We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here recently with our 2 kids. We had stayed her a few years ago also and on both occasions I have found this hotel to be very good. The staff were very welcoming and excellent with the kids. The hotel and rooms were very clean and comfortable. Food in the bar was good-service was a bit slow but it was very busy with a wedding on. There is a lovely large garden area which is great when the weather is good. The pool is lovely but my 6 year old found it difficult to swim as the shallow end is quite deep for his age. Breakfast is excellent-there is a nice range in the buffet and you order the hot food which I find great. A great selection of hot breakfast and the eggs benedict was gorgeous. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandKaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear IrelandKaa,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent family visit to The Maryborough. We’re delighted you chose to return and stay with us again and thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, and I’m so glad you and your family felt welcome. I do hope our team was able to enhance your stay. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of the good weather and spend time in the gardens. We also appreciate your feedback on the breakfast buffet, and we’re so pleased you enjoyed the hot breakfast selection. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope to see you and your family again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    446
    181
    79
    35
See reviews for
399
808
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hot70000000000000
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile


Arrived early and staff were so helpful, a warm Irish Welcome indeed and got me in to a room ahead of schedule.

Rooms are large and spacious, very clean and with large flat screen tv, iron and trouser press.

Wifi was fast and free which I really appreciate.

Had a ground floor room with access to outside table and chairs on decking in spring sunshine was great. View from the room was of matured grounds very pleasant.

I had a fantastic nights sleep with the firm bed and excellent blackout curtains.

The service in the hotel was so attentive, I cannot praise the staff enough a real credit to the hotel.

Well worth a stay if your in Cork a real Irish Gem!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hot70000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear hot70000000000000,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Maryborough. We’re delighted to hear of the warm welcome you received on arrival from our Reception team. We’re so glad you found the free WiFi convenient as we understand its importance in everyday activities. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the comfort of the room as well as the view looking onto our gardens. It’s wonderful you were able to relax and have a good night’s sleep. We truly appreciate your review and remarks on the service you received during your visit. I know our whole team will be thrilled to hear the feedback as that friendly, professional hospitality is the core of The Maryborough culture. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you again soon when you’re back in Cork.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a nice modern hotel with facilities to match - large clean rooms and an excellent spa and thermal suites. The staff are without exception polite and helpful and special mention must go to the manager with the glasses (sorry Sir - I didn't catch your name!) and Katie and her team in the restaurant at breakfast. The room we had chosen - a spa room was really not our thing and they not only offered to swap it straight away for us but showed us an alternative room and held it for us while we made a decision on whether to swap or not. When we did decide to swap they moved our luggage for us - thanks!
We didn't dine at the hotel but we did get room service which was a big disappointment, especially as you pay extra for it. There was a large crowd in the bar as they were showing the football and I pity anybody who was actually wanting a quiet drink or a meal there. The room service sandwich was stale and virtually inedible, the chips were cold and the shortbread biscuits soggy. We did mention this to reception. There is also one real problem if you want a bath - the soap and shampoo are in bottles attached to the wall for when you shower - very useful for that but you can't get at them if you are sat in the bath, so unless you have brought your own, you can't wash! We also mentioned this and they said they'd talk to housekeeping. We went out and bought soap….
Having read the other reviews of breakfast I wonder whether they were there at a weekend - we were there during the week. The buffet was fresh with a fruit salad full of melon, fresh pears etc. there were also fresh scones that were fluffy and bread and butter pudding! It was cold by the time we got there but the chef baked us a fresh one, just because we had asked! This happened 2 days in a row and it was the best bread and butter pudding I have ever eaten. Nothing was too much trouble and we were able to have a banter with Katie and her team.
All in all, we had a lovely stay at the Maryborough and would thoroughly recommend them to anybody else for a week day stay. The only weird thing was the sat nag which took us though a housing estate because it can't tell which end of the hill the hotel is! (It's near the Cork end…)

Room Tip: Choose the ones where you look out over the grounds - they are a bit more expensive but it's lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyhattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear poppyhattie,

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to The Maryborough. We’re pleased our staff were able to assist you and enhance your stay. We value our guests' feedback, and I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our staff. We’re delighted you made use of our Spa Thermal Suites and hope you were able to unwind and relax. And we’re so glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, especially the delicious bread and butter pudding. However, I’m sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the room service you received. Please know that I have already spoken to our management team, and we will be further investigating that service offering so as to improve it to Maryborough standards. I would like to offer my apologies for the quality of food delivered. I will also be speaking to our accommodation team in reference to the soap and shampoo bottles. Thank you again for your review and recommendation of The Maryborough. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Good :- Rachel on reception was very pleasent in checking us in. The Leisure Club and Thermal Suites were absolutely first class with all our needs catered for. The room was large, comfortable, had all the facilites required and was pleasently decorated.The hot main courses at breakfast were very good

The Bad:- We did not even bother waiting for dessert that was part of the dinner in our package as the main courses were so unappealing, compunded by poor quality chips and absolutely tasteless vegetables on top of barely average starters. Choices became very limited as they were out of a good number of items on the menu and there were supplments on 1 starter and 3 or 4 main courses, It would have been better if they had a separate menu for those on the inclusive package. Rachel did advise us there was a party coming in at around 8pm but it did not suit us to eat before that as we had other plans. If a restaurant takes a reservation they should be able to provide a meal to the normal standard. I was surprised at the poor meal based on other reviews. I noticed a lot of staff coming back to the dinner after we had received our main course and could not but wonder did our meal play second fiddle to this commercial function the Hotel were also catering for. The breakfast buffet was limited and much of what was there was poor in quality. The fruit salad was apple with apple, an occassional piece of hard melon with more apple! The buffet was not replenished as a matter of course, The sliced brown bread was hard. All the staff were polite using the terms sir and madam copiously but in many cases this politeness appeared to be functional rather than genuine warmth and friendliness. A largely uneaten main course and the obvious dissatisfaction with the food was not handled well by either the suited gentleman in the diningroom or subsequently by the receptionist at check out. For the first time in Ireland I had paid on check-in . I received a salutory lesson in Maryborough Hotel never to pay in advance as it leaves you no scope if you do not get what you have paid for.

I would stay in this hotel again for the leisure centre and thermal suites alone but would steer clear of the food. We moved from here to the 5 star Hayfield House and what a pleasent difference- true class - well worth the extra cost

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuarbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear tuarbeag,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at The Maryborough. We’re delighted you were welcomed warmly by our Reception team, and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. Thank you for the compliments regarding our Club and Spa facilities and the quality of our cooked to order breakfast. However, I’m dismayed to hear of your poor dining experience in Bellini’s, particularly as feedback is generally quite positive on our food quality. Please know that your remarks are important and taken to heart. I have passed them on to our management team, and we will be investigating the situation further as you are correct, all guests should receive our high level of service standard. I wish to offer my apologies that we were unable to deliver during your visit. We have also taken the feedback regarding our breakfast buffet into consideration and are currently making changes to the food on offer as well as the presentation. We do hope that you will return again in the future and allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great service, beautiful suite. Very clean. Thank you Kitty for your wonderful service in Restaurant. Food is incredible and the Spa is worth the visit. I had one of the best facials and massage. Thank you to all the staff for taking care of our Celtic Angel Tour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveAngels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear LoveAngels2014,

Thank you for your recent review of The Maryborough. We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable and appealing. Thank you for your compliments regarding our service, and I will be sure to pass along your remarks to Kitty. We’re also thrilled you enjoyed the food and were also able to take advantage of our Spa facilities to relax. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend to celebrate a special occasion and chose The Maryborough because of its 4 star rating. The hotel fell far below our expectations and failed in evey way to encourage us to return or promote it positively in the future. Our weekend was completely ruined by an event which occurred on the last evening and was directly attributable to the actions of staff members. The management having been notified of this made a token jesture to remedy the situation but in hindsight this fell far short of the reparation required. Very disappointed with our stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank custardmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear custardmuffin,

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We’re disheartened to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your visit as we take great pride in delivering a quality experience for all of our guests. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused by our service. After speaking with our management team, and due to the uniqueness of the situation, we are aware of the incident to which you are referring. We will be in contact with you directly.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
461 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for Business in early April
I was delighted with the Friendliness of all the Staff- a real personal touch.
The rooms were excelent as was the suite on my second visit.
Pool & Gym were acceptable
The Spa was fully booked but looked very nice.

The place had a real old world charm - such a nice change form all the 5* plastic hotels I usually stay in.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and were very well trained.
This hotel would be an excelent choice on all fronts, business, family, wedding & conferences.
I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear John J,

Thank you for your review detailing the experiences of your recent stay at The Maryborough. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in Cork for business. We’re pleased to hear our staff were friendly and hope they enhanced your visit as it is our goal for each guest to feel cared for while within our hotel. We’re delighted you enjoyed your room and were able to make use of the gym. Thank you again for your review and recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing