We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter Indulgance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Utter Indulgance”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at The Hayfield Manor Hotel for one night,on saturday the 11th of January. The whole experience was truly Fabulous. We had a telephone call a couple of weeks before our stay enquiring as to whether we required spa treatments booking,which was a lovely touch.
Upon arrival we checked in and our bags were taken to our room,and nothing seemed too much trouble. The staff were all extremely polite,helpful and professional.at all times.
Our room was lovely,warm and well equiped. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with bathrobes and slippers provided.
We ate in Orchids restaurant on the saturday evening and the meal was truly 5star. The food was superb,the staff again fantastic and the atmosphere in there was really relaxing. There was a gentleman singing in the lobby during the evening,who was great and it made for a perfect evening.
I can't comment on the breakfast,as we choose not to have it,but would imagine it would have been as good as every thing else we experienced at Hayfield Manor.
This hotel is a truly wonderful haven,with first class staff,and hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest Ann S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for indeed choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor recently.

It was a delight to read through your review and I am thrilled to know that you had a truly fabulous time. Thank you also for your kind praise of our cuisine, accommodation and our team. It brings me much pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations.

I hope I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,425
    357
    97
    28
    15
See reviews for
599
1,527
73
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maennedorf, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we had a very nice break during the week of new years eve at the hayfield manor. We came in late after a long trip and immediately felt welcome after a very friendly greeting (would have loved a sip of the whiskey though). The staff in the hotel are just amazing and very friendly. Bart the concierge is simply brilliant.

The rooms where cozy and comfortable and the breakfast buffet simply brilliant. We also had dinner at the 2 restaurants and the food was excellent. In addition we attended the new year eve dinner event with some friends of ours and had a great time.

Now compared to other 5 star hotels around the globe I have to admit that some of the rooms would need some refresh as well as the bathrooms and some of the equipment in the room. Also it would be brilliant if they had a residence bar/restaurant where one could retire to as the place is very busy with external guest and getting a table or a tranquil space can be a challenge.

But these are complaints on a higher level and the staff and friendliness make the difference to other maybe more modern 5 star hotels.

we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have more space and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest bscyb,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor for your New Year’s celebrations, and for taking the time to write your review.

I would like to thank you very much for your praise of our hotel and especially our cuisine in both of our Hotel restaurants.

Naturally, I am disappointed to read that you felt our guest accommodation wasn't quite five star, however I am delighted to inform you that this year we shall be renewing all our guest rooms so I hope that they will exceed your expectations in future visits.

bscyb, I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future, and please help yourself to the whisky decanter on our reception desk, it is there for our guests consumption.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay in hayfield with our baby. Hotel is great, service excellent, rooms lovely and food very good. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and at all times either at breakfast, dinner or in the spa all the staff were happy to help and go that little further for us with a young baby. This hotel is a lovely get away.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josie_M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest Josie_M2013,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, cuisine and guest room within our hotel. I am more pleased to know that all the team here thoroughly looked after you and your family.

I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Hayfield Manor for a very special family occasion between Christmas and New Year. From my initial phone call to later emails and conversations with various staff I was impressed by the friendly and courteous service. This impression was emphasised by the warm reception received from Bart and all the reception staff on our arrival.

Our room was very spacious with views over the garden and rooftops of Cork and we were delighted with it. The first night we ate in the Bistro and had a delicious meal. Breakfast both mornings was wonderful - the full Irish breakfast was awesome!!!

The hotel itself looked so beautiful, magnificently decorated for the Christmas season - we even had a Christmas tree in our room!

The occasion for which we were in Cork was held in the hotel and an occasion which was such a happy celebration was definitely enhanced by the beautiful surroundings and attention to detail of all the staff in the hotel. I am looking for a reason to stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonviveur28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest bonviveur28,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us here at Hayfield Manor recently.

It was an absolute pleasure to hear how my team impressed you so highly. It always brings me such delight when the team here receive such wonderful recognition and I can assure you I will pass on your exceptionally kind feedback.

Thank you also for your high praise of our cuisine, accommodation and surroundings.

I very much hope you’ll find a reason to stay once more as it would be my pleasure to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed with our extended family in late November and could not get over the outstanding accommodations, complete with a Xmas tree in each room, to the concierge service, dining room, and spa. Can't say enough about this lovely, warm hotel. The spa is not to be missed--quite an experience. The staff is superb and the food outstanding. The concierge even helped us find rooms at the next hotel in another city and made the reservations for us. She couldn't have been more helpful. We really felt we were so lucky to visit at this time as the holiday decorations were absolutely beautiful. We felt like we were having a "Downton Abbey" experience. It's an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest Rad32013,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently at Hayfield Manor and also for taking the time to write your kind review.

I am delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially having your own personal Christmas tree in your guest room and I am thrilled that you felt our hotel was so welcoming and warm.

Thank you very much also for your high praise of our staff. I will be sure to inform our concierge team of your kind comments as I’m sure they will be as pleased as I am to know that they exceeded your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon, hopefully for another relaxing stay.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely stay, the bed was so soft and comfy I never wanted to leave but when eventually I did it was worth it for the outstanding service and attention of the young gents in the bar. Outstanding training must go into the staff in Hayfield, they will bring me back again soon. Overall great hotel, great staff, great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest JMCS28,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review, and for indeed choosing to stay with us recently.

It was a pleasure to read through your review and to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much indeed for your praise of our team, it always bring me great pleasure to be able to relate such high recognition back to the team.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Myself and my family recently went to the Hayfield for Sunday lunch to celebrate a special occasion. The atmosphere in the hotel was really nice as it was coming up to Christmas and the hotel is always beautifully decorated. We were seated promptly and given our menus. But when we sat down we noticed two pieces of dirty used cutlery still with food on them. It was like they hadn't been removed from the previous guests. The table had been reset though so whoever did the table didn't check the cutlery. They were taken away and replaced. Then we placed our order but the waiter then came back to us and apologised that we had received the wrong menus and some of the choices we made were no longer available. The food that we did receive after this was really delicious. The condiments on the table were also quite grubby especially the oil and the salt cellar, they just need to be cleaned with a damp cloth. Overall we had a lovely Sunday lunch, the food was really good, and always enjoy visiting the hotel but there were just a few things that we were a bit disappointed with and really shouldn't be happening in a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corkmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest corkmike,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to dine with us recently in our Perrott’s Garden Bistro and also for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with the atmosphere of our hotel and more so our Christmas décor.

Naturally, I am disappointed to hear of the careless attention to detail you received the Sunday that you visited us. Dirty mise en place is most certainly not to our high standards, as I am sure you are aware from your previous visits. I have spoken with our restaurant team and I can assure you this situation will not arise again.

Corkmike, I would like to thank you for your review as it is only from balanced feedback such as yours that we can continue to improve our services in the future. I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future, where I assure you our standard will be at our usual five star.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing