We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Claragh B&B”
Review of Claragh B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claragh B&B
Ranked #16 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I was very lucky more than twenty years ago when a friend told me about this B&B just outside of Blarney. I have since stayed here more than 16 times and the experience is always memorable. Cecilia Keily is more like a member of my family than a host at a B&B. She makes you feel comfortable and at home. Her baked goods are always a treat upon arrival and at meals. Her rooms are bright and cheerful, just like her. I have sent many other travelers to her home and they too have been blessed with one of the best B&B experiences one can have in Ireland. You can't go wrong staying at this peaceful, cozy location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Welby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraghBandB, Owner at Claragh B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

It was a wonderful experience to have Jim come back to visit my B&B on his retirement from the Police Force. He travelled with his niece who really enjoyed my version of Irish Stew for dinner! He is always so generous with his recommendations to other U.S. friends to stay in my home when they are touring Ireland.
Thank you Jim for all your kindness. I call you the "The Gentle Giant".
Go raibh mile maith agat, Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

We returned to Cork for the May Bank Holiday and were thrilled to get a booking at Claragh for Saturday night. After a very long drive from Dublin we were welcomed by the most delicious freshly baked fruit crumble and piping hot Barry's tea. (Cecilia even gave me the recipe!)
Our room was freshly decorated in beautiful florals, warm and absolutely spotless.
Breakfast was a real treat. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for me and fresh fruit, organic yoghurt and Irish Cheese plate for my husband.

With a great welcome and price we cannot recommend this B&B gem highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraghBandB, Owner at Claragh B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Hi Monica
We are so glad you both had a second pleasant stay Claragh. It is always very lovely to hear we are doing things that people enjoy and remember. Hope that recipe is going well for you!
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others and we welcome you both back any time for some more tasty breakfasts....there are lots more to choose from :)
best wishes, Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We spent one night here as we began our travels in this area of Ireland. I can't say enough good things about our stay. Cecilia is a wonderful host! She gave us good tips for our visit to the Blarney castle and was helpful in offering dinner suggestions. Breakfast was amazing as well!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank lovetotravelMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraghBandB, Owner at Claragh B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Hello lovetotravelIMP
Thank you for your very sweet review and for taking the time to write it. We are so glad you had a pleasant stay at Claragh. It's always great to have happy customers. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again some day soon
Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Claragh House was the first B & B we stayed at during our trip in September. It was everything I hoped it would be. Our hostess was genuinely interested in making sure every aspect of our stay in Ireland was just perfect. She helped us with sights to see, places to eat, and places that weren't worth seeing. I really appreciated that because we only had two weeks there. She was ready for us when we arrived from the airport with home baked goodies. A menu was provided for breakfast, which was not always the case in other B & B's throughout the country. She spent time chatting with us while we stayed there but made sure she did not monopolize our time. I enjoyed her quiet, sunny sitting room and the lovely location.It was and quiet but not far from the things we wanted to see. The price is more than fair. I would recommmende Claragh House for anyone visiting the South.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Claragh for two nights in September and were wowed by Cecilia from the moment we arrived until we left. We found it on the Irish B&B website and read many positive reviews which helped us in our decision and we were not disappointed. We arrived a few hours earlier than planned and wanted to drop off our luggage and ask for some advice on where to go close by since we had been doing a fair bit of driving. Cecilia was very apologetic because she had not yet done her baking! We explained we did not expect anything at this time other than a few recommendations which were quickly offered. She even drew us a little map and made us promise not to have desert since she would have it ready for us. Cecilia's baking is everything everyone's reviews said it was. Breakfast was ample and tasty and is served in the bright and cheery dining room. Although the rooms are smallish, they are immaculate and guests have access to a warm, inviting lounge, cozy with family pictures, books and fireplace. Our hostess was engaging from beginning to end, regaling us with interesting stories and facts, always forthcoming with ideas and suggestions of things to do and see in the Cork/Blarney area. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at Claragh B&B for a couple of days in early September and were delighted with the experience. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming, from the moment we arrived (with refreshments served on arrival) to the moment we left. They took time out to sit and chat with us, offering useful advice on things to do in the area, local attractions and directions. The bedroom we had was clean, warm and comfortable. The choice of breakfast was good and the food was nice and tasty. There is adequate parking spaces at the B&B and its location is convenient for Blarney (only a few minutes drive) and handy for Cork City and the surrounding area. We would definitely visit this B&B again when staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ibt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

A lovely host who made every effort to welcome us and give advice about local activities. Our room was fairly basic but very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but clean and tidy. Breakfast was outstanding, that is there was a clear menu, all options available and it was delicious. Overall a great stay, due to our host's experience and level of care in a beautiful part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priya_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blarney hotels
2.8 mi away
Blarney Hotel Golf & Leisure
1.7 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Davmar Bed & Breakfast
Davmar Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 25 in Blarney
76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blarney Castle Hotel
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
368 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Blarney Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Blarney
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claragh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claragh B&B

Address: Waterloo / Newcastle Road | Garrycloyne, Blarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range: £22 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claragh, an established family-run country home offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation located in the Cork countryside of southern Ireland. Claragh Bed and Breakfast is closed for Season 2014 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing