We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“short visit”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the Ambassador Hotel the weekend of the 19th - 22nd October. The hotel looks lovely from the otside and is reasonably handy although up quite a sleep hill. On arrival, Martha the very helpful receptionist allocated a lovely room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. We enjoyed our stay and it is a lovely quiet hotel in a residential neighbourhood. The staff are more than helpful and lovely clean hotel. The only complaint we would have is the breakfasts. We paid for the cooked breakfast option but unfortunatley my partner who had the full breakfast wasn't happy with the quality of the produce and the scrambled egg the first morning and poacked eggs the second were not that appetising. I had bacon and sausage and on the third morning the breakfast was stone cold. I ate a bit of it and was unwell the remainder of the day. The staff in the dining room were hard to communicate with and no-one asked us once if our meal was satisfactory. The duty manager on the Tuesday morning asked if our syat was satisfactory and I advised him of the issue. He said that he was sorry and someone would be in touch with me.... I'm still waiting. Pity as it is a nice spot however it does need a little TLC and smartening up.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit with us. I thank you for your positive comments of our hotel, and I would like to assure you the TLC you mention, is underway as part of the plan we have in place at the hotel.
I am concerned with the comments you made in relation to the breakfast, more so because on 3 separate mornings you were left feeling dissatisfied. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in relation to this. If you would kindly make contact with me, i would be more than happy to discuss this with you.


Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 (21) 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    369
    174
    65
    33
See reviews for
184
507
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courtmacsherry, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Well it seems like such a long time ago that we met with Rhona at the hotel to discuss our forthcoming nuptials and now it's all over. We are agreed on one thing that if we were to do it all again that not one thing would we change.
Right from the outset we knew that the Ambassador would be right . nothing was a problem and everything was approached in a relaxed and professional manner which immediately put us at ease- ok we knew it's wasn't a swish new 5 star but that was not whant we wanted . We got old world charm and elegance , amazing food and unbelievable service. Not one guest left disappointed and gosh I'd love to do it all over again.
Oh and not to mention the rooms - all fantastic. Spotless, Ginormous, and really comfortable - and the breakfast - cooked to order and beautifully presented .
So thanks to you all for making us and all our guests feel so special. It will be talked about for some time to come.... thanks Rhona and all the team.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are totally fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 911richy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit with us. Firstly Congratulations to you both on Wedding, I am absolutely delighted we were able to deliver on all promises made to you, and the fact that you would do it all over again with us, is an amazing endorsement.
I will be sure to thank Rhona and the team on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

To be fair, I have to put this review in to balance another 5-star one that I have written. I stand by that original review fully but this was a different type of stay.

We stayed here in September having been here a year before. The previous stay was our wedding and we could not have had a better day. However, we returned as a couple on a normal, dare I say, quiet weekend and perceptions were somewhat different. I have to point out at this stage that the hotel has been trading under difficult circumstances for more than a year after financial issues with a parent company that had a knock-on effect on the hotel. The hotel had been taken over by a new owner just days before we stayed so I expect that the issues raised here will be tackled by the diligent management who had already been keen to begin works on the hotel before any of the financial issues began.

Firstly, with the gym, sauna and hot tub currently closed due to the on-going capital needed to keep them going properly, I would not currently rate the Ambassador as a 4-star hotel although I know it has the staff, base and the potential to again be worthy of such a rating

Work is needed in many areas such as windows not opening/closing properly, replacement of old (but functioning) CRT TVs in some rooms, floor tiles near the mini-bar near the bistro area and other bits and bobs in corners and behind curtains. It's an old (but solid) building and eventually these things need to be tackled - it was just unfortunate timing that circumstances prevented them being tackled in time.

Other things to note - smell of stale smoke in our room, which I believe was supposed to be non-smoking. The main residents bar was closed so drinks were in the bistro/cafe area, which isn't as cosy, and the selection of draught beers is greatly reduced here. The Guinness was also not great - probably simply due to a lack of flow. The arrival of the night porter, the absolute legend that is Don, brightened things up before we went to bed though.

Food was good - we had both dinner and breakfast here. No complaints there although I'd love them to do something more with this dining area as we always feel that it's not fulfilling its potential in some way.

I'm sure staff are all too aware of the issues and I know that management are always keen to please so I'm positive that recent developments with a new buyer of the hotel will provide the much-needed investment that the hotel now requires to restore itself to former glories. I would still recommend it as a wedding venue because of the value that they offer and the fact that that day brings an atmosphere of its own with it and would be totally different to the night that we were there. This stay was in fact paid for by the hotel as part of our wedding package and it was a lovely thing to have to look forward to for our anniversary. I'd almost prefer not to write this review but I do use TripAdvisor an awful lot as a resource whenever I am travelling and I appreciate honest, balanced and fair reviews. OK, so everything wasn't as great as it had been the year before but the food was good, staff were helpful and view of Cork from the room was amazing (even better than it had been from the bridal suite). It's still a solid 3-star hotel choice that just needs a little work. It still offers great views with free parking in a quiet neighbourhood just a short walk from the city centre. I had to laugh while reading one recent review that said this hotel was in a sketchy neighbourhood - far from it, I'd say there were other parts of Cork city that this person would have been truly horrified by :) I would also point out that it is on a hill so if you are very unfit, very lazy, are in some way mobility-restricted and are unwilling to pay for a taxi then perhaps look for somewhere closer to sea-level. Everyone else can be rewarded by the great views of the city.

We look forward to returning again in the future. I know that the manager, Chris, and the rest of the team will be working to make the most of the opportunities that the new owner brings and it is with much goodwill that I wish them the very best in their work. We can't wait to enjoy the fruits of their efforts and to see the Ambassador back to where it belongs.

Room Tip: Ask for one at front of hotel - the higher up, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit with us. Firstly Congratulations to you both on celebrating 1 year of marriage, I wish you many happy more.
I thank you for your honest and fair feedback. I appreciate you making readers of your review, the issues that this hotel faced last year, and I am grateful, you have the belief that as a team we have the potential to get it right again. I have to say also the arrival of new owners has been a breath of fresh air to the hotel. Work is well under way to ensure all experiences in this hotel are of a four star quality.
I trust if you return in the near future, you will see positive improvements, which will have addressed all the issues you encountered.

I thank you again for your feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The only redeeming feature of this ghastly hotel is Don the night porter.

Don't be fooled by the online photos shown on the hotel and booking agent websites. Room allocation is a lottery and reception staff seem completely disinterested in guest requests and feedback. Several of our friends - also having booked 'standard' rooms - were given large rooms with huge bathrooms etc. whilst we were allocated a small smoking room with a tiny 'cupboard sized' shower room a long and convoluted trek away from the reception and bar area (apparently this was the only other room available in the whole hotel after we had requested an alternative to the first substandard cell (literally!) we were allocated). The room curtains did not close properly, there were stains on the carpet and walls and no hot water in the morning. Our room key failed to work two nights running when we returned to the hotel - the snooty receptionist was unapologetic and terseley suggested to us not to keep it near a mobile phone in future (which we hadn't done anyway). On the second night reception staff had gone, so the lovely night porter, Don, (who appeared to be the only hepful and interested member of staff in the place) let us into our room - thank goodness.

Staying at this hotel was a big mistake and it soured an otherwise extremely enjoyable visit to Cork. We would not stay here again even if they paid us to!

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here make sure they don't give you room 305 (the first room we were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterboroughMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear reviwer,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent visit to our hotel. It is obviously a disappointing read for me. I was on duty when you came to reception the morning when you had no hot water. I assured you at the time I would tend to it immediately, which I did and rectified. I would hope you can trust the customer service ethos we have is to listen to our guests and react to any issues that may arise in order to make it as comfortable a stay as possible. If I had gotten the impression from you that you were that dissatisfied with your stay, I assure you I would have spent the rest of your stay trying to redeem ourselves.

I would ask you kindly to contact me directly, as to discuss the rest of your stay.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 (21) 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we were a bit shocked when we walked in to this hotel. it was probably an expensive spot many years ago but everything is old now and in bad need of a refurbishment. seemingly, they have a new owner now and maybe some money will be spent on it. until then, expect frayed curtains, badly worn and stained carpets and marked and chipped walls. If this does not bother you, then go for it as the price probably reflects the condition. However, i paid more that i should. Breakfast was nice enough.

Room Tip: I think there is a wing which has been refurbished recently enough. go for one of them as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. It was disappointing to read your comments, mostly because they are fair comments. The hotel thankfully has just recently been purchased, and our new owners share the same passion to bring each and every bedroom in this hotel up to a standard expected for a four star property as we do. We have identified all areas that need work, and moved swiftly to rectify them. I am sure if you returned you would see an improvement.

I would ask that the next time you are planning a visit to Cork, you would offer us another chance to show you how we have listened to our guests.
I would personally like to take care of your booking.

Thank you again for your fair and balanced feedback,


Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 (21) 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The name says something about the nature of the place. It was a grand hotel. Our room was lovely, overlooking the city. A small balcony gave us an even better glimpse. We were late in and stayed in for dinner which was probably a mistake, thankfully breakfast was better.

Room Tip: Overlooking the city was lovely - although the next morning the fog was so heavy we couldn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and the room you were allocated. I would be interested in a little more feedback as to why you felt dining in was a mistake.
More detailed comments on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 (21) 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights. The staff if very friendly and helpful, but the rest of the hotel is pretty creepy. The "gym" is abandoned and really weird. The hotel is also on a huge hill in a somewhat sketchy neighborhood. We enjoyed the people and our visit, but we will definitely never forget this hotel!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit. Thank you for your kind comments of our staff. I was a little disheartening to read some of your comments, however I do respect them. I just wanted to reassure you, and other readers of this review, that St. Lukes is a very nice historical area of Cork. Thankfully our plans include a revamp of our fitness room. So should you return again, I am confident you will see an improvement.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,498 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
2,067 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,592 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing