We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty food in good surroundings”
Review of The Sherwood Inn

The Sherwood Inn
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: The Sherwood Inn is a family run restaurant set up in 1985 providing good value, home cooked food at affordable prices in a comfortable bistro style setting located in the heart of Ennis town.
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
“Hearty food in good surroundings”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Being a native Clare Person it is hard to be in my native county without a stop into my favourite restaurant, The Sherwood Inn. It has always delivered for me wonderful food and a great homely feel; the staff are just brilliant, management are blessed with the work ethic of the staff they cannot not do enough for you without being in your face. When I was home last month I was greeted by a lady I never caught her name but I over heard someone say it was Maggie or something like that. She was just exceptional. I had brought a friend that had never been to the restaurant before and she could get over the niceness of the staff even when we arrived as it was a bust Saturday. To be greeted with a smile and a warm welcome even during such a busy time is testament of how professional the staff are. At no point did we feel like they wanted us to eat and leave and turnaround the table. All in all one of the best restaurants I can think off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeBird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    51
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lahinch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value good food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We eat here all the time food is good 98% of the time. It is value for money and they do take away if you want a nice meal at home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alan100Lahinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

very nice restaurant and good food and service i've been in on a couple of occasions over the last few weeks and the standard is always hight and at a good price

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“decent spot to grab a bite”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It was more by accident than design that I ate in the Sherwood, owing to a friend's decision to try it as a place to grab a bit to eat. My initial impression was not a very good one, seeing a queue of people ahead of us waiting to be seated. Once we did get a table, though, the experience improved substantially. The system of the waiter/waitress electronically sending an order to the kitchen, as well as the pre-payment, is very efficient and should be adopted elsewhere.

I got a burger and chips which definitely filled a gap and were quite tasty. I then opted for dessert, although I was attempting to grab the attention of waiting staff for a good five minutes. Then again, the restaurant was extremely busy, as it usually is on a Saturday afternoon.

As a place to grab a tasty bite for lunch at a reasonable price, the Sherwood hits the spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liamt505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating Out At Home”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Ordered turkey & ham dinners for takeaway. The turkey was tender & there was more than enough mash & vegetables. They even added a pot of gravy for the dinners rather than put it on them which made it ideal for reheating without being left with a dinner covered in gravy

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sherwood Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing