We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rochestown Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochestown Park Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Was very impressed with the hotel. Stayed for a friends wedding. Thought the staff were really friendly and professional. The hotel looks great. The grounds of the hotel are very peaceful with plenty of out-side areas for sitting out on nice days. The wedding room was perfect for the size of the group and was a beautiful room. Food was great also. Thought bed-rooms were really fab. Beds were really comfortable and curtains were really effective as they were proper black-outs which I find really important. Over-all thought the hotel was great, the staff friendly and charming and the facilities excellent . Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    411
    226
    84
    78
See reviews for
420
422
44
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Just back from 3 nights at the Rochestown Park Hotel and overall it was very enjoyable. We traveled with our 11 month old and rang it advance to order a cot. When we arrived it was in our room waiting for us.

Check in was very quick and the staff were very helpful.

The room was very nice with a flat screen tv, fast wfi, multi colour ceiling lighting and a very comfy bed. The bathroom had a great shower with a big head and under floor heating. Tea and coffe were there lots of space for our little lad to crawl around. Also there was a frigde for keeping milk ( and beer !!!!! )

Only negative on the room was that the air con was set a specific temp and we couldn't get the room cool enough !

Food was very good ( breakfast & dinner ). Only negatives were 7.50 for 2 saugages and 2 pieces of potato for a child and no coffee top up at breakfast.

We used the pool area and it was great BUT for a hotel that advertisies itself as a family one i wasn't too happy that children could only go in during certain times of the day.

Overall very happy and we would go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxi_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Had a one night stay in the Rochestown Park recently - very disappointed as I specifically asked for one of the newly reburbished rooms. Our room was a very basic brown beige room with a double bed and a single bed very miserable bed not at all luxurious with a smell of cigarette smoke. Breakfast in dreary backroom very basic breakfast. The hotel seems to be very badly designed with a huge reception area which is a total waste of space and you can hardly see the receptionists behind a huge desk and a warren of other rooms leading to the bar and dining room which are dingy and not very clean. Bar quite nice late at night. Wouldn't be rushing back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLivingstone, General Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Dear SP Sullivan,

I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to write your helpful review. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative.


I was disappointed to read that you felt Rochestown Park Hotel did not meet your expectations; We completed an €18 million refurbishment over a year ago with the aim of creating a luxurious opulent space, I apologise sincerely that your experience was not as such. I can assure you we strive to deliver only the best and I will therefore address your feedback.

Kind Regards

Shay Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

From the minute we set foot in the lobby we were treated to real genuine Irish hospitality.

The Staff were the difference in a good break and a really great break.

Traveling with small kids 7, 6, 5 can be stressful but not here. Everyone was so helpful. The kids lived in the pool (which is fab)

We dined in the hotel most evenings and the food was very good.

Have already made our booking for a short break later in the year.

Can't speak highly enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed at the Rochestown Park Hotel with some friends during July 2010 and found it to be a very comfortable and hospitable venue. It appears to have been recently renovated and the upgrade has brought a touch of elegance. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The hotel is kept very clean and there is great mixture of fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddy_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLivingstone, General Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and for being our guest at Rochestown Park hotel.
I’m delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to deliver an exceptional experience to every guests and our goal is to surpass your expectation. Its wonderful to read that we have done just that. Thank you for highlighting the attentiveness you received from our staff. We place a huge emphasise on customer service here in the hotel.
I will be delighted to pass on your comments.
Kind Regards
Shay Livingstone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

the rooms were nice and the decor is lovely when you arrive.
though the swimming pool was lovely and a first glance this seems like an ideal hotel
I found on more then 2 occasions myself cleaning down tables to be able to sit down in the bar and sitting areas, the floors in the evening was filthy and after nine there is no snacks to eat which was a bummer having to go out to get crisps.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niamhy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLivingstone, General Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Dear Niamh,
Thank you for taking the time to write a helpful review. You highlighted some of our strengths and weakness, and as a hotel, we value your feedback on both. I will certainly take your points on board and address then in a timely fashion to ensure that are rectified immediately.
Overall, I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Shay Livingstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

On arrival I was pleasenty suprised as hotel was modern bright and airy . Bedrooms were clean with every possible extra including mood lighting and LCD tv. Although on the fifth floor we didn't hear a thing . Suttons bistro was buzzing with a great atmosphere good food with staff that couldn't do enuff. On the down side one of the mornings we were late for breakfast it's was organised chaos. On the up side leisure faculties were second to none. My rule is never holiday inthe same place twice to see the world , but I will be back

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLivingstone, General Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Dear Lindy,

Many thanks for being our guest at Rochestown Park Hotel and for leaving your wonderful review.

I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Shay Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Park Hotel

Property: Rochestown Park Hotel
Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cork
#12 Business Hotel in Cork
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rochestown Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochestown Park Hotel enjoys a luxurious new look after completing an €18 million refurbishment and redevelopment in Oct ’08. An exquisite 4-star hotel with 149 bedrooms and 8 Executive Town Houses. It’s home to Ireland's premier Thalasso Therapy Centre and Beauty Salon as well as an award winning Health and Leisure Centre. The Gallery Restaurant provides guests with a unique dining experience of local produce combined with confident creativity. Suttons Bar and Bistro is fast becoming the place to be seen in Cork with a chic interior design and quirky menu. Situated in the suburbs, walking distance to Douglas village and within 4.5km of the City Centre and 2 km to Cork International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rochestown Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Park Cork
Hotel Rochestown Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing