We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrys of Douglas

Barrys of Douglas
Ranked #137 of 626 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dined here last week. Very comfortable restaurant, relaxed atmosphere. Food was delicious. Menu not that extensive, but there was plenty to chose from at the same time. Desserts were outstanding. Staff very helpful and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westpassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    96
    38
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Was in on a Thursday evening and couldn't get over how busy it was, I have to say that even though you could see that the staff were kept on their toes, you couldn't fault them, from a prompt greeting and seating with a warm welcome to the friendly face of the waitress they really made us feel at ease,
The food was excellent from start to finish, I had the burger and loved every piece and my girlfriend had the curry which was also gorgeous, the toblerone cheesecake for dessert was fantastic!! We had 2 baileys coffee to top it all off,
I'd highly recommend Barry's and have to say it was one of the best dining experiences I've had in cork in a while,
Keep it up lads we'll be back ;)

Helpful?
Thank Loveablerouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Barry's disaster !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Hi .i have been to Barry's restaurant several times so I have given them the benefit of doubt ,however I will not be returning .on each occasion there was a problem from food that was not hot ,to getting food that was not ordered , and food had to be sent back more than once .i don't know what the problem is with Barry's but they certainly have one !.also we had to pay the full bill even for sub standard food .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geervliet, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had dinner here recently with my friend, and, again, service was very friendly and the food lovely, just that bit different. Will be back !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Poor Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went to lunch during the week; the service was average, the food was average, the wine was average and overpriced at €7.25/ glass.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank berrie887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrys of Douglas also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Barrys of Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing