We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Look, Great Barfood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“New Look, Great Barfood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have had a few lunch's with my parents here, Steak samdwich is very nice, nicely cooked to order and as we wanted it, Friendly staff in general, lovely place to sit and chill with my folks
We will be back again for more

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Edwardsreview,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent dining experience in Bellini’s Bar & Restaurant. Our chefs have been hard at work and recently launched a new menu, so I know they’ll be thrilled to hear your feedback. I’m also pleased that our staff added to the atmosphere and your experience. Hope to see you again soon, and thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    446
    180
    79
    35
See reviews for
399
806
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 1 night recently. We found the staff to be so friendly and helpful. I dont know why I was surprised about this in the land of the "1000 welcomes", but I was! We had a lovely comfortable room leading into the garden with a little veranda where we could sit and have a few glasses of wine before dinner. Dinner was really lovely and again the staff could not have been nicer. Did not have time to use any of the hotels other amenities but we will be back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 124 and that was lovely because it had a little outdoor area. dare I say it, suitable i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiree2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Retiree2012,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Maryborough. We’re so pleased our staff welcomed you and hope you felt at home during your visit. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and made use of the space opening up to the gardens. Thank you also for your compliments regarding dinner. We do hope to see you soon and that you’ll be able to find some time to indulge in the spa thermal suites or make use of our other amenities. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleisland, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here back in January for a mid week break and it was luxurious. The receptionist Erin was very friendly and professional and really made you feel welcome. The spa room with jacuzzi is a must if you love the finer things in life. The meal and breakfast was perfect in every way. I keep reminding myself i need to go back again some time soon, its outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed one night and absolutly wonderful experience. Efficient, polite, gracious staff. Wonderful breakfast -could not ask for anything more. The room was not ready upon our arrival and we were kindly offered an up grade along with tea and cookies. Hotel is surrounded by large garden setting by which you could take your tea. We left our car in the park and took the bus into town 10 min. away. We loved the quiet and would loved to have stayed longer, in this lovely part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaLampley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Effortless check-in; Jenny was especially friendly. The hotel has managed to combine the old, stately-home atmosphere with a sharp and modern overlay that works so well. We had a room on the ground floor that opened into the garden.

Breakfast is where the Maryborough really stood out; extremely friendly staff, fast service, regular check-ins to see how the meal is going. It was everything that you'd expect in a small B&B, yet they have managed to transfer this into a large, modern hotel. I think that the waitress Kitty is the main reason for this, she was beyond helpful and very attentive. That being said, some of the younger staff were sharp and well trained, and most importantly, they appeared to enjoy their work.

We had a late check-in so maybe didn't have the time to explore the hotel as much as we'd have liked. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor opened to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spell-it-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Spell-it-out,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review or your recent stay at The Maryborough. We’re so pleased to hear we made a good first impression with an effortless check-in, and I hope you felt welcome from the moment you walked in the door. Thank you for your compliments of our staff, and I’ll be sure to pass your kind remarks along to them, especially Jenny and Kitty. They’ll be thrilled to know they were able to enhance your visit. And I will also be passing your feedback regarding breakfast on to our team. We have recently made a push to improve our service and food offering in that area, and it’s fabulous to know you enjoyed the experience. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Absolutely fabulous hotel, beautiful rooms and facilities! every staff member we encountered went over and above to help in any way ! The general manager was extremely accommodating, the reception staff very pleasant and in particular Dean and Martin who were working at night ! brilliant experience and I would highly recommend the hotel !

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room which had a fabulous view and a large balcony ! it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg352014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Maryborough, our last stop on a two week trip around Ireland. Since we were celebrating my husband's milestone birthday, I wanted something memorable and the suites seemed like a reasonable and interesting option. Our suite was spectacular. It occupied the entire front of the original Maryborough House and was tastefully furnished with a mix of antiques and modern furniture. The ornate plasterwork on the living room ceiling is reason enough to book this suite. I'm a little spoiled and I missed having an evening turndown service, but given the rate we were paying for the suite - EUR250 per night including breakfast, I was willing to close the draperies myself. The bedding was utilitarian - perfectly fine but nothing to rave about. But again at this price point, absolutely fine.

While our suite was in the magnificent older wing, most of the hotel is comprised of a large modern wing, tastefully designed. The bar, restaurant and health club/spa are all in this wing but overlook the beautiful old garden which is a lovely place to sit and drink an afternoon coffee and let your kids run around. The hotel attracts a lot of families with young kids and has an activities passport for kids - there is even a small petting farm on the premises with goats and chickens and a rabbit!

Service throughout the hotel was so warm and personal - truly one of the reasons we so enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were delightful, and we loved meeting Shane McShortall, the Deputy General Manager, who manages to be in a dozen places at once, clearly loves his job, and makes sure that the guests are happy. Neither my husband nor I can remember meeting someone as hands on in our many many hotel stays around the world.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a great selection of house made bakery items, fresh raspberry jam, wonderful little pots of yogurt and many toppings...my favorite was the amazing rhubarb compote. I didn't see the need to order from the cooked food menu but my husband enjoyed his full Irish breakfast.

My daughter and I made use of the pool - the locker room was spotless and the pool was well maintained and mercifully free of the smell of chlorine.

All in all the facilities are really great and service is excellent. The restaurant was quite noisy at breakfast with lots and lots of screaming children and blasé parents who didn't seem to want to contain them, and the hotel seems to do a lot of weddings. There was quite a large wedding one night during our stay which went on all hours, and as our bedroom overlooked the parking area, we heard revelers all night. Still it was a small price to pay because we otherwise truly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite in the front of the hotel is magnificent but the tradeoff is that you may hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Miss718,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at The Maryborough. It is through our guest’s feedback that we can make improvements and any adjustments as needed. It is also such a pleasure to our team to hear the kind comments left by those who have visited the hotel. Please know that I will be passing your remarks along to Shane and the rest of our team. Thank you for choosing the Maryborough to celebrate such a momentous occasion. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the suite and appreciated the features of our 18th century Old House. We’re also thrilled to hear that you made use of the gardens and hope you found them relaxing and that you had a bit of sunshine during your Irish holiday. Thank you also for your compliments on the breakfast quality and selection. We have worked hard to improve our breakfast offering. We’re also pleased you made use of our leisure facilities and glad your daughter enjoyed the pool. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope you return if you ever find yourself visiting Ireland again.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing