We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, noisy wedding guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cork
GreenLeadersSilver level
comber
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel, noisy wedding guests!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

family 3 day break booked well in advance 2 adjoining rooms perfect for our 3 children...best pool i've been in for years in Ireland boys aged 8 & 9 loved all the spa water jets, sorted my back ache too! Ate once in lounge/bar food was varied and reasonably priced...staff were very attentive to our quirky requests as were bar staff who kept tab opened for daughter 15 while we were there and remembered drink orders the following night, well done. got a bit rowdy Friday eve, Cork were live on RTE & a wedding was well under way. Apart from the constant door slamming I can't complain...its a hotel and it did cease about 0300hrs;->> Breakfast typically good quality irish affair with plenty of alternative continental choices...once again staff were great.

Room Tip: rooms facing cork to waterford motorway are noisy especially in summer with windows opened
See more room tips
Green Features: usual towel tips...can't recall anything other than flyers!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Bigvid,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    377
    176
    63
    51
See reviews for
311
317
35
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this night using our Carlson Club points and everything went smoothly. Room was spacious, very clean and ready for us upon our late evening check in. Breakfast buffet is Radisson quality. Staff very nice. Was our 2nd stay here very handy to get to FOTA which is less than 15 minutes drive. Would gladly return as the pool is lovely but we had no time for swimming, next time!

Room Tip: room 176 had a disabled toilet and (lower door eye hole)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancenet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Nancenet70,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great experience in this hotel with some friends of ours. Easy to get to. Brilliant location for travelling in to Cobh/Fota/Middleton etc. Rooms were excellent&very spacious.breakfast&bar food very plentiful and tasty.Will return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaithiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear DaithiK,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway, ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here mon, tues wed with wife and one child

The Good
staff- Extremely helpful and friendly and one gentleman (a corkman) went out of his way to help when we had a problem with a weak wifi signal in our room (room 109), same goes
for the barstaff gym etc etc, all very friendly and not acting like they didn't
want to work there.

Pool
Beautiful pool with jets everywhere, 5 star pool, perfect temp same with shower.
I could've stayed there all day
girls I dealt with there were lovely
very well equipped gym also
couldnt find one fault with all that

Room
Room very nice, clean, comfortable beds and a big wall mounted tv with
usb/hdmi which werent in the last radisson we stayed in
beats looking a those boxes some call tvs
The girl calling to service our room this morning greeted us with a big smile.


other
there's a playground outside when we only spotted by accident when
having breakfast
another swing wouldnt go astray though
what's there is one swing, one slide, one seesaw and one climbing frame
it wasnt busy so that was good for our little one


The not so good
As mentioned already the wifi signal in room 109 was very week on monday
It kept cutting out so much that It was easier to stay surfing down at the lobby
A slight improvement on tues/wed but not by much
when paying 140 per night you expect something like that to be a given
was perfect around the lobby

Food
breakfast- perfectly acceptable (no fried eggs)
myself and the wife (former chef) found the scrambled eggs inedible on tues/wed morn but
perfect on thursday morning
A few items werent very warm (hash browns) but I accept its near impossible at times to
have everything perfect

We ate in the bar all three evenings
mon- food was good (a tad pricey like all radissons) not a great selection when you
go three evenings running
tues- child got a bown of pasta which was overcooked, wife got a burger with about ten
chunky chips stacked beside it, totally undercooked
we didn't say anything and it was pretty basic stuff but if you're overcooking something
as simple as pasta or undercooking chips then there's a problem somewhere
wed- much the same was ordered by wife/child but was perfect this time
I went off to subway myself, didnt want another blt or chilli, a chicken curry or
something similiar added to the menu would have been nice
so one bad day out of three but if its something that's simple to cook there's no excuses for it
the bar was quiet enough when we were there
They have peroni on tap which is nice compared to poison like draught heineken (just my opinion)
Again I couldnt fault the staff, very attentive

outside the hotel theres a few shops, subway supermac kfc and a deli but nowhere
proper to eat and no pub, basically nothing around the surrounding area bar a
big harvey norman store, a bookie and a shop

Overall a very good stay, would stay again but I probably wouldn't eat in
the bar everyday and probably wouldn't have to pay as much given it
was probably one of the busiest periods of the year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mailburner,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I would especially like to thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to our staff here at the hotel.

I have relayed your feedback in relation to the food and wifi to the Management Team here for review.

I hope to welcome you back to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent massage and spa experience, nice Jacuzzi, rooms large and pleasant. Staff professional and friendly. Food choices are limited but good, there are no restaurants in the immediate area but train service to Cork city center is nearby. Has no air conditioning so avoid in warm weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 773anneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 773anneh,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I would especially like to thank you for your feedback in relation to our staff here at the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We're Club Carlson Silver Card members and we stay in Radisson hotels wherever we go. This '4-star' (?) hotel is by far the worst we have ever stayed in!
It totally darkened our formally impeccable impression of Radisson Blu hotels. :-(
When we checked in yesterday and as usual, since we have the Silver Card, requested free upgrade to a Business Class Room, we were informed that there were no rooms left. As it's quite understandable to be out of rooms where there's no previous arrangement for upgrade, we simply inquired as to when a Business Class Room would be available for us, and the person at the reception told us that if we go to the reception again today, we WILL be able to get an upgrade - he said it with such certainty and promise that we did not even think to doubt or question the truth within his and his colleague's words. True to OUR word, we had a hurried breakfast and rushed to the reception in the morning today and, just as we were told to, once more asked for free upgrade. To our astonishment, however, we were informed that there are no. Rooms. Left! Apparently, the promise of the hotel staff means nothing and all the rooms have been sold, thoroughly disregarding the 'faithful' promise to leave a room for us. UNBELIEVABLE! What's wrong with this hotel? Did making empty and insincere 'promises' to hotel guests unknowingly become a way to not being held responsible (obviously, the one at the reception in the morning isn't the same as the one in the afternoon)? How are we to sleep with vehicles roaring down the street just outside the Standard Room, thundering on our eardrums?
Panting and running to the reception for three times, all for nothing!
Worse Radisson hotel, EVER! :-( :-( :-(

P.S. I'll write another review in Chinese later today so our countrymen will be able to know exactly how unforgivable this hotel is, for right now, we really need to go out and experience something acceptable that Cork has to offer, much better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't believe in everything the reception tells you if you want to change a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seraphina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear SeraphinaZ,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked during your stay with us I do however believe that my colleague did assist you in changing your room.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We recently had our wedding here and I could not fault a single thing about the hotel. The staff were fantastic. Despite having numerous requests regarding decoration, food and drinks, which created a lot of extra work for staff everything went without a hitch. Ditchley house was a fabulous venue for our reception and our friends commented that they felt like they were at at gatsby party sitting out on the lawn sipping prosecco and listening to jazz!! The hotel was very accommodating and I would have no hesitation In recommending it to anyone in the future. A special mention must go to Pierre and Padraig who went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect on the day. During our stay the week following the wedding we were looked after extremely well and made very welcome. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ecrolsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel C, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Ecrolsh,

Thank you for your recent review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your special day with us and I was delighted to read that both you and your guests enjoyed the day throughout.

I will certainly relay your feedback to Pierre and Padraig.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year for your anniversary.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
Address: Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cork
#7 Spa Hotel in Cork
#8 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Family Hotel in Cork
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Radisson Blu Hotel is located 15 minutes from Cork City centre. The hotel is ideally situated near Fota Island, Cobh and just 15 minutes from Cork International Airport. The Hotel has 126 bedrooms, a fitness centre, a hydrotherapy swimming pool, retreat spa along with The Island Grillroom Restaurant and Banks Bar. The hotel is perfect for both business and pleasure as we offer a wide variety of services from relaxing spa treatments to complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Rezidor, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing