We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acorn House Cork Ireland”
Review of Acorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorn House
Ranked #14 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
northwest Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acorn House Cork Ireland”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Acorn House was perfect for our stay in Cork. Great location, great accommodations. Charlie and family were welcoming and worked hard to make sure our stay was comfortable. I would recommend this facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmerdown404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    31
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
29
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here recently with my wife on our wonderful trip to Cork City. Jacki and her husband were the perfect hosts. Jacki is such a wonderful lady, and an excellent host. Their guesthouse was the perfect location for us as we just went down the hill a little and we were in the city then. Our room was upstairs and had that perfect old world charm. Our room was very clean and tidy and we had a window facing the front of the house. Would recommend anyone to stay here. Location is excellent, and breakfast is very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here not so long ago, with my husband. We had the perfect stay. The location is ideal and the couple who run the B and B are truely wonderful. They are so helpful! We got a wonderful Irish breakfast which was fresh! Our bed was so comfortable and the room was perfect. The house is wonderfully decorated and has that old charm about it. I could not fault the place. Excellent cuisine, fantastic hosts and a very memorable stay! Thank you Acorn House!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Would only let me make a booking for a minimum of two nights. When I emailed about cancelling the second night, the owner told me she would have to cancel the two nights as she only takes bookings for a minimum of two nights! We ended up only staying one night but having to pay for two nights! Not very helpful at all. I would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank patjo382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Difficult to find and parking was an issue. Our room was on the top floor which involved more stairs than we anticipated. After a day of driving and sightseeing it was a slow climb upstairs. Bathrooms were very small and the shade on the small window did little to block the early morning light. We wee greeted warmly and given great advice on where to go for dinner and drinks just down the hill and around the corner. Breakfast was delicious and served quickly and with nice conversation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

It is walking distance from all the main attractions in Cork.Close to the bus station and train station.The owners are very helpful. The breakfast was average. Rooms are big, just in our room the wardrobe was a bit small. Overall it was good value for money. I liked the fact that they gave you a city map upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We only stayed for one night. The owners were very nice. Our room was very outdated and had a strange odor to it. The house is old so you hear all the creeks. Breakfast was very good. It was a traditional Irish breakfast and we were waited on. It's very good for the price and very close to the main city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
886 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,409 reviews
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House

Property: Acorn House
Address: Acorn House 14 Saint Patrick's Hill, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing