We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Autumn you will love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This Autumn you will love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

In the heart of the most friendly city of Cork you will be welcomed here! you cannot but be impressed with all the Hotel has to offer. The foyer is magnificent. Everyone has a smile and you interact with the all whom you meet. It is so friendly. For meeting others it is so perfect a location to arrange such an occasion. If you are running late there is no worry. I welcome the opportunity to sit in the Library .I had a lovely time meeting a friend.The restaurant for breakfast is a delight and I was ready for a walking tour last Saturday in the lovely autumn sunshiem lead by Councillor Kieran McCarthy. The walk guided us through the heartland of Cork's commercial heritage and was so interesting. The afternoon break afterwards sitting outdooor under the wonderful trees reminded me of a trip which I once had in Lisbon. Cork's leafy streetscape was continemal in feel. The hotels central location and high level of comfort offered me my favourite treat. I enjoyed a treatment in Escape - a spa in the Imperial Hotel - the ultimate in luxury. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westshorefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    592
    238
    130
    70
See reviews for
282
815
84
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boliqueime
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Found the room we were put in clean but no window view (window frosted),bathroom very small and needing renovating, the room was cold no heating and as we traveled from Portugal we found it cold.Food very good, service very good ,staff very good, parking NOT good need to drive 5 minutes from hotel and PAY.

Room Tip: Dont take the first room they offer if facing inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate both your constructive and positive feedback towards our hotel.

regards

Joe Kennedy
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here before and had a much better experience.
This time around the staff were very hit and miss.
Room was more or less the same as I stayed in before.
Pictures will tell their own story.
Partner was told to check in to the spa at a certain time and on arrival was told she was half an hour early.
No credit/laser card facilities in the Cafe and had to use the machine in the a joining bar.
Seriously in this day and age?
Paid for room on arrival.
Was then changed for prearranged chocolates and drinks.
Why didn’t they just take for the lot the first time around?

The girl on checking out on the Sunday morning looked like she wanted to be anywhere but behind the reception desk.

On arrival the front of the hotel is roped off for check in as car park is a few minute’s walk away.
No one is looking after this area, the first time I stayed same scenario and I was one car away from been clamped on my return to the car.

The housekeeping manager should take a long look in the mirror.
The room was Faulty Towers.
Picture missing on the wall.
Hook on the back of the bathroom door missing.
Walls generally in bad repair.
Light missing on one side of the headboard.


Great location for the city shame about the room and the standards of the staff.
No consistency.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justbeenhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your stay with us in particular the bedroom experience which you highlighted. I assure you this is not our normal standard of which we are very proud of here at the Imperial Hotel.

Your feedback will be taken on board and highlighted to our team so improvements can be made and we learn from it. I know that we can do better and hopefully we can show you this on your next visit to the hotel.

When you wish to book please email me directly on jkennedy@imperialhotelcork.ie. Again my sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back and to showing you a more enjoyable overall experience.

Yours sincerely,

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Imperial Hotel is located in downtown Cork within walking distance of shopping and nightlife. We were traveling by car and found it difficult to find. The parking garage where Imperial's guests park is at least three to four blocks from the hotel which was a negative.

The hotel is a bit rundown and the room was small and on the "street-side" so we heard a lot of noise well into the night.

The restaurant was just so-so but the buffet breakfasts were very good. The best thing about the place was their doorman, Christy, who served as a reliable resource for restaurant recommendations and made the check-in/check-out experiences much easier.

We would NOT recommend the Imperial in Cork.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Excellent location in the heart of the city. The restaurant there is a must! Beer tasted food like it before, the monkfish is to die for. Staff were fantastic and made you feel so welcome especially as they were busy. The rooms are lovely and the beds are especially comfy. I would highly recommend this hotel whatever your trip to Cork is for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niallptuohy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I was part of a group traveling around Ireland prior to the Navy-Notre Dame football game in Dublin. We stayed two nights at the Imperial Hotel. The hotel itself is an example of an older, non-chain European hotel. One should not expect the Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn experience, since older hotels have limitations for being retrofitted with modern amenities.

My room was perfectly adequate for a single person. It overlooked the main entrance courtyard, which could be noisy at times. We were experiencing very warm weather on our trip, so I opened the windows during the daytime. But at night I couldn't keep them open due to the noise; however, there was a fan in the wardrobe and it offered some air movement and white noise to cover sounds from the outside. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. My sister and brother-in-law had one of the rooms that had the double bed plus a single bed. While this made the room smaller, they prefer having two beds so it worked out fine for them.

We ate breakfast and dinner together as a group in the hotel dining room. It was very good; there was more than enough food. The wait staff was friendly and the service was pretty speedy, considering there was at least one other group in the hotel at the same time.

We did have lunch one day in the little cafe just inside the front entrance of the hotel. It was delightful -- we especially liked the soup. The hotel is within walking distance of all that Cork has to offer. We are early risers and like coffee first thing in the morning. But what was the only place we could find open before 8 AM? McDonalds. We decided that people in Cork don't get to work as early as Americans do!

Room Tip: In warmer weather, ask for a room away from the entrance court yard if you want to sleep with the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed in The Imperial Hotel from 12th to 14th September and have to say on the whole I did find the stay very enjoyable. My boyfriend and I were staying for a couple of days to visit friends and family and decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights in the hotel.

I think that generally we did enjoy the hotel and the staff were very helpful and polite. The concierge in particular should be singled out for praise as he was very friendly and helpful and ordered us a taxi and transported our suitcases out to the taxi for us.

We had a dinner in the hotel on the Thursday night but we were a little disappointed. When my seafood chowder arrived it was just about lukewarm which wasn't really acceptable. My steak was nice and tender but my boyfriend's steak was overdone when he had asked for medium. However, breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice and the Irish breakfast is highly recommended.

Our room was very cosy, a bit small but still very nice. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and towels were repalced each day as well as soaps, shampoos, etc.

On the whole a great stay with a couple of minor downsides. Great for a city break as you are a few minutes walk from everything really. Another downside was the 3pm check in. Would be nicer to check in a little bit earlier.

Still, a hotel that really has a lot of charm and is very well presented and excellent if you want to stay somewhere quiet and comfortableand immerse yourself in some Cork history!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verticalfailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing