We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashley hotel”
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ashley for two nights on the 12th of July 2014, if you're looking for luxury you wont find it here, i'ts a very old hotel, we are originally from Cork and I remember that hotel being there as a child under a different name, having said that it is very, very clean, the staff could'nt do enough for us, very friendly, the night porter was very chatty and helpful, it's very central, Patrick st. being all of two minutes away, I would certainly recommend this hotel if it,s a clean bed and a central locality you're looking for this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loresharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always happy to serve the best quality to our customers at good value. We hope to see you again at the Ashley Hotel in the future when you visit the Cork City again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is literally a joke ... This should be featured in 'Hotels from Hell' I stayed here as part of a dance troupe .I've lived In hotels for years and have stayed in some bad hotels from Russia to china but this has truly topped them for worst experience .. And to think in a lovely county like cork ..
The hotel is dated.. very basic nothing special ..shabby but fairy clean .. you would get over it as it's in a central location but my god the staff and management are beyond a disgrace ... I felt as if I was being nearly attacked by the manager Anita on two occasions...she is a very rude and angry person with no managerial skills what so ever .. She was nothing but rude to other guests and just really didn't know how to conduct/speak to people in a professional manner .. I was truly embarrassed for her and so were her staff .. A lovely member of staff apologised for her to me stating she cannot handle the pressure of running the hotel after an incident where burst into my room then bathroom while I was in the shower screaming in a rage at me to ,'turn off the water' . I would have rang the police on this woman only for the fact that I was with my fellow dance colleagues and i had not booked the hotel .. I never put anything on trip advisor complaining This is a first in all the years but this is an experience I will never forget. It's clean and basic and in a central location which is an advantage but please if you are staying here avoid the manager at all costs she will alone ruin your visit .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Eleanor,

We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

When you check in at the Ashley Hotel you are immediately impressed and welcomed by the very friendly staff who had set the tone for us personally on the night by their professional outlook and work ethic.

Upon arrival to our room, the staff followed up on our arrival to make sure that the room was fine and that everything was to our satisfaction. This in itself was a plus as it showed that the Ashley Hotel was indeed interested in the comfort of its customers.

The room was a little small but hey, its a local hotel and not the big name brands and in a way it had a bit of a homely and local feel to it so that was not an issue for us. The room was very clean and didn't fail any thorough inspection on our behalf.

It is literally only a 2 minute walk to Patrick Street so the location is absolutely ideal for any stay in Cork City.

We have stayed at various hotels in Cork before so it was great to finally find a hotel that provides a service expected with value for money and in a location that is ideal for any stay in this great city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always happy to serve the best quality to our customers at good value. We hope to see you again at the Ashley Hotel in the future when you visit the Cork City again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at Ashley hotel mid june 2014 during irish open golf at fota island, breakfast in the morning (from 7am)was very good and plentyfull served by cheerful and able staff,room was clean and comfortable,reception girls pleasant and helpful,another plus for the Ashley was within a ten minute walk of train station bus station and the beautiful city centre,i look forward to return to cork city and the Ashley hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always happy to serve the best quality to our customers at good value. We hope to see you again at the Ashley Hotel in the future when you visit the Cork City again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Ashley Hotel was a fantastic find! Very reasonable rates, centrally located and with 2 amazing pubs opposite.
The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, from the start to finish of our stay, and went out of their way to accommodate us.
The room was basic but clean, very comfortable and exceptional value for money.
Thank you to Anita, Catherine and all of the other staff for a wonderful base for my first trip to Cork!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always happy to serve the best quality to our customers at good value. We hope to see you again at the Ashley Hotel in the future when you visit the Cork City again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we stayed here overnight on the 19th june the room was the worst i have ever stayed in .mouldy shower hose smelly room it was room 17 .never again.we could not find alternate accommedation as the tom jones concert was on in marquee and the irish open.i dont know what the other rooms were like but ours was awful

Room Tip: avoid room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
1  Thank olivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found that the room had an odour that you disliked. If you had brought that to the attention of any of the staff member we could have had offered an air purifier for that smoking room to rectify that shortcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked through tourist office in Dingle... Charged 10 euro more than advised ....Rude Manager....very limited parking ....my son was staying at the hostel down the street , it was a hassle for him to be allowed in our room to take out of the luggage what he needed for the night.
Good location but it left a bad impression of Cork. Apparently should have stayed at the hostel where the receptionist was very very nice !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommysusanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
930 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
577 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,667 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: Ashley Hotel 16 Coburg Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome and enjoy excellent accommodation with en-suite facilities at surprising value prices in the heart of the City and enjoy a relaxing stay. Park your car in the complimentary on site residents car park (parking is a subject to availability and is not guaranteed with the reservations; it operates on first-in, first-served basis) and stroll to the shops cafes and bars at your door step. Complimentary Wifi is available throughout. An extensive breakfast is served early to start your day (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing