We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute luxury!!! Best breakfast ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury!!! Best breakfast ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

As usual a fabulous stay!! I have stayed here many times and it never let's me down. Luxurious hotel, great spacious rooms with bedroom door opening to lovely deck and garden, great spa and extensive breakfast choice. Love this hotel and its always a treat to stay here. Staff are friendly and interested.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms, 125, 127, 129 .. Have door opening to deck and garden ... Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiveenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a nice review on Trip Advisor. Your very nice comments have been passed onto our staff. Hope to see you again sometime soon

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    446
    181
    79
    35
See reviews for
399
808
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I booked this hotel while driving to Cork so had not much time to research it. What a find great staff so helpful it was great. Food served in quick time as i was late arriving and it was great food. Room was fantastic and breakfast was great also. Sorry I did not have more time here I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrockerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear CrockerDublin,

Thank you for your very nice review, and I am really happy that you have found us too!! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Maryborough Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I were attending a wedding reception in this hotel. We booked a "2B&B1D".
The meal at the reception was excellent - ample portions.
Our dinner the previous evening was not great - poor enough to bring to the attention of the duty manager. My wife chose fillet steak for her main; quite a small portion, at a price of €27.
At check out there was a bill for €23.85 for extras at dinner. There was no notice that the choice at dinner was restricted - we were handed the menu without comment. And €23.85 strikes us like alot of extras.
This hotel claims to be 4*. It sure did not feel that way to us. We would not be inclined to return.
Let me add that we used the Spa. Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septagenarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear guest,

I'm very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on the second night of your stay. The extras on the menu should have been explained to you by your waiter and I am really sorry that this was not the case. Should you wish to discuss any further details, please contact me at dheaney@maryborough.ie. At The Maryborough, we welcome all comments, both positive and negative as it helps us to improve all of the time.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

My wife and I booked an overnight stay at the Maryborough last weekend. We chose the hotel expecting an old fashioned style hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a unique look about it. Check it was quick and we were surprised to have received an upgrade to a mini suite. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very spacious. The wooden beams and exposed brick along with the furniture made us feel like we were stepping back in time.
There are a lot of positives about the hotel, helpful and efficient check in, upgrade to the suite, grounds and interior of the hotel, allowed us to enjoy our stay. However, in the evening we ordered some food in the bar. After a long wait we asked a member of staff about the order to be told that it had been ready for sometime and had not been brought out to us. The food itself was very nice but had gone a little cold by the time we had received it. The following morning we arrived down to breakfast. Despite not being too busy, we waited for some time before seeing a menu, another long wait to have our order taken. Once the food arrived, the server had totally mixed up the orders. This was not the service you would expect from a 4 star hotel and not what you would expect given the price we paid.
In summary, I would recommend staying at the hotel to experience the suites. However I would caution against dining on site. The food in the bar and breakfast was very nice, the service however left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I'm so happy that you appreciated an efficient check in and an upgrade to a suite. However, I am disappointed that you did not get the service that you would expect from us. Your points are very valid and I will be passing on your comments to the Restaurant Manager. We welcome all comments both good and bad as it helps us to improve. Should you wish to discuss you stay please contact me at dheaney@maryborough.ie

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful hotel recently. What a gem! I hadn't heard of it before I stayed there but I will certainly be staying again. There was nothing that I could complain about; the room was lovely, and the food was excellent. We dined in the bar on both nights and the food was very good and the service even better. We were looked after by (and I hope I have his name right) Felix. He was brilliant; very professional and so pleasant. He really made our night on both occasions. Breakfast was excellent both the cooked and the rest. If I really wanted to complain it was just a little out of town and the bus service wasn't all that frequent. Otherwise it was just great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefourofuscarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am happy to pass on your comments to all departments. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

My Husband & I spent another wonderful night in Maryborough last week, and it is fair to say nothing has changed!! It is still one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in, and believe me, as I travelled for work that has been a lot of hotels.Everything is exceptional in this Hotel from the friendly and helpfull staff to the food and the rooms.
When we were there the Restaurant was having a refit, but apart from knowing it was happening there was no disruption to the quality of food or service either in The Restaurant or Bar..
I cannot wait to get back to see what it all looks like when it is finished!!
Many Thanks to all especially Carmel in Reservations for all her help with an upcoming Ladies weekend in The New Year.... Oh and welcome back to Sarah!!!

Room Tip: It is easy to pick a good room in this Hotel as they are all of a very high Standard, but my favouri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review. I am glad to be able to pass on the nice comments to both Carmel and Sarah. Now that the new restaurant is open, we would love for you to return and see the finished product. It is always well appreciated to get return guest compliments, so thank you once again.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had no expectations when we booked this stay but what we found was beyond ANY of our wildest dreams. Our suite was unexplainable. There are some pictures but if you can - book it for yourself and you'll see what I mean. With the exception of one stand-offish receptionist who greeted us on arrival, the staff was so friendly from the other receptionists to the bartenders, porters, waiters and the like. The food? AWESOME. I had one of the best pork dishes ever and our breakfast in the morning was delicious. It's not too far from the center of town and we will be staying again when we go back to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

All we can say is WOW also after your very nice comments. I am really happy that you went to the trouble of not only writing a review but also posting some photos up of your room. Thank you so much as we love to see our customers leaving with the WOW factor !!!

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing