We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good suburban BB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here Sep 24-26, 2013. We prefer to stay outside of cities (eg, Cork), and this place is in a residential neighborhood just a few km from Blarney Castle. It is located on a busy and noisy road, and without a GPS (even with one) you will be challenged if you wish to avoid the incredible gridlock of Cork.

Our room was rather cramped for two people with luggage. We had a small double bed and a single bed, which left little room for movement or luggage. The room was fairly well equipped, but as is common in Ireland, the TV stations were quite limited. The bathroom was fairly roomy and the shower was good. However, there was no fan and the bathroom becomes quite steamy after a shower, as there is no fan.

The yard available to visitors is in front in the parking area and facing the busy street. If it is raining, you won't find much in the way of facilities. By the way, traffic noise is awful, but it does tend to slacken about 9-10 pm. Parking is quite tight and limited.

One night we were awakened rather late by fireworks in the back yard. We were not amused to be awakened in such a manner.

When we were the lone visitors, is was generally quiet, but when other guests were there, it was quite noisy.

For breakfast, is was the traditional Irish fare. However, the breakfast hours are limited to 8-9:15 am, and on top of that, you must pay an additional fee.

The owners were pleasant and friendly.

Overall, this BB is a fair value, certainly not great. They do accept credit cards, however.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the busy road and suffer the noise, or take a room facing the back yard and possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I can only give this B&B an average rating. While we were greeted pleasantly when we arrived, once we were shown our room and handed the keys, we only saw our host for about 5 minutes over our 2 day stay and that was when breakfast was dropped off at our table each morning. The home is certainly clean and looks very new, but I think that most of it was done DIY. We thought that the bathroom sink did not have water until we found that you have to turn the taps all the way on (many rotations) to get a slow stream of water. The shower was good however. Our twin room was very small and there was no place to put suitcases except on the floor in front of the door so that we had to scoot past it to enter and exit.

Breakfast was a little disappointing as well. Don't order the waffles unless you like frozen potatoes. We stayed for two nights and the breakfast on the final day was missing the yoghurt from the continental breakfast (the people at the next table had theirs) and there was a hair attached to the bacon on the scrambled egg & bacon meal. The host never came back to the breakfast room after giving us our meals so could not be told that part of the meal was missing or that there was hair in the food.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are travelling with a friend and sharing a room. It was pretty cramped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Ann and her impeccable home and superior service made this a most enjoyable stay. Only a 15 minute walk to the castle and restaurants (at least 20 on the uphill walk back), it is in a superb location. We all need that walk after dinner! Rooms are beautifully decorated, quiet and comfy. A hearty breakfast gets you on your way. Get to the castle early ....around 9 to avoid the endless tour buses. Shop at the woollen mill and you have a great morning in Blarney. Ann and husband gave us loads of ideas of what to see in their part of the country and beyond. Don't miss this place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needles4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

While touring Ireland in July, we came across the Ashcroft Bed and Breakfast in Blarney. It is a lovely Bed and Breakfast and Anne and Christopher could not have been more gracious hosts! It was beautiful, clean and comfortable. It was only a short walk to Blarney Castle, Blarney Woolen Mills and several very nice pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was just delicious and everything was so very fresh and delivered with a smile!! I wish we had had the opportunity to stay longer than one night. I hope to stay again in the near future!! Enjoy the Ashcroft Bed and Breakfast on your next visit to Blarney and its environs!! :)

Room Tip: The two rooms we occupied were both great. One room had a queen size bed and the other had one full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janiegk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The very experienced B&B owners clearly know what they are doing and made us feel very welcome in their lovely, comfortable home. All rooms are on the ground floor and maintained and decorated to a high standard, as is the rest of the house. Our room was large with a comfortable double bed and a single and there was plenty of storage for unpacking on longer stays. The en suite shower room was especially impressive with a large quarter-circle shower cubicle. Breakfast was of a good standard with cereals, toast and fruit juice in addition to the usual Irish breakfast option and fruit and yoghurts as an alternative healthy option. We walked into town one evening where we enjoyed good pub food and an evening of Irish folk music. The walk took about 15 mins each way at a steady pace but some may find the hill back harder to negotiate and, if so, taxis are recommended. We enjoyed our 2 night stay very much as a base to visit the castle and relatives in Cork (15 mins or so drive away). Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor. Some are bigger than others so a phonecall in advance might help to secu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent two nights at Ashcroft, and would have happily stayed longer, it was so good. Anne and Chris were such obliging hosts, friendly, well-organised, thoughtful and efficient. And their home was lovely - it was a treat to stay there and be pampered! Excellent breakfasts.
Ashcroft is well-placed for Blarney Castle (nice gardens, huge queue for the castle itself (= for kissing the Blarney Stone)) Cork and the south coast, We really enjoyed staying in the area, but then it was time to move on ...
You won't be disappointed in the welcome you receive and the top-notch quality of your stay with Anne and Chris.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a big, light room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Anne, our hostess, was exceptional as our tour guide during our two night stay at her lovely B & B. She went out of her way to make sure all of our needs were met and even made us pancakes for breakfast. Her home is atop a hill and within walking distance to the town of Blarney and Blarney Castle. We stayed there as we wanted to go into the town of Cork to see the church where some of my husband's ancestors were married. Anne was very helpful with the bus route and also what to see in the city of Cork. The town of Blarney also has the Blarney Woolen Mill Store which is a large three story store right in the town of Blarney where I bought many souveniers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Blarney Vale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lanesville Bed & Breakfast
Lanesville Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 25 in Blarney
43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blarney Hotel Golf & Leisure
0.6 mi away
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ashcroft Station Road, Blarney T23 T028, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range: £55 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ashcroft Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing