We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay at the Maryborough Hotel & Spa was a wonderful and enjoyable experience, The staff were very accommodating, helpful and welcoming from the time of booking to our check-out. The atmosphere in the hotel was very pleasant and relaxing.
The service and the food was excellent and our waiter was very helpful with advice and recommendations. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Maryborough and look forward to a return visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If the weather is suitable a ground-floor room with a seated patio area and garden view is a must.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
There are newer reviews for Maryborough Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,164 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just stayed here this past weekend and it was just lovely there, beautiful bedroom with terrace onto the garden, newly decorated restaurant which looks very chic and also has excellent food. Great spa area to totally chill and lovely staff. Overall would have no problem in recommending this hotel and will be returning.

Room Tip: 1st floor lead out to the gardens
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Betty D,

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to The Maryborough. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your room looking out onto our gardens. Thank you for your compliments regarding the restaurant decor and quality of the food. Our team has put in a great deal of work in that area and will be delighted with the feedback. We’re also pleased you were able to relax in our luxurious spa facilities and hope you found yourself steeped in serenity. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Couldn't speak highly enough of the staff, food and service we had for a family wedding. Best hotel around. The setting of the hotel is spectacular and the staff were extremely cooperative and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel,so much that we booked an extra night.The staff gave our two kids a gift each,when we arrived,a very nice idea.The food was lovely and the service even better,The staff were so nice and helpful.We will defiantly be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1973195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked a suite for 1 night, 4 of them are located in the small old building which serves as reception too. Huge elegant rooms 18th century style overlooking the extravagant garden. The enclosed new hotel building host most other rooms not to our taste. Service is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paragleiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My other half and I stayed here for a few days last week to attend a wedding at the hotel. We had a lovely stay and I have to say the hotel is a fabulous venue for a wedding. The staff were very attentive during the day of the wedding as were the front of house staff and the food was so good. The hotel does merit a higher rating however the only thing that let it down was our experience with the service at breakfast. On both mornings of our stay we had to ask on several occasions to get tea and toast, otherwise a great place to stay when visiting Cork.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 784RANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear 784RANDA,

Thank you for taking to time to post a review sharing your experiences at The Maryborough while attending a recent wedding. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and truly appreciate your compliments regarding the venue, food and most especially our staff. We would like to off our apologies that you were disappointed in your breakfast experience. Please know that I will be passing your feedback along to our restaurant manager to ensure this issue is addressed. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cork.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed at the Maryborough quite a few times and it never fails to impress. This stay was no different. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. The spa is top class and very relaxing. The products they use (espa) are stunning.

The only minor recommendation I have is in relation to the high chairs in the restaurant. They were brought to the table visibly dirty and full of old food on each (4) occasions. I asked for a cloth to clean it myself. I just think it's an oversight but you wouldn't sit an adult at a dirty soiled table and expect them to eat there.

Otherwise, we had a fab stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear roxieIreland,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. We’re thrilled you have chosen to stay at The Maryborough on a number of different occasions and so pleased to hear that you’ve enjoyed your visits. I’m delighted our staff made you feel welcome and hope they aided you during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the spa. We’re glad you were able to unwind during your visit with us and hope you enjoyed the ESPA products. Additionally, we appreciate you providing the feedback on the high chairs. I will pass that information along and make sure that it is addressed immediately as what you experienced is not up to The Maryborough standards by any means. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,562 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £120 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing