We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great taste, but limited outdoor seating, and no toilets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Natural Foods Bakery

The Natural Foods Bakery
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Cork
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centre
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
389 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“Great taste, but limited outdoor seating, and no toilets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

To be honest, this is really a self service, take away sandwich bar, unless it's a gorgeous warm day and you want to sit outside on one of the 'wonky' tables and chairs placed on a rather uneven surface. The addition of a plethora of wasps in summer time is maddening, not to mention dangerous, hence my preference to take the food away to the safety of your car, office or indeed kitchen.

The food however is excellent. Big fat sandwiches can be purchased from the counter or you can have one freshly made up to order. They also do a delicious daily homemade soup. Additionally, a very nice selection of delicious home made cakes are available to satisfy the sweetest, sweet tooth. My favourite has to be the carrot cake or those delicious almond/raspberry tarts. Coffee there is excellent and they have a good coffee menu. Alas much of my coffee invariably ends up sploshed on top of any of the wonky tables provided.

There are no on site toilets which needs to be tackled. After all, if they provide seating, then surely a 'washroom' is surely de rigueur !

Having said that, I have had some excellent summer lunches there eating al fresco at the provided outdoor tables or indeed at the nearby pier seating overlooking the lovely river Lee and all it has to offer. A special treat indeed. Try it out sometime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Good food, very friendly staff. You choose what you want - order and pay. Very limited outdoor seating with great views (but it can get COLD, wet and windy!). Nice good food and great veg selection.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldFoodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches ... quality ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

After a day of sight-seeing in the rain we were famished. Popped in for a sandwich + soup and were well rewarded for our choice of sandwich bar. The sandwiches consisted of simple, yet good quality ingredients. Portions were also generous; I was stuffed after having mine. Either choose from a selection of pre-made sandwiches or custom make your own by choosing from a selection of fillings and spreads. The soup was thick and hearty ... just was I needed to warm me back up. Prices were affordable, paid EUR 8 for both the sandwich + soup. It's quite a small shop with seating on the ground floor and upstairs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I went for lunch with my wife. The food was very nice, my wife had a feta cheese and salad roll which was very nice and I had a salt beef and pickle sandwich on spelt bread. A bit grubby though and really needed someone to clean the previous eaters stuff away.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drbob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Food is good quality. The coffee is also good.

The top floor is a great change to the norm and definitely my favourite place to have a coffee.

Unfortunately the service usually leaves a lot to be desired, the staff tend to focus on putting away dishes, chatting or reorganising the cake cabinet ahead of serving people.

Overall its a really good place for a sandwich, coffee and a place to relax for twenty minutes.

Helpful?
Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Natural Foods Bakery also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Natural Foods Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing