We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Visit”

Blarney Castle & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$432.36*
and up
Blarney Castle, Cork City and Cobh Private Tour from Killarney
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated 8km from Cork City, this historic castle is most famous for its stone, which has the traditional power of conferring eloquence on all who kiss it. The word Blarney was introduced into the English language by Queen Elizabeth I and is described as pleasant talk, intended to deceive without offedning. The stone is set in the wall below the battlements, and to kiss it one has to lean backwards (grasping an iron railing) from the parapet walk. LAST ADMISSION IS 30 MINS BEFORE CLOSING TIME
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved Our Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently visited the castle as part of a Trafalgar Tour, and it was one of our highlights! We waited about an hour to get up to the top of the castle and kiss the Blarney Stone. The trip up to the top was narrow and there was no turning back...but it was a fun experience. The view was very nice at the top, and it was memorable being "tipped back" to kiss the stone! There was an interesting poison garden to explore, and unfortunately we did not get to explore all of the other gardens. The Woollen Mills gift shop was a great spot to purchase gifts for family and friends, and we wished we had more time to check it out.
Overall, this was a very memorable part of our trip to Ireland. Be a tourist, have fun and check it out! It is a lot of fun...and a bit of an adventure to get to the top!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GoRdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,192
    1,291
    229
    61
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good but a little overated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We bought tickets for the castle and gardens but it wasn't until we had gone through the turnstiles that we were aware of needing to have a different ticket to the house. We aimed to view the castle first and then walk the gardens afterwards but because of the queues, we spent about an hour just queuing to get to the top of the castle and the stairs in some places were extremely steep and narrow. If you are slightly unsteady on your feet, this is not for you. After kissing the Blarney stone, the descent back down through the castle was considerably more relaxed and gives you a much better opportunity to view the castle itself.
The café alongside the castle does serve reasonable sandwiches and drinks but they aren’t cheap.
We walked from the café through to the house which had closed by this time (2:00 pm) so we were glad that we hadn’t bought tickets for this. However, the garden is quite extensive is very pleasant to walk through.
Don’t forget the ice-creams at the café near the turnstiles – fantastic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kiss the stone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Blarney is a quite touristic place. If you wanna kiss the Blarney stone you should arrive a bit earlier there otherwise you should be stuck in a queue waiting. The stone is located upstairs in the castle and to go up should be quite uncomfortable for people who has claustrophobia because there is no extra space on stairs. There is a very nice mansion located behind the castle which I would recommend to see - is very very nice. Blarney is located quite close to Cork so you can travel by bus line 216.

Helpful?
Thank rosta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A lot more to see than just the Blarney Stone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great afternoon here and closed the park down at closing time as kids didn't want to leave. Really fun and lots for kids to do, extensive and interesting well thought out gardens, 2 playgrounds, caves and dungeons under castle to explore and of course kissing the Blarney Stone which guidebooks all deride as cheesy but was really fun! We went into Cork first thing in morning and got a nice picnic from the English Market and had a lovely picnic at Blarney Castle. I suggest waiting until all tour buses have left at end of day to kiss Blarney Stone- was a long wait all day to go up but at supper time we walked right up- no line!

Helpful?
Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
296 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, Even Without Kissing the Blarney Stone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

There was a very long wait (hours) even if I did want to experience the germs of the multitudes before me. No thank you! But the castle itself and the grounds are very pleasant and worth the visit. We ate lunch in the stable area. Reasonable wrapped sandwich fare. Good photo ops throughout. Looked like a very nice gift shop but we just sat and waited for our motor coach to pick us up. Some of our group of 45 enjoyed a beer while waiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blarney Castle & Gardens also viewed

 
County Cork, Province of Munster
 

Been to Blarney Castle & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing