We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olde worldy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Olde worldy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Booking inn was quick.
Large car park
Sat nav found it very easily
Hotel is clean
Staff friendly
Rooms are large and if honest slightly cold as too big, couldn't get warm from the one radiator which I couldn't even get on. Television is small and as the bed is so far away you need magnifying glass's to see the screen.
The expense of the upkeep on these old Victorian hotels must be immense but it does need a little bit of a re vamp in the bedrooms.
There is no wifi as advertised unless you sit in the lobby area opposite the receptionist.
Restaurant was good and breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. Your fair are balanced comments are well received. Some of the issues you raised are high on our agenda of a plan with the new owners of the hotel, to rectify is soon as possible.
I trust if you visit Cork again, you would give our hotel a call, and I am confident you will see some nice improvements to the quality of your stay.


Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    357
    168
    63
    31
See reviews for
175
487
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked in for a night as wanted to visit Cork city. We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the city, which would have been great were it not for the rain and wind.
Overall the room and rest of hotel was very dated (reminded me of either the hotel in The Shining or an old peoples home!).
Saying that though it was clean and the room was only about €50 as part of a deal so you can't complain.
We didn't eat there so I can't comment on breakfast etc

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seedheads74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. I am glad you feel you got value for money on this visit. I would hope you would visit us again in the near future. Should you return, I am sure you would be pleasantly surprised with the works we are doing to enhance the guest experience.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I'd say climbing the hill to get to this hotel would be knackering only for someone who was unfit. I was in McCurtain street in ten minutes, and maybe 12 going back.

The Ambassador has for sure seen better days. There was evidence of damp or perhaps a leak in my room, with wallpaper peeling away, and a hole under the light switch. The curtains didn't close well either as they'd come away from the rail and that affected how well I slept.

But it has character, and at 60 Euros a night for a double, this is under many B and Bs in Cork city. The staff were helpful and pleasant, the room was large and the bathroom clean and with a bath and lovely hot water. The bed was comfortable parking is also useful. and the stairs and corridors pleasantly decorated.

I didn't try the food or the bar. And WiFi is available only in reception and the bar, not in the room, which also had limited TV choices (if such things are important to anyone).

Room Tip: I think there's an annex at the back, maybe not as characterful as the main building ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleamingspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. It is a fair comment to say the hotel has seen better days. Thankfully with the support of new owners, all the issues you raised are currently being worked on. In the very near future we also hope to have full Wi-Fi access to all areas of the hotel for our guests to enjoy. I am certain should you return to us for another visit, you will be pleasantly surprised at the work we are doing to enhance our guests’ experiences.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, check in staff very friendly reception areas very clean and on site parking is big plus. Bar staff very friendly and the food in the bar is really nice. Id recommend the BLT and Chips with side salad. Very reasonably priced also. Once getting to our room we were pleasantly surprised at the size of it, by far its one of the biggest hotel rooms we have stayed in, 2 steps to the giant windows then and there was a door that opened out onto a balcony that had amazing views of cork city. The bathroom and room came fully equipped with everything you'd need, which included a full size fridge and ironing board and trouser press in the room. Beds were very comfortable and we most definitely will be visiting the Ambassador Hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for a city view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting such a positive review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. It is always a pleasure to read such nice comments. I will be sure to pass your nice comments on our food to our Head Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We'll it's a top of a hill, so that was knackering..
Hotel is a tad oldy worldy..
Food wasn't bad
Internet was ok
Bed and rooms were ok
Reasonably clean
Not the best staff ever but they were ok..
Once upon a time this place would prob of been top class, sadly it's stayed the Same as everything else has moved on..
Attached a few pictures

I'd stay again as location, cost and all in all it was alright...

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent visit. It is a disappointing read if I am being honest, as we never strive for the words ok when we open up for business. I fully respect your views, and would like to reassure you I am aware of the issues you raised, and thankfully new owners here at the hotel are going to help us in restoring some comfort, elegance to this fine building. I would hope should you find yourself Cork bound, you would make contact with me, where I would take personal care of your booking, and hopefully you would see some great improvements to our hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353(21) 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Although it's up a major hill (Cork is full of hills), this is one of the friendliest hotels I've ever been in from Chris who checked is in to Valerie & Vivienne in the bar. The room was big & spacious, beautiful view over Cork & clean. Breakfast was good & my lunch was lovely. All in all lovely place & would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessMoy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for such a positive rating following your recent stay with us. I am obviously glad you enjoyed the check in, and delighted Vivienne and Valerie took great care of you. I will be sure to thank them on your behalf. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Somewhat difficult to find; the streets in and around St. Lukes Cross area of Cork are not really driver friendly (especially when you are not used to driving on the other side of the road). I would agree with others, the interior is starting to show age and Wifi is only available in the main lobby with very limited seating.

The staff is helpful and very friendly and will suggest outside activities when asked. The breakfast was somewhat spendy and there are plenty of other options just down the hill. The room we had did have a great veiw of the harbor and the city of Cork. We even had a small balcony that we could go out on, however no seating was provided. Would have been nice for the morning tea.

Over all, not too bad of a stay, but felt the value just wasn't up to our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dndholland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay. It is a fair comment to stay the decor does need care and attention. Thankfully with the arrival of new owners to our hotel, decor and Wifi throughout the property are high on the list of items that need immediate attention.

I am sure should you return you will be pleasantly surprised at the efforts we are going to, to restore some of the grandure to this fine building.
I would welcome any comments in this regard.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing