We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, nice location”
Review of Ashlee Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashlee Lodge
Ranked #13 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, nice location”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I recently took a 6-day tour of southern Ireland, and our stay at Ashlee Lodge didn't disappoint. Only a few miles east of Blarney, it's location is convenient and easy to find. The rooms were very nice, including a roomy marble bathroom and even robes and slippers. Very luxurious feel for the price.

Our favorite part of our stay was our short walk to the local pub, the Huntsman, where we enjoyed live traditional Irish music as well as conversations with locals and other Ashlee guests.

The continental breakfast that was included with the room is more than sufficient with a big selection! I noticed several people on TripAdvisor complained that there was a charge for a hot breakfast, to which I counter...Ashlee doens't tout itself as a B&B, so what hotels do you know include hot breakfast?? And compared to what an American hotel would call a continental breakfast, this puts that to shame. Those that felt they were "fooled," the menu you're given as you're seated clearly states that there is an extra charge for the hot breakfast.

All in all our stay was quick but very nice, I'd recommend Ashlee Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    18
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
81
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our room at the Ashlee had the prettiest decor of any during our stay in Ireland. The room had all the amenities, with a small bathroom that cleverly used all of its minimal space. Its whirlpool tub even features a rubber ducky! Breakfast had a delicious array of choices, but was a little pricey. The innkeeper was very helpful with suggesting local eateries and driving routes. The outdoor hot tub is a luxury - bring your swimsuit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Before reviewing the accommodations we stayed at during our trip to Ireland, I reviewed the web sites and correspondence to be sure that I do a fair review. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious - not sure where the AC unit was located. The bath room was large and had some of the better lighting. Overall, we were pleased with our room. However, let's get back to the breakfast. When we were seated for breakfast, we were asked if we wanted a hot breakfast. We were NOT told that a hot breakfast was not included in our room rate, their web site does not indicate that it is an extra charge, their e-mail confirming our reservation did not mention it, and the hostess did not mention it when she asked if we wanted a hot breakfast. They do need to clear up that issue for future guests. Additionally, on their web page, the booking dates only go to 2011. Some updating and clarification would be nice. Their recommendation of eating at Blairs Inn proved to be very good. Our dinner dinner ended up being one of the best meals we had while in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleeLodge, Owner at Ashlee Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear retiredperson,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate your kind comments about the standard of your bedroom and bathroom and the good recommendations provided for your dinner reservations etc. With regard to the position of you air conditioning / heating unit, this is located just over the door of your bedroom and the remote control to activate it is located just inside the bedroom door right next to the main light switch.

However there are a few points in your review I would like the opportunity to clarify. You state in the title of your review that hot breakfast is an extra charge. This is not entirely correct and could be misunderstood by other readers. For the purpose of clarity most of our rates include full breakfast which includes continental breakfast from the buffet plus a choice of any one of ten hot dishes that are cooked to order. Please note that continental breakfast includes 5 types of cereals, various types of fruit salads, yogurts, fruit, a selection of home made breads, juices, toast and tea or coffee.

However there are also room only rates available which do not include the price of breakfast and there are also advance purchase offers which sometimes include just continental breakfast. All room offers are clearly identified and full descriptions of what is included is displayed on our website and on our online booking engine.

I believe you booked our advance purchase offer which currently offers an executive room with continental breakfast for 2 people included at a total price of €69.00 . The very first line of the description of an advanced purchase offer states on our booking engine of our website " A double room with CONTINENTAL breakfast included. Every guest on check in is also advised if breakfast is included in their rate and if so what type. Furthermore the breakfast menu presented to each guest each morning clearly states the price supplement for full breakfast for those guests on a room only rate or on a rate with just continental breakfast. Therefore the reason you were charged a supplement for a cooked breakfast was that you had booked a room with just continental breakfast included.

I am a little puzzled regarding your statement that the booking dates on our website just go to 2011. I understand that you booked on that website for a date arriving in August 2012 and I have just checked and wish to confirm that rooms are available to be booked online up to the end of 2013.

I hope this has cleared up any ambiguity and provides a clearer insight for any future guests who may wish to book with us in the future.

We thank you for your valued feedback and hope to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

John O'Leary.

Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
369 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in Room 9, the Lee Valley Suite in early June '12. It was very tastefully decorated in gold and burgundy colours. It has a modern, well equipped bathroom. The manager (or owner, I'm not sure) recommended Blairs Inn for dinner that night and it was a really nice, delicious, homestyle cooked meal that was very reasonably priced. Our included breakfast the next morning was plentiful and had in a pleasant breakfast room. The only negative would be the bathroom door needs a dab of oil on the hinges as it was squeaky, which was only an issue in the middle of the night,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed in Ashlee Lodge two weeks ago for a long weekend. From start to finish the whole stay was wonderful! On arrival we were welcomed by the proprietors who were very helpful and did everything they could to ensure we had a wonderful stay. The bedroom was very comfortable and charming very comfortable bed and extremely clean! Lovely lounge to relax in in the evening with bar facilities. Breakfast set us up for the day loads of choices and well presented. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maireadsemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

An genuinely warm welcome greeted us at Ashlee Lodge. The luxurious large kingsize bedroom provided us the opportunity to freshen up before returning to the lounge to have a drink and getting some great advice on where to visit and dine locally from our hosts. The facilities available in the Lodge were far better than what we had expected including an outdoor hot-tub and sauna. A plentyful selection of hot and cold breakfast choices served in a bright well appointed dining room helped reasure us that luxury accomodation is still very much there for one and all giving us that well earned break that we deserved with my only complaint being that we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayaker682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Perfect start to our long weekend, we arrived and were given a warmest welcome on arrival , with excllent advice on what to do and see in the area. Excellent spacious room with the largest bathroom and luxury bath, the softness fluffy towles!
The largest selction of breakfast i have ever seen ,something for everyone , hot and cold, i would recommonded the homemade banana bread and the chefs hot breakfast selection.
I requested some hot water for a flask as i was taking part in a local lake swim , i was even treated to some scones by the chef when he filled my flask, it was a lovely suprise. We decided to stay a second night to try out the roof top hot tub, it was a welcome treat after my 8km lake swim. I would recommond Ashlee Lodge as one of the best guest houses in Ireland , from the warm welcome to the perfect food and the spacious rooms, it's a must visit when in Cork next.

Room Tip: Suites large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,107 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
347 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlee Lodge

Property: Ashlee Lodge
Address: Tower | near Cork City, Blarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ashlee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlee Hotel Blarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing