We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Will definitely return”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just returned from a two day break. Excellent staff , very friendly & helpful. Had a lovely room with a small terrace overlooking the garden - Very clean & quiet. Good array of food for breakfast & we also had bar food on the second night - lovely menu with an excellent wine list. All the staff were fantastic - very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. We topped off the weekend with a trip to the spa which was fantastic - we felt very relaxed after our visit. I was looked after by Kate , had a beautiful facial - very calming experience. Well worth a visit. Only down side - a little far out from the city - taxi c.Eur12 each way. Other than that really worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace over looking the garden - we had 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mags1963,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We’re so pleased you had a great experience at The Maryborough. It’s always lovely to hear compliments to our staff as they are central to our company culture and integral to our guest’s experience. We’re so glad they were able to assist you during your stay, and I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team. We’re delighted you had a chance to dine in the newly remodeled Bellini’s Bar and found the food and wine much to your liking. It’s fabulous that you were also able to take advantage of the Spa while you were visiting as it always proves to be a relaxing experience. We’re sorry the location felt a bit far, but we do hope you will visit again soon. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    471
    192
    84
    38
See reviews for
428
876
54
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is my second review for this hotel. Again the staff were fantastic, the hotel itself is really lovely & the new bar/restaurant is great. When we arrived at our room the décor was lovely and room was neat but on closer inspection it was quite dirty. Caked on dust on sockets skirtings & phone. Mold on windowsill. Black scum around plughole in sink. White grout on bathroom floor was almost black. The toilet brush was filthy. White stains all over wardrobe door. Our toddler was going around touching everything in room which made it even worse.In fairness I did complain to reception and they sent a cleaner to sort out immediately while we had left room. Upon return the room had been re-cleaned, window sill and toilet brush sorted but nothing else. We had been put in a family room im not sure if they feel they don't need to clean properly as kids can be messy? Not good enough for a four star hotel at 150 euro a night. Was a pity my problem was never followed up during stay or on check out. Also bed was very uncomfortable, pillows and duvet cheap material and double bed is two singles pushed together.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxb501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear dxb501,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. We’re happy to hear of your compliments to the staff, and we’re glad you enjoyed the hotel, particularly the newly remodeled bar and restaurant. However, we’re disappointed to hear of your experiences with your room. We take pride in each and every aspect of our hotel and our guest’s experiences are our top priority. We appreciate you sharing the details as we take these comments seriously. Please know that I have discussed your points with the management team. I want to assure you the situation is being looked into, and we are in the process of correcting these issues to improve the quality of our guest’s stays. These conditions are utterly out of the norm and are in opposition to our company culture and standards. As we would like to follow up on each detail of your stay, if you feel comfortable, please email mbernard@maryborough.ie with your contact information. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and thank you again for your candid feedback.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a great hotel. The hotel is outside of Cork City Center, and just lovely. The staff are extremely helpful, and courteous. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the bus stop to/from the city center. We will definitely go here again.

Room Tip: You can walk to Douglas Shopping Plaza to get the bus to/from the city center. The 216 bus (from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear RLH36,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We’re delighted you found our location convenient and hope you were able to see some of the local sights. We’re thrilled to hear of your accolades to the staff as they are such an integral part of making our guest’s experiences great. We look forward to seeing you soon, and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We returned to the Maryborough for our recent 1 year wedding Anniversary. We were so impressed with the renovations and loved the new bar and restaurant. We were warmly welcomed and once we had checked into our room - which was upgraded because of the occasion - we enjoyed a drink at the new bar before a fantastic champagne dinner in the restaurant. The staff were exemplary throughout the evening and nothing was too much trouble. Our meal was delicious! Breakfast in bed arrived in perfect time and was exactly as ordered, no mix ups or cold toast in this hotel! We woke to a frosty morning view of the beautiful gardens, it looked magical! We had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJaneBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear LauraJaneBarry,

Happy belated Anniversary! We absolutely thrilled you returned to the hotel for your special occasion, and even more excited you had a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We’re so glad you love the recent renovations to Bellini’s Bar & Restaurant and enjoyed your drinks in the bar and champagne dinner. I will be sure to pass on your lovely compliments to our chef and the staff. Congrats again, and thank you again for sharing your experiences.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My fiancee and I have just been back at the Maryborough for our 3rd stay but this time we brought our children aged 4years and 4 weeks. We were really well catered for here as a couple and again now as a family. We really enjoyed the spa and leisure centre. The food is very good. The grounds of the hotel are akin to a Winter wonderland at this time of the year and like a little paradise in the Summer- a perfect Wedding destination for anytime of the year. We have yet to come across a hotel staff so welcoming, friendly, sincere, helpful and professional as the staff at the Maryborough and we are already planning our return visit. On the 3 of our visits here we have encountered the most wonderful people in the staff of the Maryborough and we have very fond memories from our stays.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Girlie12,

We're utterly thrilled to hear this is your 3rd stay with The Maryborough and that you took the time to share your experiences. We're delighted you brought your children along for this trip and were well looked after by our staff. We endeavor to create a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests with a friendly and helpful team, and we're so glad that was communicated to you. Thank you for your compliments, and I will pass them along to our staff. It's great to hear you were able to make use of all our facilities including the spa, club, and restaurant. Thank you again for your review, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Sincerely,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for the first time, what a beautiful hotel so peaceful, amazing food, and really friendly staff, a particular word of thanks to Tomaz a pure gentleman Alan and Kitty.
Our room was amazing, a spa room, such luxury.
Having been able to access the spa suite together would have been perfect as apposed to male and female suites, but was still very relaxng.
So looking forward to returning

Sandra
Limerck

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear sandra407,

We're absolutely delighted to hear of you and your husband's stay with us at The Maryborough. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We're so glad to hear you found the hotel peaceful with the gardens and natural parklands surrounding you. We're also thrilled you enjoyed the food in Bellini's and that our friendly staff were able to enhance your stay. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Tomasz, Alan, and Kitty. I'll also pass along your feedback regarding the separate male and female suites in the Spa, but we're so pleased you found it relaxing and enjoyed the spa bedroom. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently had a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel. The grounds make you feel as if you're in a secluded location away from it all. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. Our room was beautiful, quiet, clean and very large. If I'm ever back in Cork, I'll definitely be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Cristen W,

What a pleasure to read about your experiences with the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It brings us great delight to know that you enjoyed your stay with The Maryborough. We're thrilled to hear of your appreciation of our location and were able to relax surrounded by natural parkland. I'm also glad to know your room was comfortable and the food was wonderful. I will inform our team of your lovely compliments. I'm thrilled you found our staff helpful and friendly as that is an integral part of our Maryborough culture. We hope you do return to Cork and visit us again at The Maryborough. That you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,466 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing