We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional City Centre Hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Superb location within a short stroll of all Cork has to offer. We arrived by bus from the airport and it is a 5 minute walk from the bus station (although the bus passes the hotel and some drivers will drop you off at a stop almost outside the entrance).
Big enough to be bustling, but small enough to retain a personal touch. Staff are superb - friendly happy, helpful and efficient - particularly reception and concierge.
We had a first floor front room overlooking the entrance canopy, which I thought at first might be noisy, but it was fine (perhaps the Beamish stout helped!). Fairly spacious, comfortable and clean, although the decor is a little dated and heavy.
We were on a 2 night B&B package including dinner one night and this was good value. Breakfasts are ample buffet style with good selection. Dinner fixed price menu was fine, nothing too exciting but well prepared and generous portions. I had to send back my trio of pork as it had been standing under the heat lamp too long and dried out. It was quickly and discreetly replaced as soon as I complained and 3 tiers of restaurant management came to apologise and ensure all was ok.
There is a beautiful coffee shop at the front of the hotel and a nice bar, serving food all day on the other side of the foyer, both with pavement seating.
We did not use the Spa.
When we found ourselves unexpectedly needing to stay a further day the staff worked hard to find us a room even though the hotel was on paper, fully booked. The room was a smaller back room with poor outlook, but the standard of furnishing and cleanliness were the same. We were very grateful for the effort put in to find this room for us at such short notice and were given a good price.
We certainly would not hesitate to rebook.

Room Tip: Front rooms appear more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Mike W,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel and for taking the time to write such a detailed review on trip advisor. We really do appreciate guests taking the time to furnish us with their customer feedback.

We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you for the additional night.

We loook forward to welcoming back soon to the Imperial Hotel.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for two nights and found the hotel excellent. We ate in the restaurant the first night and found the food and staff great. The location is very handy as it is a short walk from the city centre. The building is gorgeous, while the room was spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and welcoming throughout our stay, I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Jamie w,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork recently and for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Bus driver experience , rang the hotel parking was reserved great start. Porter/congeries was great , took all the bags up to the room , evening time came down for dinner in the bar , lovely , the room was great and the front desk called at 8 pm to make sure the room was ok which was nice , did I mention the same porter got batteries for my TV and arranged a fan for the room (hot day ) next morning breakfast was nice and prompt services , overall my stay was perfect with a lot of thanks to the willing helpfull porter
Richard the 24th june

Room Tip: A quick call to the porter or congeries
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard747_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Richard747_13,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your excellent comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our guidebook book says The Imperial "knows how to age gracefully." I'm not sure. The lobby is opulent, yes, but our room was plain and quite unlovely with not one of the touches that make the lobby grand. Still, it does offer parking, although several blocks away, and the location is good. No breakfast, however, which almost al our UK hotels did do. The Imperial does have an absolutely gorgeous, elaborately tiled, coffee shop which is a treat to see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Deat Toby P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel while in Ireland recently.

We will take your comments onboard regarding your accommodation as we are constantly updating and refurbishing our bedrooms with more works scheduled for the winter of 2014.

We are pleased that you enjoyed Lafayette's and thank you for the favourable comments regarding the historic and articutural aspects of the hotel.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and i stayed here as we were meeting friends in Cork. We went to the reception at around 11am to see if we could leave our luggage but the room was ready for us, which was excellent. We had a family room on the first floor which was large and spacious. The only downside was when you flushed the toilet there would be an uneartly whine until the water filled in. The beds are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly as one would expect. It is rather old fashioned but I like the character of the place. The breakfast is delicious and you have a choice of fried or poached eggs made for you. It is in an ideal location in the centre of town. We shopped around and got the bed and breakfast cheaper on a 3rd party website which unfortunately the hotel couldn't match. Next we go to Cork we will definitely be staying at the Imperial.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDudeEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear The Dude Enfield,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write such favourable comments on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Imperial Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to attend a concert locally. We had booked a premier room but were upgraded to the penthouse. What a lovely surprise. Room was lovely. Staff and service were super. One small complaint though. Ordered a meal in the bar before the gig and when it arrived it was practically cold. Didn't have time to send it back so had to make do. I would stay again as I am hoping that was a one off.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear adelmcg,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel while attending a recent concert in Cork.

We appreciaite you taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed the overnight stay in the penthouse.

I will take onboard your comments regarding the food served in South's Bar and apologise for our shortcommings, this is not the norm.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for a concert. From the moment of our arrival the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome. The room was clean and the breakfast gorgeous. It was a bit expensive but no more than any hotel was charging on that weekend. I would be a bit claustaphic and as our room window was enclosed by walls i felt this to be a slight problem. My only other problem was the hard pillows, but that is a personal thing as my companion loved the pillows. Overall an excellent hotel and a great experience. I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treasa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Treasa N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel while attending a recent concert in Cork.

We are delighted that you took the time to post such a favourabley review on trip advisor.

I will take onboard your comments about the pillows and had we known we could have offer you alternative pillows for your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are back in the Cork area.

Best regards,
Anne

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £102 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing