We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in January Lovely food and comfortable rooms ! Very good location within walking distance to shops and cafes. Lovely cafe on the ground floor of the Hotel and we enjoyed our Spa treatment on the sunday morning of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Mary R,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel, we really appreciate all guest feedback following their stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us and enjoyed the hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    600
    240
    131
    70
See reviews for
287
826
87
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have just been to this hotel for a meeting and found it very pleasant. The staff are the big plus here. For example the lights would not work in the bathroom I had (a very comfy room). On reporting this I had a member of staff up to the room to resolve the problem. Unfortunately it required the maintenance people to fix. I was immediately offered an alternative room if I didn't want to wait. I accepted this offer and was given another lovely room.
We had a lunch as part of our meeting and it is the best lunch I have had at these meetings. Again the staff excelled at catering for such a group.
The hotel is very centrally located in the middle of Cork and within easy reach of the local attractions.
The one thing to be aware of is that there are lots of steps and stairs throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms here appear to be away from the street, so traffic noise in not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcollinsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear jkcollinsirl,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel recently.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. I will pass on your favourable comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have a meeting in Cork.

kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

On 28th January I spend one night at the Imperial Hotel for my husband's birthday and I certainly will be back.... the staff were so accommodating particularly Geraldine at reception... so welcoming and warm. We had a beautiful room.... fabulous dinner and the breakfast was to die for..... I booked the Spa Pool and I was so glad.... it is well worth the 17E... so relaxing .... one of the best hotels I have stayed in!

Room Tip: Room 265 was spacious and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariab-1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Mariab-1946,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review. I will pass on your great comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at beginning of January & the location was ideal; right at the end of the main street. The twin room was quite small, but cosy. The main issue I had with the room was that there was a draft coming in the window as one of the handles was broken, so we could hear the traffic quite loudly. We ate in the restaurant one evening as part of the deal, and the food was average - nothing special. However, the waitress serving us was one of the friendliest I've ever met.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aoife_H_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Aoife_H_1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

I will take your comments on board regarding the bedroom window and I will ensure that the bedroom window handle is replaced along with fitting a draft excluder to the window.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are in Cork.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff. We had a great lunch in the bar and received great service. Walking distance to some great pubs and resturants. Our rooms were clean and decorated very nicely but unfortunatly we had two rooms in the front part/street of the hotel and it was very, very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Cindi C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I will pass on your favourable comments to the team.

Regarding the bedroom noise, we are well aware of the situation and we hope to soundproof some of the bedrooms on Pembroke Street before the Summer season commences for 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are in Ireland.

kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

from the minute we walk through the doors until we left it was a wonderful experience, staff were so pleasant and professional, food was lovely and location was perfect shopping, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Otso 1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel.

It was a delight to read your review on trip advisor and thank you for the wonderful comments which I will pass onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel soon.

kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in The Imperial Hotel on the 28th and 29th of January and it was a wonderful experience. The quality of the rooms excellent and the staff extremely friendly. We enjoyed the early bird dinner on both nights and the qualityand value for money exceeded expectations. The central location of the Hotel allowed us to forget the car and enjoy rambling around the city. We look forward to returning.
We did not use the leisure facilities hence no rating.
Seamus and Margaret

Room Tip: if budget permits the superior rooms are worth the investment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Seamus O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a favourable review on trip advisor.

I will pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in Cork soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing