We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my 4 sisters as a birthday treat for 2 of them. I booked a very cheap deal and wasn't expecting the level of service or the quality of the rooms and the food to be as good. I was more than pleasantly surprised!!
We ate in the restaurant as part of our deal and were allowed to choose either a main/desert/tea or coffee or a starter/main/tea or coffee from the al la carte menu which turned out to be superb. The lady at reception was happy to give us advise on where best to go 'down town' after our meal and the friendly night porter was more than happy to serve us a late drink when we returned much later.
It was pouring rain when we were leaving and a lovely gentleman called Chris ran back and forth with us to our cars holding an umbrella to keep us dry. A total gent!
My only complaint is that the food service was slow. They were extremely busy however and the staff were very apologetic.
Overall the experience was fantastic and we all agreed we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    360
    171
    64
    33
See reviews for
177
493
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked this on Booking.com a few weeks before the Irish Open Golf and got a rate that was much better than any other four star hotel in Cork for what was a busy weekend in the city. So I thought there must be a catch. There wasn't. This was a very comfortable four night stay in a big room with proper four star standards of luxury. Breakfast is cooked, which means a ten minute wait but is all the better for the fact that it is freshly prepared and not part of a buffet. The bar/restaurant area is attractive and not typical for a hotel as it has a very distinctive but warm and comfy decor and I enjoyed two good reasonably priced meals.

The hotel is in an old military hospital building so it has a lot of character and has been upgraded well.

It is located on an elevated site above the city and is a ten to fifteen minute walk to the city centre which is fine downhill but not that big a deal to walk back uphill.

I liked this hotel and the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfrunner800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed in this hotel for one night on his birthday.

They room itself was clean but the shower in the bathroom was awful it was like rain water no power whatsoever! They obviously haven't heard of sound proofing either as I was woken up in the middle by the men in the room next door, they were just talking normally no raised voices but I could still hear every word, we were once again woken in the morning to the sounds of them talking, flushing the toilet and turning on the tap. Not what you want to be woken up by when your away for a night together.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we both thought it was very over priced and there is much better value in the city.

A month before we booked, I emailed the hotel to let them know it was my fiancé birthday and the last time we would get away together before the wedding and was there anything extra special they could do for us, I was told they would upgrade our room to one with a balcony (which we ended up having anyway) when I checked the Internet it turns out I was quoted a price was even more expensive then their own website!!!

For my birthday in a different hotel we got a free room upgrade and bottle of prosecco in the room!


My advice would be to spend that little bit extra and stay nearer the city.

Won't be calling back or recommending.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank complaining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor N.I.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from a long weekend in this hotel. We booked mainly based on the reviews of the restaurant and the proximity to the city centre. Well things didn't start well as the rooms were not ready when we arrived. After an hours delay we finally got the room which was spacious clean and of a good standard. After spending the rest of the day in the city we looked forward to our meal and were very disappointed by the standard. I'm sorry but the chef is not as good as he thinks he is. The seafood chowder was decidedly average and was so under seasoned it was farcical. The chowder tasted like a bowl of double cream with a few veg and a few mussels and clams thrown in with their shells still on in fact two of the mussels failed to open and had to be thrown out. My wife's salmon and Chinese style noodles were so overpowered by lemon and lemon grass the taste was quite sour. My own seafood platter was so overcooked the smoked fish and salmon were almost crispy. We decided to forgo dessert. A big disappointment after the other reviews. Saturday nights sleep was appalling as the staff decided to squeal and shout into the early hours at the staff entrance and then decided to drag laundry bins over the car park at 7 am . Breakfast was another disappointment with the kitchen running out of bacon an the Tuesday morning and not telling guests until their breakfast arrived on the table and had a very off handed attitude when quizzed. As I said the hotel was lovely but the kitchen was a downer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangorgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After refurbishment, the character remains and it is stylish, comfortable and clean. I found staff to be very friendly as well as helpful. It is easy to walk into Cork although , when returning , there is an uphill stretch.
The restaurant produced a very high standard of food at a very reasonable rate. If I lived in Cork, I would be a frequent visitor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 583Wendy_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staff were very polite, really enjoyed my stay, loved my room was very spacious comfortable and a lovely view of Cork from my balcony, we could even see the marquee which was where we were going. walking distance to bus station and all bars and restaurants. recommended!!

Room Tip: Superior double room , very spacious, ask for a front room really nice view of Cork from your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were lucky enough to get a great deal on booking .com and would have gladly paid double this is a first class hotel. The room was luxurious, the view superb food was great and we are planning to go back for a couple of days to explore Cork properly. One night was not enough

Room Tip: In the front of the hotel the rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,418 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing