We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel had very nice interior wood work and a classy older hotel feel. The bar was satisfactory. The breakfast bar had good coffee which was typical of Ireland compared to the USA. Breakfast bar and siting tables were copper plated and well maintained. Our room had very high ceilings adding to the classy older feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nistraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Nistraro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently at the Imperial Hotel.

I woudl like to thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel interior and hotel facilities.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,112)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently spent the night at the Imperial Hotel in Cork, when I was away on a business trip. The room was very disappointing, small, pokey and the decor was extremely dated. Myself and my colleague decided to hit the spa after a busy day. When we arrived we were told that it cost €18 to use the spa. We thought it a little pricey, but we went ahead, thinking it would be fabulous spa journey for that price. Alas we were disappointed. The spa is basically and infinity pool and 2 steam rooms. not at all worth €18, but I suppose grand if you are having a treatment. Car parking is also a bit of a hassle having to drive some distance from the hotel. One positive was that the breakfast was really lovely. Really fresh and the quality of the produce was very good. However, I would not return

Room Tip: Don't go the spa, it's not worth €18
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 75JaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear 75JaneC,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor following your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork.

I am most upset to read your review and disappointed that you did not bring these issues to our attention while staying with us as we could have rectified the situation.

Regarding the spa there is a once off charge of €18.00 per person which allows guests unlimited use of The Vitality Suite & Relaxation area during the duration of their stay with us, this should have been clarified at the reception.

I would appreciaite if you could contact me directly at the Hotel as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these points with you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

On a 10-day trip across Ireland, my mom and I stayed at the Imperial Hotel in Cork for one night. It was just so-so; the room was very tiny and kind of dingy. The bathroom was clean, but very cramped and a bit dark.

Our room faced a side street where there was a convenience store, and I guess people congregated outside of it because we smelled smoke coming up through the window all night long. We would have closed the window, but it was really hot and stuffy in the room and there wasn't any air conditioning (not unusual in Ireland). I didn't mind the street noise, but the smoke was pretty unpleasant to smell and made it kind of difficult to sleep.

The hotel was in a great location, though—we walked to the English market and up and down some streets for a bit of shopping. There's also a really good restaurant down the street a bit called Electric—they have excellent seafood there.

Anyway, this hotel was fine for one night, but if I were to return to Cork for a longer period of time I'd likely look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not street-side if you want to avoid noise or smoking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Megan M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor as we appreciate all guest feedback which we receive.

As the Imperial Hotel is a non smoking hotel I assume that the smell of smoke was coming from the public smoking on Pembroke Street. We have recently sound proofed each bedroom along Pembroke Street which has helped eleviate street noise.

I am pleased that you experienced the centre of Cork city and enjoyed the nearby bars and restaurants in the vacinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel located in city center. Beautiful interiors, very rich rooms. Beds like for king. Very friendly staff. But the breakfest is not for continental people. If you want eat rich it's not for you. Scrambled eggs were awfull. But I still strongly recomend this place for a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Robert S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at the Imperial Hotel in Cork.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor as we appreciate all customer feedback. I will take on board your comments about the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are back in Cork.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just held a corporate event in the Imperial for the fourth year running and I have to say the staff were excellent (same staff as previous years) and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything running smoothly. Thanks a million and see you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Kathryn M,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the Imperial Hotel. It was our pleasure to look after you and organising your event.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Imperial Hotel again in 2015.

Best regards,


Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Despite the warnings we got the back of the house and sweated thru the night. Rooms acceptable but not great and an accommodation was made to us by the GM to make things right. Lovely old Grand Hotel. The hours we spent in the Bar were lots if fun. They can expect a return visit!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Bob J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel. We really appreciate all guest feedback that we receive.

We will take your comments on board regarding the bedrooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed South's Bar.

We hope to see you back here again in Cork soon.

Kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the third hotel on our tour. It was so conveniently located close to great shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed the restaurant here as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Penny B,

Thank you for the review of the Imperial Hotel.

It was our pleasure to look after your group. We hope that you have many happy memories of your Irish vacation and we hope to see you back in Ireland again soon.

Best Wishes,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,561 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £106 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing