We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wayland, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop in ireland and the best, john and Helen were so helpful and have so much knowledge about the country and where to go and see. We had no real major plans, we listened to the areas they told us to go and the small towns and country sides they sent us to were just amazing. I would have to say the most fun recommend ation was the bunratty cadtle banquet so much fun. John and Helen are some of the nicest and caring people we have met.


Thank you John annd Helen for the helping have the trip of our lives

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    38
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
145
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You can take the bus from Cork, you can walk or take a taxi. Any type of transport you choose, you must make a visit here. Such a lovely couple, so kind and their home is very inviting. I loved the atmosphere of having breakfast amongst the geraniums and music in the background. They gave us tips on what to see - as our 3rd day we didn't make plans. I love the seaside/harbour so we did take the 3-4km walk up to Ringaskiddy ferry and then walked into Cobh. I must say, Room 1 double bed is so comfortable...don't miss your chance! There is a height restriction in room 1 - en suite, my husband at 6foot 1 would not be able to use the toilet - so men, sit down! Overall, I would recommend their home for a visit and a yummy breakfast, you will not go away hungry. It is fuel for all the walking we did. If you want a quiet place to sleep, away from the city, this is your little pot of gold.

Room Tip: for tall chaps, take the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I spent one night in Cork with my two grown up daughters. We arrived in a sunny afternoon
and were offered a tea in the garden, at this time of the year- May- in full flower. Helen and John
were wonderful guests and provide us with many useful tips on the area.
Our 3 bed room under the roof was very pretty.
Our stay came to the end after a rich breakfast in the closed veranda.

Room Tip: The bathroom fully furnished but a little tiny: if you are 1.8m or more ask for one of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandroDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with John and Helen earlier this month. They were warm and friendly- not intrusive in ANY way. Helpful with sightseeing tips and truly made us feel like their home was ours during the length of our stay. We even added an impromptu night. Hard to leave and will be planning a return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

John and Helen were brilliant hosts. They made our time there absolutely lovely. They are both incredibly nice and gave us great suggestions of places to eat and tour the city. If you are going to cork stay here. Their garden is beautiful and it was exactly the kind of beautiful place we wanted to stay for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzziduncanwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband & I had a wonderful time at Glencairn Bed & Breakfast. It is a charming little spot with beautiful gardens. John was very welcoming and greeted us with offering coffee in the garden, to relax after arriving. We had a delicious breakfast the next morning, and John was very helpful in giving us great advice on the remainder of our trip.

A lovely little spot, nestled in gardens.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed with John and Helen on our anniversary trip to Ireland, and it was wonderful! We got lost getting to Cork and they were so understanding as we were later than we had originally said checking in. They welcomed us warmly and we had the lovely room 4 upstairs. The bathroom was so cute and the room was very roomy and cozy. We always had a hot shower and a space heater in our room in case we got too cold. I slept so well! John and Helen cooked a lovely breakfast for us each morning and had wonderful music for us to enjoy as we ate. I loved admiring their beautiful flowers during breakfast. John was so helpful in helping us locate sites not to be missed and helped us lay out a route for each day we had in Cork. We couldn't have asked for a more hospitable stay. Would highly recommend!! We plan to visit them again one day!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,459 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing