We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Helen and John were excellent hosts. Their house is cozy, warm, and comfortable-- and the gardens are beautiful! Well-located for easy access to the city center by public bus, and also with a walking/bike path along the river just across the street.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are a gardener you will love this B&B, and if you aren't you'll want to become one. The setting is lovely as are the hosts, and we'll plan on staying here again on our next trip to Cork. Being served tea and biscuits in the greenhouse upon arrival was a wonderful introduction to Glencairn b&b, and finishing our stay with a gorgeous breakfast set us up for our trip to Cobh. Thank you so much John and Helen!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I went on holiday in celebration of our 3 year anniversary for a tour of Ireland. One of our stops was the lovely Glencairn Bed and Breakfast. First off, the hosts John and Helen are absolutely wonderful people. They offered us great recommendations for places to eat in the area and even went as far as to provide us recommendations for the rest of our trip. They were pleasant conversationalists and cooked a fantastic breakfast. The room was comfortable, and the house and garden was absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. A must stay. My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer due to the little time I had while in Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCorcoran86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. John and Helen made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are great and the breakfast was enough to keep you going the whole day. Our three day stay was most memorable and I would recommend this to anyone who wants a really warm, Irish place to stay. Everything is within a few minutes drive and the scenery - including their wonderful garden - is great.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. They are all different from each other. There is a good double room downstai...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Delightful. Informative. Hospitable. Accommodating. Witty. Lovely garden. John and Helen are the hosts that a B&B traveler wishes to meet. The conversation was genuine and the rooms were welcoming. Guests are truly made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the first and second floor. While the first floor room can be a bit noisier, the loo i...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at Glencairn November 2013 and had a wonderful stay. The home was clean and welcoming and the hosts were fantastic. The house is just 5 miles from the center of Cork (traffic may make it feel a bit longer, but outside of rush hour it took just minutes to get there). It was the perfect getaway and we loved that we could enjoy the city and then relax at a quiet spot just outside the city. While there, John (Owner) recommended we get dinner down in the harbor. It was really nice to eat on the water and see the coastal areas. We also stopped in Cobh after leaving Glencairn. We drove a few minutes back to the harbor and drove our car right onto a ferry. The ferry is a 5 minute ride to the other side of the water. Once off the ferry we drove a mile or 2 to Cobh, another lovely coastal town. Our stay was great and we had plenty of options for things to do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katseams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this B & B in October/13. We had a most pleasant time. John was helpful with directions, shared his stories of the interesting articles in his home, shared his and his wife's garden(which is inviting and warm). The room was tidy, comfortable. Breakfast was charming in the 'solarium-like' room. I will definitely book again when my travels take me to Cork.

Room Tip: Book ahead
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmorosaTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,562 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing