We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
College View Apartments
Ranked #36 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming and felt like home”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Myself and my partner were in town competing in the World Mini Games and chose to stay in the college view apartments as they were close to the Mardyke Arena and allowed us to cook our own meals.

I was welcomed by a wonderful lady when I checked in at the Killarney Guest House, she was a very cheery and welcoming lady who made me feel welcome and valued as a customer! The apartments are a few properties down from the guesthouse but literally a minute walk away. I was delighted when we were allocated a ground floor apartment as the thought of lugging our suitcase and heavy competition equipment up the stairs!

The apartment itself was very clean and has everything you need to feel like you are in a little home away from home. If you are looking for an apartment for self catering near UCC or places such as the Mardyke Arena you should definitely stay here.

The lady at the Killarney Guest House remembered our discussion about my competition as was genuinely very happy when she found out I'd won when we checked out, maybe it's now a lucky apartment? :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Rook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
30
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As its name suggests, this is a great place to stay if you have any business to do in University College Cork: it is located two minutes walk from the main entrance and from most of the faculties. If you are going to Cork for tourism, it may be a bit too far from the city centre.

The apartments are quite big (ours had two floors, with a small kitchen and a living-room downstairs, and the bedroom with a bathroom upstairs) and they are clean and well refurbished. The only problem for us was that there was a window on the ceiling that we couldn't close because it was too high, so when it dawned it was impossible to sleep.

A good option if you like independence and if you want to be able to cook for yourself while away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in Cork for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay at College View. The room was spotless, spacious and despite the hot weather the room stayed cool thanks to all the windows (we were on the top floor and had a skylight window as well).

The rooms have all you need to cook your own meals if that is what you like to do on holiday.

It is located right by the college (very nice campus), about a 15 minute walk to downtown with shops and pubs along the way.

Our host Margaret was excellent and went our of her way to make us feel welcome and ensure that we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jctraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was an adequate accommodation. The appliances were a bit tricky to figure out, but once we did they worked fine. For instance, in order to get water to come out of the shower, you have to pull an inconspicuous cord from the ceiling. Who knew? The floors were a bit dirty, and there weren't very many dishes, but the place was modern and across from UCC. About a mile walk from town. Don't plan on watching TV with the windows open because the noise from the road is too loud, but it was fine in the bedroom. Overall, the staff was nice, but the distance from town, loudness of the road, lack of dishes and dirty floor make this an average stay. Plenty of parking and free wifi. Oh yeah, and the bed is quite hard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empeterson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Everything about my stay in a studio apartment here was perfect, from the warm welcome of the owner to the row of books on the shelf beside the bed. The view, temperature, cleanliness, comfort and thoughtfulness couldn't be faulted. I will certainly stay here when I come to Cork again and was only sorry that I didn't have time for the farewell scone. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrystalbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

So nice to have the option of an apartment. We loved this cozy apartment. Very clean, and so much more spacious than other options. Service was friendly would totally recommend this property to anyone travelling to Cork.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed April 29 and 30, 2013 and loved this apartment hotel option. We booked this in the middle of a honeymoon vacation since it was attractive and we knew we could do laundry here, but weren't sure how nice it would be otherwise since there haven't been too many reviews yet. It was great! Tons of space, very nice, very modern and comfortable. But the service was even better, the manager was an extremely sweet and gracious woman who went above and beyond to please. For anyone staying in Cork, you can't do wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#14 of 58 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#29 of 58 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Mardyke
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College View Apartments

Property: College View Apartments
Address: Western Road | Opposite the University College of Cork (UCC), Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — College View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College View Apartments are an ideal base for all your needs in Cork. For the business traveller to the holiday make and the concert goer, College View covers everything you will need. With a choice of a one bedroom apartment or a studio there is a fully equipped kitchen and TV and seating area. The apartments are located just a short walk from the city centre with access via bus and taxi. For business purposes they are short drive from City Gate, little Island, UCC, CIT, Apple Computer, Bons Secours Hospital, Mercy Hospital to name but a few. They are ideal for a short 1 night stay or a longer business assignment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your College View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing