We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down, loud and smelling of smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blarney Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Run down, loud and smelling of smoke”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The only good thing about this place were the people who work there, the front desk was lovely. Everything else was terrible. The hotel is located over a very popular pub that spills out onto the street. Unless you want to smell smoke and listen to drunks until 1am, I don't suggest you stay here. The restaurant is expensive and was empty. The room were large but very run down.
What really upset me is that there was a fantastic looking hotel right behind this one, called the
Blarney wollen mills hotel.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christhepickyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest, I thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I thank you for your contribution about the hotel note your contributions.

Thank you, Una Forrest, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    84
    16
    4
    10
See reviews for
95
118
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels both business and pleasure on our travels and quite simply this is our favourite of them all, we can't remember how many times we have been - we love it so much we even had our wedding here even though we live in the UK !
As soon as you step through the front door into the quaint hotel reception and your bags are carried to your room you know you've arrived in a different place , one where all stresses dissappear, you know for the duration of your stay you will be treated to wonderful experience. Ian and Una are excellent hosts, nothing is to much trouble, their staff are charming, hard working, very helpful and above all genuine.
The hotel is sited on the village green nestled at the foot of Blarney castle, rooms are large clean and spacious with en suite and many overlook the green. The hotel has a traditional bar where you can sit and mingle with the locals, as first and foremost, it is a real Irish bar serving the community and toursists alike you will certainly make some friends. Live traditional folk music is oftened played but if its not, Shamus is always happy to sing Danny Boy !
As far as food goes it is excellent whether you decide to eat in the restaurant or have a bar snack. The menu is changed regularly and uses local Irish producers and is of a very high standard. The breakfasts are fantastic whether its porridge, full Irish, gypsy toast, smoked fish, or, if you aren't hungry fresh home baked daily scones or soda bread will suffice.
We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and familiy all of whom loved it, and many have also gone on to be regulars like ourselves.
We were last with Ian and Una just a few weeks ago but will be going again later in the year.
Until then Ian and Una thanks again and we will see you soon.

Nav and Julie

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor overlooking the village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of Blarney Castle Hotel. We are delighted that you both enjoyed the hospitality of Blarney Castle Hotel and that you come back to Blarney for a stressfree holiday every so often. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. With kind regards Una Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Wonderful hotel with large rooms. Service was top notch. On our last night my wife asked if there was a laundramat close by, the staff took care of the arrangments, and returned our items that evening. Breakfast was more than enough to see us through the day, and quite tasty. Service in the resturaunt couldn't be better.
Location a five minute walk from Blarney Castle. Yes five minutes even for old tired Americans. Quiet village green across the street, made sleeping easy even for the jet laged among us.
Music in the pub, pretty much every night was great entertainment, and the pub staff is top notch. This is a good chance to mix with the locals, hear some great music, and get a feel for the real Ireland.
I'm not a wealthy person, and I must plane my time off carefully. That being said, the Blarney Castle Hotel, will be on my list of places to return to.
Need I add, "Highly recomended".

Room Tip: Our room veiwed out over the town square. Can't speak for the other options, but ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest, Many thank for your recent post on Tripadvisor of your recent stay in Blarney Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Traditional Irish Hospitality here in Blarney and enjoyed the good food and music. Many thanks Una Forrest, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I recently had a 2 night stay at the Blarney Castle Hotel, and it was an excellent experiece. From the gracious woman who checked me in on arrival, to my check out, it was a postive expience. Una even called the bus station in Cork for service times to Killarney. Wonderul location to visit Blarney Castle. If you are there on a Tuesday, the session in the hotel pub is brilliant! Thank you all for the wonderful beginning to my holiday in Ireland..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Blarney Castle Hotel of your recent stay. We value what our guest say about their stay and we try to enhance their stay as much as possible. I am delighted that you enjoyed the traditional music on Tuesday. We have traditional irish music playing every Tuesday and feel it is an added value to guests while staying in the hotel. With kind regards Una Forrest, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

booked this hotel through internet, I would highly recommend this hotel, excellent staff, our bags were carried to our room from our car, friendly greeting and very cheery staff, special mention for Connie who works between reception and the bar, couldn't do enough for you.Large bedroom with a very comfortable bed. excellent choice for breakfast in the mornings served by a very pleasant young waitress from Finland ( forgot to ask her name).
All in all a great stay in Blarney made even better by the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Blarney Castle Hotel and value all of our guest opinions of their stay. We hope to see you again.

With kind regards Una Forrest.,Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I have just returned from working at Blarney Castle and during my visit stayed at the Blarney Castle Hotel.

I must say that the hotel is very friendly and clean and the food was excellent it really was. The room was massive as was the bed and very comfortable.

However one thing to watch….. on check in the lady asked for my card (credit card or debit card) which I gave to her. As with most hotels now a day you expect to have your card authorised when the room has been paid up front to ensure you don’t leave without paying room charges etc. She proceeded to take off a penny. Now I can totally appreciate it’s only a penny but the penny was not holding in the account for authorisation as you would expect, she in fact took the penny. Naturally I queried the transaction immediately. She told me that “all hotels do this and it’s only a penny”. I totally appreciate it’s only a penny but as you will know if you run a transaction through from another country the bank may or may not charge you for that transaction depending on your account. All she could say was that ‘it’s only a penny and all hotels over the world do this’.

I’m sorry but I was not happy with this and explained that I would be settling my outstanding account when I left with cash. I explained that other guest’s regardless of the amount may or may not get a charge from their bank if you remove cash and naturally wanted that penny to be put back on my card. She seemed totally taken back by the request stating her original argument ‘that it was only a penny and all hotels do this’ but she did agree to speak with the hotel manager and would let me know the outcome. She found me within 20 minutes and said the manager had agreed to refund the penny back to my card.

My colleague took note and said he wouldn’t have even noticed what had happened had I not pointed it out. I have not checked to see if the penny has been returned or not but thought I should make other travellers aware. I must also point out that at no point was the staff member rude she was in fact totally lovely as were all the staff.

Would I stay again absolutely!!!

Room Tip: I was in room 28 and my colleague in 29 bothe were huge and clean,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bekki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for choosing to stay at Blarney Castle Hotel while in Blarney. I am delighted that you enjoyed your guest room and the good food we served. Upon check-in we usually swipe a guest credit card through for 1 cent to confirm card details etc. are valid and correct which is our policy here and also in others hotels. This is informed to the guests at that point and whatever balance is due is paid at point of check-out. Once again thank you for taking the time to make a review on Blarney Castle Hotel and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future. With kind regards Una Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A lovely experience, excellent food and exceptional service. The bedroom was largest I have ever slept in and the bar one of the liveliest. One negative - keep a copy of your booking, mine was taken when I checked in and I was over charged when I checked out, only by a few euro's which I would have spent at the bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellemk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a response on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to have you stay with us over the Christmas period and they you both enjoyed your stay and the food in the Blarney Castle Hotel. With kind regards Una Forrest, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Castle Hotel

Property: Blarney Castle Hotel
Address: Blarney Castle Hotel The Square, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarney Castle Hotel was established in 1837 and is still run by the Forrest Family. Blarney Castle Hotel is ideally located on the village square of the picturesque village. We offer excellent guest accommodation. Our restaurant The Lemon Tree Restaurant is opened daily from 7.30 Am till 9.30Pm daily, 7 days a week. Breakfast is served to guests and is also opened to the public. We offer a superior breakfast in the area all of which is cooked to order with a simply delicious choice. All of our produce is sourced locally and we pride ourselves in offering good value for money on our excellent quality of food. Lunch is served daily both in the Main Bar and The Lemon Tree Restaurant from 12 noon onwards till 9.30Pm daily. Our main bar is known locally as "Johnny's" is an unspoilt bar in the village and offers an excellent selection of beers, wines and ales. We have Traditional Music playing every Tuesday from 9.30Pm. On Wednesday(Summer Months only) at 8pm we also have Set Dancing together with Margaret Mccarthy and Music to entertain our guests and locals alike. We also have music on Saturday and Sunday. We also have a function room called the "Killowen Room" which can cater for parties and family occasions with a maximum of 120 guests. Free wifi accessibility throughout the hotel. Blarney Castle Hotel continues to be the focal point in Blarney for the locals and also with guests passing through to visit the Blarney Castle or to visit the Blarney Woollen Mills . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Blarney Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing