We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed with friends at the Imperial hotel for 3 nights with dinner included. Their service was excellent and as always the staff were great. The hotel is very central to all amenities in cork city. This is my third time to stay at the imperial and I would not stay anywhere else in Cork city

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collettemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Collettemurphy,

Thank you for your recent review and choosing to stay with us once again.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit very soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    620
    242
    136
    71
See reviews for
301
847
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Kerry, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We normally stay at this Joel every year shopping for Christmas. There was 3 adults staying in a triple room, I had booked 3 single beds but got a double and single, also 2 sets of towels, 2 cups, 2 wine glasses and only 2 sets of toiletries. Afternoon tea was very small definitely only enough food for 2 people, considering we paid €300 for a room for one night for 3 people we were expected to share what would normally be for 2 people. When we rang reception they did send up the extra towels and things but we shouldnt have needed to ask. We couldn't fault dinner it was excellent and so was breakfast. Also the fire alarm went off at 5.15 am and frightened the life out of us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Brfj,

Thank you for your recent review of the Imperial Hotel and for choosing to stay with us again.

I am really disappointed we did no meet with your expectations this time and for this I sincerely apologise.

I do hope that you will stay with us again in 2014 for your annual Christmas shopping trip to Cork.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were at the Imperial the week of Nov 5th and what a great hotel- from the front desk to the restaurant folks, the room- this was by far our best experience in Ireland. Great location, too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: not sure you can wrong with any room here- it was all terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Kim H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork during your recent visit to Ireland.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ireland.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Lovely clean hotel, all the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was no problem getting a glass of water with iceat 2.30 in the morning. We had our evening meal in the restaurant it was very appetising and plenty of food. The only thing I would like to change is that the offered beans at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Martina C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently and for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This old hotel has such character it's fantastic. The location places you in the middle of Cork city, just minutes of a stroll from all the shopping, restaurants, theatres, etc! The staff are fabulous, so friendly & helpful. The room we stayed in had a dreadful view - we weren't there for the view so it didn't matter a bit. We were in a King Room & it was v spacious. The shower is in the bath but it's a good shower, no complaints. Plenty of storage, etc. breakfast was deelish, the spa is superb! Parking is a 5 min walk away in Union Quay Car Park. You check in first & get a swipe card to enter the private carpack - totally secure. You pay at the hotel at checkout
Can't wait to return to Cork & will the Imperial Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear diddles 78,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork recently.

We are delighted to read such an excellent review and I will pass on your great comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely, clean, nice fresh towels and toiletries. Staff were pleasant at check-in and at restaurant and bar. We were accommodated at short notice in the restaurant which was much appreciated. Felt the food was a bit "pub-grub" for a 4 star hotel. Wine selection not great but good was served promptly and was hot. Potatoes were under-cooked and my seafood chowder was actually just the vegetable soup from the menu with some smoked fish in it. It wasn't chowder but it wasn't unpleasant either. Breakfast was lovely, self service buffet but very well cooked. Disappointing for me was that to use the spa you had to book ahead AND pay €18. I feel that if a hotel has these facilities guests should be able to use them without paying or what's the point? The car park is confusing a nd a bit of a walk, don't donor on heels! Lovely hotel though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Ker 24,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently.

We will take your comments on board regarding the food served in the restaurant as we pride ourselves on the quality of food served in The Pembroke Restaurant.

As we operate an Aveda Spa it is necessary for guests to pay a once off fee of €18.00 per person which allows guests unlimited access to the Vitality Suite during their stay at the hotel.

The Imperial Hotel is a historic building located in the centre of Cork city - we offer guests a secure car parking facility at Union Quay which is just a short walk from the hotel.

We do hope that you will choose the Imperial Hotel on your next trip to Cork and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,420 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing