We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,256)
Filter reviews
2,256 results
Traveller rating
1,090
678
267
145
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,090
678
267
145
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspembroke restaurantescape spasouth mallvitality suitecar parkcork cityenglish marketold world charmsuperior roomthe penthouseafternoon teacentral locationfantastic locationcity breakhotel restaurantchecking outlast weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 2,256 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

On a 10-day trip across Ireland, my mom and I stayed at the Imperial Hotel in Cork for one night. It was just so-so; the room was very tiny and kind of dingy. The bathroom was clean, but very cramped and a bit dark.

Our room faced a side street where there was a convenience store, and I guess people congregated outside of it because we smelled smoke coming up through the window all night long. We would have closed the window, but it was really hot and stuffy in the room and there wasn't any air conditioning (not unusual in Ireland). I didn't mind the street noise, but the smoke was pretty unpleasant to smell and made it kind of difficult to sleep.

The hotel was in a great location, though—we walked to the English market and up and down some streets for a bit of shopping. There's also a really good restaurant down the street a bit called Electric—they have excellent seafood there.

Anyway, this hotel was fine for one night, but if I were to return to Cork for a longer period of time I'd likely look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not street-side if you want to avoid noise or smoking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Megan M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor as we appreciate all guest feedback which we receive.

As the Imperial Hotel is a non smoking hotel I assume that the smell of smoke was coming from the public smoking on Pembroke Street. We have recently sound proofed each bedroom along Pembroke Street which has helped eleviate street noise.

I am pleased that you experienced the centre of Cork city and enjoyed the nearby bars and restaurants in the vacinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel located in city center. Beautiful interiors, very rich rooms. Beds like for king. Very friendly staff. But the breakfest is not for continental people. If you want eat rich it's not for you. Scrambled eggs were awfull. But I still strongly recomend this place for a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Robert S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at the Imperial Hotel in Cork.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor as we appreciate all customer feedback. I will take on board your comments about the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are back in Cork.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just held a corporate event in the Imperial for the fourth year running and I have to say the staff were excellent (same staff as previous years) and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything running smoothly. Thanks a million and see you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Kathryn M,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the Imperial Hotel. It was our pleasure to look after you and organising your event.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Imperial Hotel again in 2015.

Best regards,


Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Despite the warnings we got the back of the house and sweated thru the night. Rooms acceptable but not great and an accommodation was made to us by the GM to make things right. Lovely old Grand Hotel. The hours we spent in the Bar were lots if fun. They can expect a return visit!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Bob J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel. We really appreciate all guest feedback that we receive.

We will take your comments on board regarding the bedrooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed South's Bar.

We hope to see you back here again in Cork soon.

Kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the third hotel on our tour. It was so conveniently located close to great shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed the restaurant here as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Penny B,

Thank you for the review of the Imperial Hotel.

It was our pleasure to look after your group. We hope that you have many happy memories of your Irish vacation and we hope to see you back in Ireland again soon.

Best Wishes,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews