We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maranatha Country House
Ranked #2 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A senior couple plus a friend shared a huge triple room for three nights, and Maranatha couldn't have been a nicer place to stay. The room was bright, clean and spacious, the bathroom was clean and easy to access, and the breakfast was a great start to the days. One of our party had some lower intestinal problems, and the staff was solicitous and helpful and we especially appreciated that courtesy. All in all, a great place to stay, and with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Quite simply, this was the most beautifully decorated B&B we stayed at in all of Ireland. Olwen, although with no formal training to speak of, poured her soul into the decor of this house and the results are outstanding. Along with the comfort of the room, the graciousness and hospitality of the owners, and the wonderful breakfast provided, this is truly a great stay. I most definitely would return and would highly recommend this to anyone for visit. A must stay in Blarney, Cork, Ireland.

Room Tip: Any room offered is wonderfully decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our original B&B booking was with a different place in Blarney, but our reservations had to be cancelled on account of a personal time conflict with the host (Blarney Vale B&B, please see my review there as well since she was ever so helpful and kind) - HOWEVER, she took care of moving our arrangements to Maranatha Country House and WOW! Talk about a vertical move. This manor house is absolutely spectacular. It's impressive grounds and breath taking scenery is enough to floor you, but once you walk inside, you feel like you might just be royalty. Elegant and stylish decor abounds and Olwen has an amazing ability to combine antiques and personality so that you feel comfortable but impressed.

Olwen and her husband were away when we arrived, but their children and friends took fantastic care of us. Their son, Robert was so kind and funny and we were so grateful when he procured a nice bucket of ice for our evening cocktails for BOTH nights we stayed. We were lucky to stay in the Regal Suite, and the name is certainly suitable! Massive room with high ceilings, beautiful four poster bed with gorgeous draperies, and a step down open bathroom with large jet tub. So luxurious!! The room and entire home is kept so clean you would think that a large team of maids are shuttled in there every day.

Robert helped us find a restaurant to eat at and provided us with a local cab company number. Better yet, Robert forewarned us that when the phone call was answered, we would pretty much be unable to understand the extremely heavy accent and he explained exactly what we needed to say to get through the call. Haha! If you need a cab, try to ask for Noel O'Sullivan's number. He was simply wonderful and so very kind and helpful.

Breakfast was fantastic, and even though there were only 5 guests (including our group) at the time, they still provided a large gorgeous spread of options. Whichever sausage they use, it was the best I had while we were in Ireland. Yum! We loved watching the foxes and rabbits playing in the back garden while we ate. So picturesque!

We also got to meet Samson, the "guard" dog who is definitely the most imposing creature I've ever laid eyes on, but he's a sweet harmless boy who just wanders around and enjoys the breakfast leftovers. His name suits him to a tee. Don't be frightened when you arrive to the B&B late and he's laying by the front door! He's probably just snoring or will glance your way, and might just be the best burglar deterrent I've ever seen!

Unfortunately, I had a bad meal one night in Cork and came down with food poisoning, but we were allowed to take our time checking out the next day, which was so kind since I was really in a state. Olwen and her husband arrived just as we were leaving, and it was a pleasure to meet them, I only wish I hadn't been feeling so off; I would have liked to have been more social. Nevertheless, they were both very kind and thanked us for staying with them and apologized that the (gorgeous, not even slightly overgrown) garden hadn't been recently tended! Really fantastic owners. Thank for for a memorable stay! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Regal Suite is absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I loved staying here in May for 2 nights! It is absolutely gorgeous on the inside and all the rooms have cute names! I stayed in the Top Hat room and it did actually have a top hot on the coat rack! It was pink and Old Hollywood styled. There was a big picture of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers that really gave the feeling of the room. The breakfast buffet was great! Olwen and Douglas are some of the sweetest people you will ever meet and very helpful! I hope to visit Blarney again and stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleenb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stay at the Maranatha Country House in Blarney was wonderful. We spent five nights in the Regal room, which is a very spacious room, including a giant sized whirlpool. We felt like royals for five nights. The house is very beautiful, has style and elegance. Olwen did a great job with the interior decorating. The garden is also very beautiful, especially now in spring. Enjoying a perfect breakfast, in a sunny breakfast room, was a perfect start of the day. We loved our warm conversations with Olwen and Doug, and we became good friends with their magnificent dog Samson. We Will certainly come back again.

Room Tip: For a royal treatment, the Regal room is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter_Gouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On 04/27/2014 my friends and I stayed at the Maranatha Country House in Blarney, Ireland.We were greeted by the owners, Olwen and her husband. Gracious hosts and made us feel so welcome in their home. The rooms were so beautiful. I stayed in the Rose room. I will post a picture for you . The room was comfortable and immaculate. The bathroom was beautiful. We also had a place in our room to have tea. Our room overlooked the beautiful grounds. I wish I could have stayed there longer and I will return someday. Close to Blarney Castle and downtown Blarney. Breakfast was wonderful and served in a beautiful conservatory room. I felt like we were outside among the beautiful flowers and gardens. Our stay was arranged by Exploring Ireland. They were wonderful in taking us to this heavenly B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micki641117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was so good to be back. Olwen and Douglas could not have been more welcoming. It is a grand home of the late 1880's with lovely furnishing and grounds. This is Olwen's family home and you can easily detect the love she has for it.

The grounds of Maranatha House are beautiful. One must take time to wander the garden paths, take notice of the flora and enjoy the bunnies who find their homes among the grounds. Breakfast is a delight in a sunny and colorful room. On this visit, we stayed in the Fred Astaire and Ginger Roger's room. And, yes, there is a top hat!! This was Hollywood in the 1930"s!

Douglas gave a grand recommendation for Blair's pub and restaurant. This is a must for supper!! Please note that you can order half-servings as they are very generous with their cuisine.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms we have stayed in across our visits have been wonderful. I don't think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npsNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
7.2 mi away
Cork International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Blarney Castle Hotel
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Muskerry Arms Boutique Lodging
2.5 mi away
Blarney Vale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maranatha Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maranatha Country House

Address: Marantha Country House Saint Ann's Hill | Tower, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range: £68 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroll through the beautiful private gardens and woodlands surrounding this lovely Victorian mansion. Spacious romantic bedrooms. Beautiful historic antiques throughout. Ideally located for day trips to both east and west Cork and Kerry. Rates for bed and breakfast from €35 to €60 per person sharing per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maranatha Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranatha Country Hotel
Hotel Maranatha Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing