We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Anam Cara B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anam Cara B&B
Ranked #18 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Got a single room for 1 night on the first floor.
Comfortable and big bed, clean and warm room, perfect position just 10 minutes walking from the city centre, zone is quiet and I didn't hear any noise coming from the other rooms. Free and safe parking provided on the back of the B&B. I didn't have the chance to try the breakfast because I woke up too late and I had to go. I'll be back for sure next time I'm staying in Cork.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salvo8323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for one night with my wife. Very central location, friendly efficient reception, clean comfortable accomodation with very good breakfast. Reasonably priced. Stayed in Room 9 which overlooks the street, cant say whether its the double glazing or what but I did'nt hear a sound from outside and I was stone cold sober! Guess noise is generally not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParsSeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband & I were delighted with our 3 night stay with Tim & Aideen @ Anam Cara B&B. Rooms were clean with a good sturdy bed which is important to us. The food in the Serendipity restaurant was amazing and the service was quick & friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjschwandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at Anam Cara. The room was clean and well appointed, with a two-way opening window to let in the cool September air. The Tourism office was a 10 minute walk and the Cork central bus station was only 15 minutes away. We stayed long enough to sample all of the breakfast items offered at Cafe Serendipity and they were all wonderful!

Room Tip: Room 8 is away from the street, but Room 9 has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

After driving around Cork trying to locate Anam Cara B & B for about 40 minutes it was a relief to finally find it and to receive such a nice welcome from Aideen. Our room was not overlarge but as it was at the back of house we were able to have a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed away from the traffic noise. Breakfast in the Serendipity Cafe was super - lovely clean cafe and delicious food served to us by a delightful young lady. All in all a very enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house if you like a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Tim and Aideen were very friendly, accessible hosts.
Breakfast in lovely attached cafe was incredible: Irish, Salmon & Eggs, Eggs Benedict & other great choices.
Clean & comfortable rooms; twin we shared was a wee bit small.
Spent several days in Cork: ate at the Indigo Brasserie a few blocks away (accommodating and tasty, but pricey at 15-20 euros per entree).

Room Tip: Buy a homemade scone from the cafe for travel snack-- delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEireTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was probably our favorite B&B during our trip to Ireland. It had the feel of a hotel in that it didn't seem like were upstairs of someone's living room. The shower was a decent size (unlike some places which are SOOO small) and the bed was king size and comfortable, with nice linens. The room itself looked a little bit "worn." A few smudges on the walls likely from trying to move large suitcases in and out, and the furniture had a few scrapes, but overall it was still very clean and comfortable and quiet.

Breakfast was fantastic, served downstairs at the adjoining cafe, so again, a much different "feel" than other B&Bs we had been at. Delicious coffee, and excellent breakfast.

We will definitely stay here again, Cork was fantastic, and we loved every minute!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
817 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,269 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anam Cara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anam Cara B&B

Address: Anam Cara 31 Palace View | Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run B&B (opp The River Lee Hotel) in the B&B district of Cork City. We are adjacent to U.C.C. Breakfast of your choice is included in our rate. We are central to all the City has to offer and convenient for anybody wanting to explore the South of Ireland. We can help organize any trips and information you may require for your stay. We have just opened Cafe Serendipity at the location and this is open from 8 am to 5.30 pm daily (except Sun) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing