We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on history scale; low on luxury”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“High on history scale; low on luxury”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

How much one likes the Imperial is more a function of the traveller than the hotel. It is what it is - full of contradictions: a gorgeous 200 year old structure, in a perfect part of Cork, filled with quirks and idiosyncrasies galore. We stayed on the fourth floor overlooking a noisy street of pubs. Room sloped, water pressure was spotty, heated tiles were wonderful, beds were comfy, and outlets were too few and hard to reach. It is hard to rave, but even harder to grouse too much. It is a hotel caught betwixt three centuries, hanging on to parts of each era. A fine one-time experience. BTW... The staff are just wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Glen F,

Thank you for your recent review and also thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel.
Indeed we are an old historic building right in the centre of Cork City and that is what makes this hotel so special. However we do endeavour to match this with modern day guest expectations and hopefully we get it right most of the time. I do apologise if your water pressure was low, this is not a usual occurance thankfully.

I do really appreciate your kind comments about our team which I will duly pass on to them.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    631
    243
    136
    74
See reviews for
302
860
92
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have just come back from a trip to cork where I stayed in the imperial hotel. this was my third time to stay in the hotel and each visit was great.my sister and I availed of one of their winter special offers ...2 nights bed and breakfast and evening meal for 129 euro which was fantastic value. we were made welcome from the minute we arrived. the staff were very friendly and helpful . the breakfast menu had great variety and the four course dinner that was part of our deal was delicious. the bedroom was spacious and bathroom had piping hot water all day,with underfloor heating . it is situated in the heart of cork, just a short trip from the station, and only a stone's throw from the main shopping area. I would definitely like to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear BerMac2013,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it really was a pleasure to read it. As you mentioned we do have great offers available on our website over the winter period, so keep an eye out and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Imperial, We found the staff to be very helpful and knowledgable, Our room was located at the front of the building on the 1st floor and we did not notice much noise from the main road which was great. It's an old hotel with lot's of charm and some beautiful decor in some areas. We had our evening meal changed to a Sunday lunch without any hassle and again it was spot on. Beautiful cut's of meat with mouthwatering veg and mash that only the Irish can make scrummy. over all we were very pleased with our stay we even had a bottle of wine left for us on our arrival, a great touch.
The negatives = BUT's We thought as we were in a 4 star hotel (and we have stayed in quite a few as well as 5 star) the ceilings could do with a coat of paint in the rooms to hide the leaks that once came from the rooms above. The en-suite could do with an extractor fan that works. The towel rail need not be hanging from the wall. Just small niggily details that would not normally get a mention but for 4 stars and at the price we paid we thought those bits should be addressed.
HOWEVER… We would happily stay here again & again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room with doors right next to each other, as people come and go at all hours and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowingBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear RowingBloke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel.

We really appreciate your kind comments about the hotel's charm, decor and cuisine.
We will take on board your comments about the areas we need to address. We have some work to do after a busy season and indeed a maintance programme has commenced to address these niggly but never the less important issues and we will continue over the winter period.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kembs, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

When I arrived at the Imperial hotel, I had a very good feeling. However, the morning after, I experienced one of the worst shower of my life. No warm water in a dark shower, the perfect way to give you a bad mood. And when it's followed by an expensive breakfast of middle quality... I would not recommend the Imperial to anyone trzvelling by Cork.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank loki68680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear lok:68680,

Thank you so much for reviewing the Imperial Hotel.

It is never easy to read such a review but it is only by getting such feedback that we can address any shortcomings your experienced.

We are sincerely sorry that you had no hot water in the shower and also if your breakfast did not meet your expectation.

If you are returning to Cork again, please give us another chance and contact me directly so I can oversee your stay personally and ensure you receive the highest standards of service.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was was nice, nothing too spectacular. Stayed here in mid to late October the room was generally hot so had to have the window open for cooling. That was a mistake with a room opening on the side street, the noise from about 1AM until 4 AM was really loud. Shortly after that the early morning noise of a city waking up took over.

Room Tip: Try to get a room OFF of the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Jeff D,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Imperial Hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and its location. we are sorry that you experienced some noise from surrounding businesses in the area, hopefully it did impact too negatively on your stay.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Pure indulgence!! We stayed in a superior double room which was really spacious with a Jacuzzi bath! The food was really amazing also . Hats off to the chef!! Fantastic location! Loved our stay. Want to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hil1walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear hil1Walsh,

Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful review.

It is great to get such fabulous feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent location and really nice hotel. Has old luxury feel on entrance and very good and lively bar. Really good access to main shopping areas in Cork and nightlife of all types and restaurants.
Have stayed at this hotel a few times and find it ideal for city break.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a south mall facing room- better view and less noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear DCAG,

Thank you for your recent review of the Imperial Hotel.

We really appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back to Cork for another city break very soon.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,461 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing