We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Night To Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muskerry Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muskerry Arms
Ranked #5 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Night To Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently held our 30th School Reunion in Muskerry Arms. There was no contest when choosing the venue as we knew that Mary Beth and her staff would look after us. Over 100 people turned up to the reunion and it will be talked about for a long time to come, not least because of the service which we got on the night. The room was fabulous, decorated perfectly, spotlessly clean. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. A huge pot of chicken satay satisfied everyone as did the copious amounts of finger food and the wonderful dessert table. This room is the perfect size for a party. As part of the organising committee for the reunion, I spoke to alot of the guests during the night and everyone had the same thing to say 'What a fabulous venue for a party'. We will definitely be back there again for our 40th reunion. I can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blarney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    66
    14
    16
    7
See reviews for
62
72
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My family stayed at The Muskerry Arms this summer during a two week British Isles vacation. I work for a global hotel company, and we used our brands for every other night of our trip. Our night at The Muskerry Arms was exceptional and helped us create some amazing memories! We were there on a Sunday night and we had live music with Colin Deady playing until 11pm. He made my daughter's night when he fulfilled her request to hear "Galway Girl" - who am I kidding, he gave her a lifetime memory! Food was great, Guinness was perfect and our rooms were very clean and had just had the floors refinished. The bathroom was small, but we didn't spend much time in there. I felt safe and secure and allowed my two fifteen year olds to stay in their own room, next door...wouldn't do that in the bigger cities, for sure! I, too, had the arrival experience described by others...going to the bar to obtain the key. It wasn't a problem for me. He was welcoming and friendly while providing all the information I would've expected from any desk clerk. Breakfast the following morning was prompt and met our "Traditional English" expectations. The Blarney Castle is a stone's throw away - THE place to stay in Blarney!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinchebray, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a dreadful reception - key thrust over to us from a barman and not told there was an easier access to the room. Had to climb several staircases to the roof where window was jammed open and we had to get maintenance to fix it to stop wasps in the daytime and moths in the evening. Coffee facilities on the floor, basin hanging off wall, beds passable but not as clean as I would have liked, also not as advertised regarding bedding. Staff did not know difference between margaring and marmelade and when we asked if suitable for diabetics were told they didn't know as things came in boxes! Fire doors jammed open (fire hazzard) but possibly not in Eire? Also items on landing marked "Keep Clear!" Would not recommend to anyone. Thought I would come home with an Irish accent but had mixture of Croatian, Polish, Bosnian etc. Irish 'family' not found anywhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Celebrated my wifes 40th birthday on sat 24th August upstairs in the function room. Food 10 out of 10 management and staff 10 out of 10.we also booked several rooms, for cleanliness and value for money again 10 out of 10 overall a excellent experience. Thanks so much for making the night a massive success keep up the good work. Trevor and alba

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albastleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Ireland (a Friday) and were definitely pleased. It's right in the middle of town with the Blarney Castle basically across the street. The staff were nice and helpful and the pub being right downstairs is a plus, although if noise bothers you it might be an issue as there were people talking loudly on the street below until at least 2AM, but our room WAS right over the front entrance. A great band played live music that night so it was nice to have a few drinks with the locals and then just walk upstairs to sleep. The room was large and clean. The food was fine - not the best, not the worst either. The breakfast waitress was very nice and accomodating.

As others have mentioned, it is a bit weird that there's a reception sign pointing upstairs so you enter there, walk through several halls and doorways to find reception where there's then a sign that says sorry, go down to the bar to check in. Mine as well just remove the reception sign upstairs and put it at the front entrance no?

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the back if you're a light sleeper to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a great pub and place to stay. Very friendly family run business who do everything to make your stay enjoyable. good food and good music to enjoy. position excellent , right in heart of the village and only short drive or bus to Cork City. Bedrooms very clean and beds comfortable. Private car park to rear. Unfortunately no lift , which means hauling luggage up 1 or 2 flights of stairs. Really enjoyed my stay and will go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillexFoxwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Don't let the front of the place scare you off. We booked this location on line and it was the best decision we made in the town of Blarney. When we arrive the staff in the bar were very helpful in checking us in and the room as very clean. On the night we arrived the hotel was hosting a Tradition Irish Music night and the Irish stew was a amazing. The entertainment provide during dinner was great. We ended up in the Muskerry Arm bar after dinner and played BINGO with the locals. One more thing about this location is that it is right across the street from the Blarney Castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muskerry Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muskerry Arms

Property: Muskerry Arms
Address: The Square, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muskerry Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B/Restaurant/Bar located in the centre of the bustling village of Blarney, Co. Cork offering 11 en-suite bedrooms, free breakfast and free wi-fi. Wheelchair accessible room with roll-in shower available. If you are looking for a B&B in Cork City consider coming to Blarney instead. We are close to Cork City and provide everything you need to experience a unique visit to this part of Ireland: warm country hospitality in a B&B and live traditional music in an authentic Irish pub, yet just minutes from Cork City. The Muskerry Arms provides the ambience of a great Irish Pub with old world charm and character in the public rooms yet updated, modern, en-suite bedrooms. All our public rooms are wheelchair-accessible. We offer live music on weekends. During the summer months we also offer traditional music evenings. We offer 11 recently decorated superior bedrooms, live music, coverage of all sporting events on our big screens, great food & drink, function rooms and always a warm welcome from our friendly staff. Free, secure parking is available in one of our two private car parks. Check-in at the bar. The Muskerry Arms Bar and B&B is a lively location in a busy village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Muskerry Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muskerry Arms Blarney
Muskerry Arms Hotel Blarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing