We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation and Breakfast”
Review of Kent House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kent House B&B
Ranked #9 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent Accommodation and Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Kent House B&B and was very impressed. There were 4 people in my group and we booked 2 double rooms. The rooms were large and comfortable and the facilities were excellent. The breakfast the following morning was one of the best I've ever had in a B&B - there was lots of choice and the quality was excellent. The location is very convenient for town and the proprietors are warm and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear_John218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi,

Glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to submit your kind review.
We are delighted the room and breakfast were to your satisfaction.
Hope the sun came out in Kinsale for your parents.....

Best of luck in the future,

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reutlingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We will keep this B&B in mind for a very long time - because the rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was excellent and the hosts were so lovely and helpful! Even with a baby they offer perfect "service" - a nice cod for the night, a highchair and toys for breakfast. And good advice how to fight children's diseases. We would always choose this place again for a stay in Cork!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the kind review.
We are delighted your stay was comfortable.
Hope the little lady recovered enough to enjoy the remainder of your holiday,

Best of luck to you all,

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Kent House is situated within an easy walk to the heart of Cork. Your hosts are very pleasant and helpful with their advice about things to see and do. Parking was not a problem. I parked at the front door and was given a disc to place on the dash. My room was a little dated but provided everything I needed. It was quiet and the bathroom was good. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
We appreciate your comments as it helps us to move forward.

Thanks

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My friend and I arrived in Cork on a rainy April day. The Kent House was warm and inviting and Lorraine was very helpful to us as we got settled. We were able to park our rental car right in front of the B&B, on the street, with no issues. Our room was quite large for the 2 of us, with a lovely, large bathroom. We were able to walk downtown and were close to many pubs, with great food and music. The location was excellent for us and after many hours driving from Dublin, we didn't mind the short walk. Lorraine gave us wonderful suggestions of places to visit, even brochures and directions to help us on our way. There was wireless in our room, which was also very helpful. The breakfast options in the morning were delightful. We were in a great location to travel to Blarney and Kinsale for day trips. I highly recommend Kent House for anyone staying in Cork!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Annemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Anne Marie,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, it's much appreciated.
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, even Blarney can be good in the rain.
We hope the rest of you holiday went as well.

Thanks

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My friend and I had a great stay at Kent House last week. Our bedroom there was the most spacious of any b&b I've ever visited. The bathroom was very large too. John and Lorraine were great. Lorraine provided us with suggestions on things to see and do in and around the city, and she presented us with several good breakfast choices, including homemade bread and jams. Loved my salmon and eggs! My only complaint is that my friend and I both showered in the morning and the hot water ran out quickly. We would be happy to stay here again when in Cork.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidreaderatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the kind review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Breakfast lived up to expectation.
Sorry about the water issue, we will try to improve,

Many Thanks

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Lorraine and John are fantastic hosts.
I really felt like I was part of their family for the weekend.
Good location just 10mins walk to town.
My only suggestion would be to sleep with the window shut at the back as the trains could be considered an inconvenience.
Only a small point to make for an otherwise fantastic little break film the friendliest city I have ever been to.
PS: go to The Welcome Inn on Oliver Plunkett Street. Crazy little pub but brilliant

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
and the surprise that our families lived in the same street at one time.
That's history for you !!!
And then there's the Welcome Inn ..........

Thanks for everything, it was a pleasure,

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic city and what a great b&b Kent house is. Only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Cork where there are so many pubs and restaurants to choose from its unbelievable. Lorraine and John are perfect hosts and are so helpful with anything you need to know about Cork and where to go. The only downside to the guesthouse is the that the train station is at the back so if your room is there, it can get quite noisy with the trains. So maybe just ask if you can have a room at the front instead. All in all, we had a great trip and will definitely be staying at Kent House again when we return to Cork. Ps Lorraines breakfasts are brilliant :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_a_browne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Steph,

Many many thanks for your wonderful review.
We are delighted you enjoyed yourself so much and that you were so happy with the B&B and the room.
Glad the travel info was appreciated, and the breakfast went well.

Again many thanks,

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,554 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
732 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House B&B

Property: Kent House B&B
Address: Kent House 47 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and John Dineen welcome you to our home, Kent House Bed and Breakfast. Our house is a beautiful end of terrace Victorian Townhouse, built in the 1850's originally as a Merchants Townhouse. It has gone through many changes since then , and is now our home. Kent house is a family run, family friendly Bed and Breakfast. The Bed and Breakfast consists of five comfortable spacious and tastefully decorated guest bedrooms, all en-suite.While staying at Kent House, you are ideally located to tour Cork City, the capital of the south of Ireland, and the surrounding area. We are adjacent to the Railway Station, the Bus Station is 5 to 6 minutes walk and the City Centre is within 10 minutes walk. It's also convenient for the ferry port and the airport. Cork City is renowned for it's top class shopping, excellent pubs, restaurants and theatres.Lonely Planet 2011/12 :Cork City has been named among the top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2012'. The guide praises the city saying 'Cork is at the top of its game right now: sophisticated, vibrant and diverse, while still retaining its friendliness, relaxed charm and quick-fire wit.'Whether your stay is long or short or you are on business or pleasure, you will certainly enjoy your stay with us. Lorraine and John Dineen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kent House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing