We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kent House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kent House B&B
Ranked #8 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very good location and B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a room on the top floor. It had one double and one single bed. the room was quite large, bathroom was down three steps. Owners very helpful and personable. The breakfst was fresh cooked and very good. It is right by the train station and about 10 minutes walk to centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the considerate review of our B&B.
We appreciate your time and kindness.
Hope Mexico lived up to Cork ...... !!!!
Best of luck to you in the Future.

Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
54
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a great value, mid-range B&B with a relatively central location (15min walk to city centre), nice clean rooms with all amenities you need, and filling, simple breakfasts with delicious homemade oatcakes & fruit for those of us who like something a bit lighter. Lorraine & John were so welcoming, providing helpful hints & popping their heads out to say hi almost every time we came & went. Would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi,

We are delighted you have taken the time to write such a kind and generous review of our B&B.
We are, naturally, very elated, with your comments.
We hope all went we for the remainder of your holiday, and we hope your mother enjoyed Kilkenny and the rest of her trip.
Best of luck in the future to you all,

Lorraine & John

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for only one night on our most recent trip to Ireland. This was our most enjoyable and relaxing stay during our trip. It is only a short, enjoyable walk to downtown and rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable. Lorraine and John were most gracious hosts. The history of the their building is very interesting. Be sure to inquire about this if you visit. Lorraine is a wonderful cook and the quality and variety of food offered for breakfast was well beyond our expectation. I especially enjoyed the oat muffins. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Cork City. This is a quiet place to stay but still within walking distance of downtown Cork. We stayed here during our July-August 2012 family trip. Sorry it has taken so long to write this review!

MacRaighnaill

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacRaighnaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review of our B&B.
We are, naturally, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Following your comments, we have had many inquiries regarding the building's history !!!
Again many thanks, and good luck to you in the future.

John & Lorraine..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I only spent one night in Cork, and at the Kent House BandB I had everything I needed, a cleen and quiet place with free wifi and a good breakfast. It is in the city centre, reception is open 24h/day, kitchen is available, very nice and welcoming!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciPaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for your time to give a review of our property.
It's really good to receive your feedback.

We are delighted to hear l you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Cork and your stay with us, as well as being able to catch up with your daughter while in town,
which must have been great.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience.

If you do return to Ireland/Cork , please let us know, and we will be sure to look after you.

We wish you all the best in the future,

Kind Regards

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

me and 3 other people stayed at kent house for 4 nights, excellent place to stay lorraine and john were excellent hosts,ideally situated for going into city and train station,the rooms were lovely clean and comfortable,the breakfasts were great lorraine couldn't have been more obliging on what you wanted for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Christine,

We are delighted to receive your understanding and thoughtful review.
We are very happy you all enjoyed your stay with us and with Cork.
We hope the shopping didn't put you over at the airport !!!!

Thanks again,

Lorraine & John
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My friends and I stayed 2 nights at the Kent House in mid July. Lorraine could not have been more accommodating! She's a wealth of knowledge on routes, interesting sights and what to do in town. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you so much for your considerate and thoughtful review of our B&B.
We are so happy you all enjoyed yourselves so much.
We were delighted to have met and interacted with you.
We are still on the lookout for that perfect man for you !!!!!

Thanks,

Lorraine & John

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Kent House at the end of July. We chose it by reading good reviews on tripadvisor and I have to say that It was really excellent. Only 5 minutes from the centre, the room was clean, big and nice. And the breakfast was awesome. Thank you very much to the owners, very kind and helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, which we much appreciate, and for your congenial comments.
We wish you all the best in the future,

Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House B&B

Property: Kent House B&B
Address: Kent House 47 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and John Dineen welcome you to our home, Kent House Bed and Breakfast. Our house is a beautiful end of terrace Victorian Townhouse, built in the 1850's originally as a Merchants Townhouse. It has gone through many changes since then , and is now our home. Kent house is a family run, family friendly Bed and Breakfast. The Bed and Breakfast consists of five comfortable spacious and tastefully decorated guest bedrooms, all en-suite.While staying at Kent House, you are ideally located to tour Cork City, the capital of the south of Ireland, and the surrounding area. We are adjacent to the Railway Station, the Bus Station is 5 to 6 minutes walk and the City Centre is within 10 minutes walk. It's also convenient for the ferry port and the airport. Cork City is renowned for it's top class shopping, excellent pubs, restaurants and theatres.Lonely Planet 2011/12 :Cork City has been named among the top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2012'. The guide praises the city saying 'Cork is at the top of its game right now: sophisticated, vibrant and diverse, while still retaining its friendliness, relaxed charm and quick-fire wit.'Whether your stay is long or short or you are on business or pleasure, you will certainly enjoy your stay with us. Lorraine and John Dineen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kent House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing