We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in a good location.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Imperial Hotel is so lovely! The room was clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. The garage was a bit of a hike for us, but we managed. Ms. O'Leary, the manager, is a gem. We arrived late and tired after a long day of travel. She was kind and patient and even enquired after us the next evening. Breakfast was delicious and dinner was tasty. We loved Cork and will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstaples900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear jstaples900,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel during your recent visit to Ireland.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great comments on trip advisor.

We hope to see you back in Ireland and at the Imperial Hotel soon.

Best wishes,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    630
    242
    136
    74
See reviews for
302
858
92
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Booked this online, based on the pictures on their website. Bar and tearoom were lovely and a very friendly guy on reception. We had to wait for our room and we were very happy with our initial impressions of the hotel. But the bedroom, OMG, wha a small, dark, dingy dive. I still can't believe we actually (tried) to sleep there for the night. Avoid, is my recommendation.

Room Tip: Insist on a modern room like one on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MusicLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear MusicLov,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel.

It is never easy to read such a poor review but we do really appreciate your valued feedback.

We also appreciaite your kind comments regarding South's Bar and Lafayettes French style Bistro but we are extremely disappointed that your room did not meet with your expectations. We sincerely apologise for this but would also urge anyone who has a complaint to bring this to the attention of the Manager on Duty during there stay with us. Perhaps the situation could have been rectified to your satisfaction there and then by allocating you another bedroom.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so we can discuss the issues in more detail.

In the meantime, thank you once again for your feedback.

Thanking you,

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely hotel in the grand style. Excellent value for the price. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was very good. Our room was fine with an adequate bathroom. The staff was helpful and friendly. Central location with convenient parking garage. We would certainly stay at the Imperial again if we returned to Cork.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remy-Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Remy- Miles,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel during your recent viist to Cork.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are back in the Cork area.

Kind regards,
Anne


Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There were nine family members in our party and we were spoilt by the staff at the Imperial, always very helpful. Food in the restaurant was great and our rooms were acceptable, the beds were extremely comfortable! Bit of a mix-up with the bill on departure but it was sorted out once we returned to the UK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Chrissie M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel and for celebrating your Golden Wedding Anniversay with us.

We are delighted that you furnished us with your feedback by writting a review on trip advisor.

I will pass on your excellent comments to the team.

We look forward to welcomming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It was a nice hotel and bar. I had a prepaid room with breakfast included supposedly. The kitchen staff followed me out of the breakfast room 3 days in a row trying to hand me a bill for breakfast. Each time we had to go to the front desk and get it sorted out. The also charged me 35 euros for washing 2 pair of jeans and 2 shirts. When I was checking out of the hotel they again tried to bill me for 3 breakfasts and another 35 euros for laundry. This place is a rip off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear brion b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently in the Imperial Hotel.

Firstly I would like to thank you for your compliments regarding the Hotel itself and South's Bar.

However I am disappointed to read that you felt you were overcharged for laundry services and that you also experienced confusion over whether your breakfast was included in your room rate.

With regard to your laundry bill, all costs associated with each garment are outlined and detailed on the laundry list that guests availing of the service would have to complete and sign.

However I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly so that we can resolve the issues you experienced and hopefully will also be given the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The imperial hotel in Cork is very well situated ,with just a short stroll to the mail shilling area. It's rooms are very spacious and the staff are well experienced and very friendly.You can also do city walks from there which are very worthwhile .
Good value good place to stay

Room Tip: Height floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patdawsonitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Patdawsonitaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and indeed for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel.

Thank you for the lovely compliments regarding the hotel and the friendly staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to furnish us with your valuable customer feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in the grand European style. Lots of glass, brass and marble in the common areas. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but the front windows in our room opened for a pleasant breeze. The room and bath were extremely clean, although the carpeting in the room and hallway could use an upgrade. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodation. Beware, the Car park is a good half-mile walk from the hotel, and there is no street parking to speak of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear lou933,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel.

We appreciaite your comments about the historic aspect of the hotel and indeed we have replaced the worn carpets along the bedroom corridors since your recent stay with us.

Regarding the location of the hotel car park we do advise all guests to drop off their luggage in advance of parking the car and the car park and is then about a five minute walk back to the hotel.

In the meantime, thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,460 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing