We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Lovely clean hotel, all the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was no problem getting a glass of water with iceat 2.30 in the morning. We had our evening meal in the restaurant it was very appetising and plenty of food. The only thing I would like to change is that the offered beans at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Martina C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently and for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    644
    254
    140
    73
See reviews for
311
877
97
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This old hotel has such character it's fantastic. The location places you in the middle of Cork city, just minutes of a stroll from all the shopping, restaurants, theatres, etc! The staff are fabulous, so friendly & helpful. The room we stayed in had a dreadful view - we weren't there for the view so it didn't matter a bit. We were in a King Room & it was v spacious. The shower is in the bath but it's a good shower, no complaints. Plenty of storage, etc. breakfast was deelish, the spa is superb! Parking is a 5 min walk away in Union Quay Car Park. You check in first & get a swipe card to enter the private carpack - totally secure. You pay at the hotel at checkout
Can't wait to return to Cork & will the Imperial Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear diddles 78,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork recently.

We are delighted to read such an excellent review and I will pass on your great comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely, clean, nice fresh towels and toiletries. Staff were pleasant at check-in and at restaurant and bar. We were accommodated at short notice in the restaurant which was much appreciated. Felt the food was a bit "pub-grub" for a 4 star hotel. Wine selection not great but good was served promptly and was hot. Potatoes were under-cooked and my seafood chowder was actually just the vegetable soup from the menu with some smoked fish in it. It wasn't chowder but it wasn't unpleasant either. Breakfast was lovely, self service buffet but very well cooked. Disappointing for me was that to use the spa you had to book ahead AND pay €18. I feel that if a hotel has these facilities guests should be able to use them without paying or what's the point? The car park is confusing a nd a bit of a walk, don't donor on heels! Lovely hotel though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Ker 24,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently.

We will take your comments on board regarding the food served in the restaurant as we pride ourselves on the quality of food served in The Pembroke Restaurant.

As we operate an Aveda Spa it is necessary for guests to pay a once off fee of €18.00 per person which allows guests unlimited access to the Vitality Suite during their stay at the hotel.

The Imperial Hotel is a historic building located in the centre of Cork city - we offer guests a secure car parking facility at Union Quay which is just a short walk from the hotel.

We do hope that you will choose the Imperial Hotel on your next trip to Cork and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My favourite place to stay in Cork! Perfect location, very good disabled facilities,v comfortable beds and extremely helpful/friendly staff. I love the historic/ old world feel to the place. Food is good tho maybe not the best for vegetarians (goat's cheese or pasta…)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliFOTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear AliFOTL,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork recently.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will take your comments about the vegetarian options on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your favourite Hotel in Cork soon.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Co. Kerry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Had a fab time. Hotel is spotless. Service is great. Staff just couldn't be nicer. the location is very central to Cork City. We go back a long way. We always stay in the Imperial. I absolutely love it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marianimhurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Marianimhurchu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed another pleasant stay at the hotel, and I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are in Cork.

kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I have been using the hotel since 1990 for business and pleasure and it's just fantastic
Staff Brilliant
Food Brilliant
Service Brilliant
Atmosphere Brilliant
The only Downside is the Guiness at the bar is warm and horrible and has been for a long time.Stay to experience

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear William W,

Thank you for continuing to stay at the Imperial Hotel when you are in Cork on business.

We are delighted that you enjoy your stay with us and thank you for such a lovely review on trip advisor.

We are aware of the warm Guinness which I assure you will be rectified shortly.

The next time you are in Cork , the first pint of Guinness is on me!.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Lovely hotel, spacious room, I was on my own for one night, but room could accommodate 3. Big bathroom and lovely comfortable bed. I had dinner in the restaurant with a friend and we both enjoyed the food, very tasty and very reasonable, they even do an early bird menu. You could tell it was a popular place to eat as it was very busy. Only thing letting hotel down, is car park too far away, make sure you leave your bags at the hotel before you go to park your car, the concierge will put them in the luggage room for you.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is lovely and comfortable, I was on a course at the hotel for 2 days, they could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Tracy F,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,510 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,602 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing