the other hand maybe it was the acoustics! Didn't venture into the pool or gym because it was pretty full of families and kids at the time. When I went back the following evening all was quiet and the tour parties had moved on. Breakfast was substantial and wholesome and the inevitable buffet. Wifi signal was OK on the ground floor where I was accommodated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muso90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCusack, Marketing Assistant at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the breakfast.

I am sorry that you found the rooms to be a bit stuffy in this lovely weather we have been having and it is a pity you didn’t mention it to our reception or accommodation staff who would be only too delighted to provide a fan for you. The same can be said for the disturbing noise you heard, we have 24hour security staff in the hotel would be happy help.

We also have allocated times during the day when our leisure facilities are adults only, perhaps these times did not suit your schedule.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys West County in the future.

Kind regards
Sinéad Cusack, Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed with my husband and 2 children over theAugust bank holiday weekend. The keys just wouldn't work in the room door no matter how many new ones we got. We eventually gave up and spent our first night with no key and relying on the porter to come up to let us in. The bathroom was noticeably dirty with a lot of long hits in the sink and bath.
Breakfast was sufficient but with sloppy presentation, the dining room was plain dirty.
Beds were uncomfortable with a lot of external noise
Not good value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nuala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCusack, Marketing Assistant at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Nuala

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, we do value all chances we get to hear directly from our guests.

I am sorry for your obvious disappointment following your stay with us and would like to look into this further with a little more information from you. If you could email us directly with more details I would greatly appreciate it, our email is info@treacyswestcounty.com.

I look forward to hearing from you and do hope you offer us the opportunity to restore your faith in Treacys Wes County in the future.

Kind regards
Sinéad Cusack, Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my husband and six year old son for four nights on a b & b basis. We had been here twice before as a couple about 10 years. I noticed that the general decor was still the same and a little worn and shabby in places around the corridors, stairs and around the pool area. Our room itself was nice and comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were given a room at the side of the hotel, which was nice and quiet.
The pool and leisure centre was nice, but again the area was very worn around the pool edges and jacuzzi.
The hotel itself was perfect for young families, if you're looking for a couple's holiday, the hotel would not be ideal, as there were plenty of crying babies and toddlers as well as lots of young children around. There is also a good kids club there too.
The food was ok, the main restaurant could get very crowded at breakfast time, especially after 10am. The bar food was nice, and there was a nice relaxing atmosphere around the place.
I must say that the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer! They were always very helpful and cheerful, even when under pressure.

The hotel is an ideal base for exploring Kilkee, Liscannor etc and local amenities. It's also just a 15 minute walk from the town centre if you fancy something different.

We enjoyed our stay, and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel near the leisure centre end, it's quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SineadCusack, Marketing Assistant at Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Michelle

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time out to post a review.

It is lovely to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I am happy to read that you enjoyed dining with us.

I am happy that you made the most of our great location to explore both the gems of County Clare and the lovely town of Ennis.

I am delighted that your son enjoyed the Kids Club, the summer is naturally our busy time with families and children.

I am sorry you felt the hotel needs updating we have made a lot of changes throughout the hotel, including the Bar which had a major structural and cosmetic changes, which is indeed ongoing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys West County.

Kind regards
Sinéad Cusack, Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel

Property: Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Address: Clare Road | Limerick Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel Ennis, Ireland - County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing