We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal night's stay in Blarney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal night's stay in Blarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed overnight at Ashcroft in Blarney, and I would recommend it! Ann, the owner, was nice and welcoming. The rooms were adorable, and very comfortable! Almost felt like home! Great bathroom in our ensuite room! Quiet location in a residential area. We had our choice of breakfast - continental, Irish traditional, and we opted for a hybrid of the two. Ann catered to our every need. Altogether a great stay - I highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kendiehick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    17
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed here for two nights with a friend of mine in Jan 2012. We were traveling Ireland and made a stop in Blarney.

OWNER: The owner of this B and B is very kind. We arrived at night but she was very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was 5 euro PP. It was well worth it. She lets you pick what type of breakfast you want (continental, full irish, etc). We had the full irish and it was lovely and so filling! She served you in a breakfast room and she is so attentive while you are eating.

LOCATION: The B and B is like a 10-15 minute walk from the village. We walked into town to have dinner one night and did not find it a bad walk at all. You are VERY close to Blarney castle.

ROOMS: We had a nice room with comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. The only small nit pick I have was that the water pressure was a little low, but this was really not a deal breaker by any means.

The only other thing is that she only accepted cash... so make sure you have some. Great value, owner, and location- will stay there again some day!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RestlessTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

nice little B&B, very comfy and friendly. perfect for us as we only stayed the 1 night, very cute dog there 2

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niamhy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a good stay at the Ashcroft. The rooms were clean and cute and the owners were very friendly. There was little noise after 8pm and we slept soundly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Firstly whoever commented on the distance from town clearly needs to do some exercise once in a while. It's a 15minute walk to the castle, we walked in and out of town on many occasions. The couple that own it are fantastic, really friendly and made us all feel right at home. It was clean and spacious and the breakfast was good also. Would happily stay again and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Blarney. Good price, good value, good B&B all round.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Md O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

It is a 4-star B&B. I could find a few reasons against it: M&S half-finished soup in the bathroom, the host not responding to my emails for 4 days, rooms very close to each other (hence poor sleep quality), breakfast really so so...
But you know what, these are just details. The price is fantastic and the host was very charming and friendly once met in person. She was very flexible with the time of our arrival and made us feel truly welcome. The rooms (I saw rooms nr 1-4) are beautifuly decorated and looking WAY better than of most of the other ones in the town. While other B&Bs offer very simple rooms in what I call 'grandma/autie' style, this one is very close to a butique hotel! Modern look, comfortable bed, super clean bathroom, short drive from the castle... I really liked it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My God - it's so far from the village!
Thy told us it's a short walk to the village green and the castle but in truth its a 45 minute haul each way (and the return walk is uphill - dont do it at night).
Do yourself a favor and stay closer to the village and have a far more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
0.0 mi away
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blarney Vale Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Killarney House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Blarney Hotel Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast
Address: Blarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing