We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashley Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is my fourth visit to Cork, and I again stayed at this long established hotel. Not only is it ideally situated in the center of the city, but it is within easy walking distance of many tourist attractions, such as the old gaol. The staff are friendly, the room rates are reasonable, the owner charming. I have no hesitation in recomending the Ashley hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank doirin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for your kind words and recommendations and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your business and kind support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I arrived at the Ashley Hotel to be greeted by the very lovey Anita who happily upgraded my room after I'd booked a single room rather than a double room. The hotel was really close to the city centre and was just a quick stop away from getting the bus for the City Sightseeing Tour. The room was clean and comfortable. Anita was an extremely attentive, courteous and interesting person to deal with

If I was ever going to back to Cork then I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

You are more than welcome and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked the ashley hotel for a saturday night.Found it hard to find the hotel. when we found it we discover that the car park only had 5 space.when we arrived we found the manger of the hotel nice.When we got to the room it was small and a smell of smoke in the room .Bathroom tiny as well the room needs a good decorating .Very disappoint with the hotel,we would not book that hotel again .I went back to the manager told her we want to check out she gave us our money back .We found a lovely hotel after a while and enjoy our stay their.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review.

It is a pity that you did not accept an offer to show you a different room to your liking for your comfortable stay. We have a variety of smoking and non-smoking rooms available in the hotel. Our car park space is of a limited availability however The Ashley Hotel provides it free of charge as one of the very few hotels in Cork City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

no hot water , dirty and damp and waste of money . would be better of as a cheap hostel rather than hotel. total kip. throw your money in the lee rather than wasting it in this filthy unfriendly place.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clairakerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Dear Madam,

We are dissapointed with your comments that are unfounded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have been in the Ashley hotel for a month, the service provide for all the staff was really impressive! The manager of the Hotel, Anita and her staff were very helpful going to the extra mile in each opportunity that they have to help you. I really feel like in home, the room was huge and the bathroom was enormous! The room has nice amenities, and the housekeeping service was excellent. I really recommend this hotel for everyone, also is really close to the city centre (2 minutes walk) and it has a really nice price. Was a perfect stay, quiet and very comfortable also the menu in the restaurant was very good! and you can have a really nice meal for a good price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed here at the beginning and end of a bicycle trip around Ireland. They stored our bicycle boxes, helped us arrange a nights stay while on our tour, and could not have been more helpful with anything we needed. You don't find this level of treatment in many places but the entire staff went out of their way while we were there. Reading reviews...no...the rooms are not five star but its clean, well run and close to everything in Cork...if you need more than that, consider staying home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you for your compliments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After reading a negative comment, I was hesistant to continue with my booking-but I did and I was so glad. An excellent stay-I don't know why people are so nasty with their unnecessary comments. A great stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review I alsways appreciate a customers feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
817 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
454 reviews
Shandon
Maldron Hotel
Maldron Hotel
#17 of 23 in Cork
613 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: Ashley Hotel 16 Coburg Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome and enjoy excellent accommodation with en-suite facilities at surprising value prices in the heart of the City and enjoy a relaxing stay. Park your car in the complimentary on site residents car park (parking is a subject to availability and is not guaranteed with the reservations; it operates on first-in, first-served basis) and stroll to the shops cafes and bars at your door step. Complimentary Wifi is available throughout. An extensive breakfast is served early to start your day (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing