We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Visited Hotel weekend of 7/8/9 March. Fantastic experience from the start. Welcomed at the door by the friendly Concierge and reception staff. Room excellent and very comfy bed. While I did not partake in the Spa my better half did and she was very impressed especially with the outside hot tub. We tried the food in the bar for lunch on Friday and it was beautiful and plenty of it. Good value. Saturday night after a visit to nearby Kinsale where we watched Ireland beat Italy, we dined in the main restaurant. Now that is what I call a culinary experience. Terrific food and friendly staff what more do you want. We will certainly be back for more pampering.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the front or the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest Brian S,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently at Hayfield Manor and also for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

It always brings me great pleasure to hear that we have given such a memorable experience to our guests, so naturally I am thrilled to hear your wonderful comments about our spa, Orchid’s restaurant and cuisine. In particular, I would like to thank you kindly for your high praise of your team; it is truly wonderful to be able to relate such praise back to everyone.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future for more pampering.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,772 - 1,778 of 3,181 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Firstly I don't like to write bad reviews but I was very disappointed by Hayfield.

The room was cold upon arrival, took us about a half hour to work out the heater unit, no radiators

It really didn't have the quality and flair of a 5 star hotel .

My Triton T90 had better pressure than the shower at Hayfield , it was officially the worst shower I have ever experienced in any hotel.

Parking is limited and its not walking distance from the City Center.

Breakfast wasn't included in the high price I paid for the stay but could be bought for €20 per person... No thanks.

Plus points:

-The staff were friendly
-The pool was nice.
- Pint of Guinness was expensive but nice.
-Complimentary dressing gown and flip flips and a convenient entrance to the pool area

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SummitSeeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest KildareGer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for complements in relation to our spa, Guinness and also the team here at Hayfield Manor.

I am however very disappointed to read that you did not feel your stay had the flair or quality of which you had been expecting. I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge that we do always appreciate feedback from our guests, your comments are incredibly important to us in order to be able to continue to grow and improve our products for the future.

Mr KildareGer, I would be grateful if you could contact myself directly at Hayfield Manor so that we can resolve the issues you have stated above and hopefully be given the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I hate to say it but after 3 consecutive visits to this hotel each time I have had the same bad experience. On all occasions we froze!! There is only 1 fire in the main entrance, come reception, come eating area, come check in area!! Yes the food in the restaurant is good but for god sake turn up the heat!! Spa is dreadfully outdated. Entrance and grounds very nice but not enough car park space. Staff very nice always.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank corkberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest corkberry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am pleased to read that having stayed with us previously, our team, restaurant and grounds have continually exceeded your expecations.

Naturally I am disappointed to read that you feel on all occasions the hotel has been cold. We do only have one open fire in our lobby area, however adjoined to our lobby are two small residential areas where we also have fires. I would like to thank you for drawing this to our attention, and inform you that some of our guest suites also have fires in the room. On your next visit we would be delighted to assign you to one of our guests suites to ensure a comfortable, and more importantly, warm stay.

I do sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked three rooms for four nights
Rooms were well appointed
A charming hotel with a staff who understand the importance of not good but great service
Nice bar and restaurant was a delight
We are from Canada and wanted to watch the semi final NFL game on Sunday night
We asked the front desk if they could recommend a sport pub that would offer the game
and they offered to make a few calls to confirm that the game would be available
We returned an hour later and were advised that they would provide a link to their boardroom and that the game would be available to us on their giant screen
We were served drinks and dinner in the boardroom and enjoyed watching the game
I love Ireland and will return to this hotel
One of my better hotel visits
Kudos to owner and staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest JohnTOttawa,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and also for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am delighted to read that our team exceeded your expectations especially and that you were also pleased with our bar and restaurant facilities. Thank you also for your mention of us accommodating your wish to watch the NFL game, we do always try to meet any requests from our guests and so I am thrilled that on this occasion we were able to facilitate your enquiry.

It would a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a great stay a Hayfield manor over Christmas and new year combining some special packages. We flew to Dublin and took a Bus (aircoach) to Cork which worked nicely both ways. The Hotel was as nice as expected. It was just about 15 min by foot to the town centre with good shopping possibilities. We mainly dined at the Hotel and were not disappointed. We especially enjoyed the bar, very classy. Breakfast was fantastic, especially the eggs benedict with smoked salmon. The spa had a steam bath and a small outdoor jacuzzi next to the inside swimming pool. We didn´t have any spa treatments. The New year´s dinner experience was like from Downton Abbey, most stylish. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WGabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest WGabriele,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much indeed for your very kind praise of our hotel, especially our breakfast and evening cuisine. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Manor Bar.

We are truly pleased you had such a wonderful Christmas and New Year’s break with us and I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful staff. Beautiful hotel....we had a lovely room overlooking the garden. Great breakfast served in Perrots restaurant, which is a lovely bright and airy room. The bar has a nice ambience, busy but relaxed and elegant at the same time. Great cocktail selection and now choice of wine by the glass. We love coming back here !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest 30Catherine,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and also for choosing to stay with us again recently.

I am thrilled to read that enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to our team, breakfast and menu selections. I will be sure to inform all of the team here at Hayfield Manor of your kind praise.

It would a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

just a tad dissapointed, as its our second time to stay, and when i called this time and asked for a junior suite for one night, i had to take two nights, so i made some arrangements and agreed to two nights but when we arrived we were in a room quite basic, with zero view of anything, i would have liked that the lady who took reservation would have noted that i originally wanted a junior suite, and would have accomodated us in something a little nicer, it was a very special occasion.
other than that though it still lives up to the highest standards, staff are wonderful and so accomodating. restaurant and food particularly on the first night was exceptional. this was valentines weekend, and i suspect they were busy, so night two in the restaurant not as good or as fresh as first night which could not be faulted.
we will return no doubt, but will feel the need to be alot more specific when making reservation, and hope that the person on reception will accomodate more appropriately.
having stayed in some of the other rooms before, it was dissapointing when we were put in the room we were put it, had we not experienced the other lovely rooms, we probably wouldnt have judged as much.

Room Tip: be specific when booking about the type of room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest pippy k,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with our team and cuisine especially.

Naturally I am disappointed to hear that your room request was not facilitated on this occasion. We continually strive to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations and therefore it is disheartening to read that we did not exceed yours on this visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork T12 HT97, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £166 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing