We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Valentine Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I organised and hosted a charity event in this hotel on Friday 14th February, titled Valentine's Night Ball - A Time to HUG. The preparation for this event started months ago and involved a lot of emails, phone-calls and visits. The staff have always been warm, welcoming, prepared to listen and give great advice, based on their extensive experience. Shane (General Manager) and Amy (Events Team) were always on hand to answer any questions or requests that I had (even emails sent to Shane at 2.00am). No request was too much trouble and Amy and her team went out of their way to try an accommodate my requests or suggest an alternative. Shane was invaluable in suggestions for the event and his experience and high standards were more than obvious in the preparation of this event. I had some décor sponsored for the night and the hotel kindly stored this for me, no questions asked. On the day of the event, I arrived at the hotel early, my bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable (as always) and everything you would need was at a hand. The ballroom had been had already been set up on the previous day. It was just beautifully decorated, creating a warm and romantic atmosphere to the room. The Operations Team outdid themselves, sourcing new chair covers and sash, to colour co-ordinate with my theme, even the lighting in the room blended in. The drinks reception was held in Ditchley House and Shane, Pierre (and his son) and his team decorated the room with rose petals, hanging hearts, lanterns and candles (which I was not aware they were doing), it was just magical. Niall and his colleagues in the Jazz band (who kindly entertained us free of charge). The meal was outstanding.....the compliments from my guests were flowing, even during the courses. How the chef managed to create such a luxurious menu on the budget I had, I do not know. He truly is a master-chef (James...I am open to correction on that). James and his team deserve recognition for all their hard work and talents, absolutely top class food. People are still talking about the food. All the waiting staff were extremely helpful, in fact ever staff member I came in contact with was without fault. The small touches are what made this experience magical. There are so many to chose from, the lovely lady who knocked on my bedroom door with a "welcome back" card and two delicious cupcakes, a beautiful gift from the Spa & Retreat in my room, to Joe helping me with the "trees", Pierre tentatively looking after my every need, Bart (apologies if it I spelt your name incorrectly), James (preparing a special main course for me), Izabella, Agnes, Elaine, Dawn and many more. I don't want to leave anyone out for recognition, as everyone was a pleasure to work with, so apologies if I have. Padraig (Duty Manager), was extremely helpful and friendly and has an amazing personal touch which is memorable. I couldn't be happier with the event and the manner in which it was handled from start to finish. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and their outstanding staff for any occasion, big or small. All occasions be treated with the same personal, professional and caring touch. You WILL return for more. Feeling very proud and lucky to have this hotel and their staff in Cork. Gina xxx

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaShe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read your wonderful feedback in relation to our staff and also your event.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We are regular visitors in the Radisson Blu in Cork. I just wanted to take five minutes to write a review, I never have before but I think it's good to give credit when a staff get it right. What makes this hotel stand out to our family is the consisistant level of service and the personal approach we always receive when we stay. It makes such a difference and it's rare to find these days. As a family we also love spending time in the spa pool and we love the hotel restaurant. The food is outstanding. I am a sales rep often entertain clients at the Radisson on a professional level. Well done THANK YOU and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Any room we have ever stayed in was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also your fantastic feedback in relation to our staff.

Thank you for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I am recently back from a three week stay in this hotel on business (excluding Saturday's) with a group of colleagues. I have nothing but good words to say about this hotel, it was simply outstanding and the staff were out of this world - very friendly, helpful, kind and I am convinced if I asked them to stand on their head for me, they would have. Having stayed in many hotels, this is most definitely one of my favourites. It appears to hold very high standards, and standards that I personally would expect out of a 4 star hotel.

I have dealt with various receptionists throughout my stay, and I have found them very friendly and helpful. A lovely warm greeting, friendly and very efficient. Any request or queries were dealt with immediately, without delay, or hesitation. I couldn't fault them.

The Bar / Restaurant staff were on the ball throughout the stay, very friendly and helpful. Catered to any special requirements sought, or additional requests. Nothing appeared to phase them despite the hotel being busy throughout my stay. Right through from breakfast, lunch to dinner - the staff were excellent and the food was delicious. In particular, the Pizzas & Fillet Steak were absolutely gorgeous. During one of the weeks, a buffet was put on to give a change from the main menu and the food served each evening was absolutely divine. The Chefs are clearly excellent at their jobs - nothing is average, the food that is served is always top quality. My only thought here was that the bar menu had limited main course options and an increase variety would have been nice, in my opinion.

The Spa / Leisure Facilities are kept in very good condition, with a nice sized pool with additional leisure facilities within. A Sauna & Steam room was also available. It appeared these facilities were popular with residents in the local area, not just guests. The changing rooms, showers, and full leisure facilities are in very good condition and kept clean.

The hotel offers very modern, well maintained guest rooms and the bathrooms available were shower/bath in one and shower & bath separate. Powerful shower with very warm water available - though, not from the taps in the sink, which was cooler than the shower/bath. The rooms were cleaned daily and to a very high standard throughout. The rooms I stayed in during my stay were very comfortable, clean and warm. The TV had about 10 or so channels, a mix of the Irish & UK Stations along with some kids channels and movie channels. There was a decent sized desk in the rooms with appropriate lighting, ideal for those needing to use it for work.

The hotel offered excellent free fast WiFi reception in the main lobby areas and guest rooms. Overall the condition of the hotel is modern, very clean and kept in an excellent condition. Ample parking available, and located a short drive from Cork City. Every single interaction with hotel staff that I had I could not fault, they were simply outstanding throughout. It appears to me that while mostly a hotel for business people using the facilities or just for a place to rest their head overnight, there was plenty of couples and groups of friends who stayed at the hotel.

A highly enjoyable stay and a hotel I hope to stay in again. While overall I found the staff excellent, a number of staff members from reception to dining stood out in particular - Shannen (Restaurant. Was on reception one day and was excellent), Elaine (Reception), Agnes (Bar), and Padraig (Restaurant / Bar).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SullyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope you felt at home.

I will be delighted to pass your wonderful feedback to Shannen, Elaine, Padraig, Agnes & the rest of the team here.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, should you return to Cork.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for a wet and windy weekend in January. The room was very spacious and well equipped, apart from the coffee machine, which you had to take down and put on the floor, as the plug lead would not reach a socket. Staff constantly lovely and helpful. The spa was so so much better than expected, really blissful. A £20 taxi ride from Cork city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkippyKangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read your wonderful feedback in relation to our staff. Please accept my apologies for the issue with your nespresso machine. This has now been rectified.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had a very pleasant experience staying in this hotel. It is in a very accessible location, the staff are very hospitable and helpful, the rooms clean and well equipped. We also used their event coordination team for a business meeting and could not fault the service they provided. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read your wonderful feedback in relation to our staff and our event services.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just back from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay with the family. Bought a deal which was a great price for what we got. I couldnt fault anything about the hotel, staff were very obliging and friendly, food in the restaurant was delicious as was the buffet breakfast. My son had a great time in the swimming pool and the location of the hotel was ideal for a trip to fota island wildlife park. Oh and the wifi worked without fault. Id have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank pudzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future should you return to Cork.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great hotel. staff were friendly, food was good mostly. Only issues: Room had a smell of cigarette smoke. as my partner or I don't smoke this was unpleasant. Gym - equipment was below standard. -dumbells only up to 8kg, needs dumbbell pairs up to 20kg. -no kettlebells, needs kettlebells up to and above 16kg -no pullup bar. -leisure center closes too early. 8pm, a time that I usually only get back to the hotel after my day out. should be open until 10.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank wilson_smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been passed to our General Manager for consideration.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,714 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,215 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Address: Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cork
#7 Spa Hotel in Cork
#8 Business Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Radisson Blu Hotel is located 15 minutes from Cork City centre. The hotel is ideally situated near Fota Island, Cobh and just 15 minutes from Cork International Airport. The Hotel has 126 bedrooms, a fitness centre, a hydrotherapy swimming pool, retreat spa along with The Island Grillroom Restaurant and Banks Bar. The hotel is perfect for both business and pleasure as we offer a wide variety of services from relaxing spa treatments to complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing