We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a lovely town house bed & breakfast across from University College Cork and a 7 minute walk into the city centre. The house is immaculate and my room was lovely, clean and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and were obliging. I stayed one night and my bed was extremely comfortable. Traffic noise was minimal and I enjoyed a good night of sleep. I had parking right outside the front door and although space is minimal - there was room for 5 cars. I believe parking at the back is available as well but I can't confirm this. My only downside was that my room smelt heavily of cigarette smoke and this was not very nice during the night/morning. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. It would keep you going all day. I would recommend this accomodation to family/friends but I would prefer to see a much cheaper rate given the recessionary times we have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house and ensure you ask for a spacious room. Also they will do a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettytrollop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Although 10 - 15 minutes walk from the centre of Cork, this is an excellent place to stay. It's very friendly and everyone was helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. It's on a main road, but we were not aware of traffic noise during the night. The breakfast set us up for the day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We pre-booked the Blarney Stone Guesthouse on our 1st ever trip to Ireland based on recommendation in our travel guide as well as tripadvisor. Badly enough, we can't agree on the positive feedback given for this B&B. Firstly, a parking lot indicated at the back of the house could not be found by the roadsigns (although we made an extra round around the block), hence we decided to park in front in second row, filling the cramped space even more. Owner very briefly welcomed us by handing us the key to our room - third floor, and that was it! The room itself was clean, but very tiny - there was hardly enough room for our two suitcases. The shower taken next morning was good - but shortly after that, we happened to run out of water, both cold and warm! When we mentioned that to the staff serving breakfast, we were under the impression that she could hardly understand - may be she was from Eastern Europe and seemed not to be too familar w/ English language. The food itself was ok-ish - full Irish breakfast was good, but the Porridge was much too thin. Overall, we would decide for another place were we to travel to Cork again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silke-Joerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

After paying €79 and being assured a good room, we unfortunately were landed with a tiny room at the top of the house, where you could barely walk around the bed. When leaving the next day, doors were open to the other much larger rooms (which are quite beautiful). I paid initially, thinking I was going to get a larger room similar to what was shown in photographs on the website. This was not the case.

Also, due to unforeseen circumstances, we needed to book last minute accommodation a couple of nights before our reserved stay at the Blarney Stone. We called the guest house at 11.30 PM, hoping they could give us a good rate on a room seeing as it was so late (and we were staying there a couple of days later anyway). We were quoted €95 - and the owner wouldn't reduce this rate (despite the fact that we would be there for less than 10 hours). I thought this was incredibly mean. Garnish House next door were very considerate due to the fact we were seeking accommodation so late and they were kind and gave us a good rate.

The room was above the smoking area also and smelled badly.

I felt completely ripped off by the Blarney Stone Guest House.

Room Tip: Refuse the small room at the top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We arrived in cork without reservations. After trying a few in the area this was by far the best available. The Gueshouse is decorated in a kind of French/Baroque style throughout. Wi-fi is available. Beds are comfy and the place is very clean. Busstop is nearby and cheap way to get into the city although it is also walking distance.
Breakfast is a choice if Full Irish and continental which includes scrambled eggs and pancakes as an option - the pancakes are lovely! Dining area is a little cramped but atmosphere lovely and staff very friendly. Parking is free and spaces available either at the front or back of the property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supaberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Blarney Stone Guesthouse last month on a vacation with my husband and father. My husband and I had a great room on the second floor. My dad had to climb aaallllll the way to the "penthouse" but his cozy room was worth it, he said.

The guestrooms were very well decorated and were exceptionally clean. Probably the *cleanest* B&B that I've ever stayed at.

Parking here is tight out front. We had to circle the block to find the extra parking spaces, though the lot is not clearly marked from the street (if at all). We circled 2 or 3 times before we finally found it.

The owner was very friendly and welcoming. Upon request, she set me up with a password for wireless internet. The woman who served breakfast, though, was not very friendly and the service was quite slow.

All in all, a very good experience. I would definitely go back to this guesthouse if I travel to Cork again. And a bonus... it's just about a block away from Cafe Paradiso!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

stayed here recently on an overnight stay. great location, about 5-10 minute walk into the centre of the city. had a twin room booked, room was quiet small but was very comfortable. parking was quite poor, with only 4 spaces at the front of the building. we had to wait until another guest left before we could get our car out. breakfast was nice, but service was a bit slow!!! but would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaoisIrishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,283 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,216 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Stone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Stone Guesthouse

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £94 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blarney Stone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Blarney Stone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing