We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great staff, great hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, great hotel!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at Hayfield Manor in July and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment we stepped inside the door we got a great welcome from Michael the concierge who was very friendly and informative about the hotel and surrounding area. Our bedroom was really beautiful. The staff in the bar were superb particularly the girl from Kilkenny who's name escapes me now. We ate in Perrotts Bistro and it was an experience. The food was to die for and the service again was exceptional. The hotel is blessed with great staff and this is what really stood out to us. We'll certainly be back in the near future!

Room Tip: We were in room 200 which was beautiful although the road outside was quite busy and noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazoLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear GazoLambo,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor in July and for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute delight to read your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

Thank you very much indeed for your highs praise of our accommodation, our cuisine, and most especially our staff. I am also very glad to know that you were pleased with our service, and that Michael and Claire in particular helped to make it a memorable stay for you.

It would be an honour to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    344
    94
    27
    15
See reviews for
558
1,453
71
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We only stayed two nights at this charming property, but loved every minute and would have enjoyed spending many more nights. We were greeted at check in with a small glass of Jameson and things went uphill from there. We were asked to leave our car keys and the bellman would bring the luggage (happened exactly as described).

The staff were lovely and very welcoming; the room was bright, spotless, luxurious and spacious. Our room had a "thingie" for practicing golf putting, along with a putter and ball, which instantly grabbed my husband's attention.

We ate dinner at the Perrott both nights and could not have asked for better service or food. We had one of the specials each night and although billed as casual dining, it fell into our definition of fine dining without the need to dress up.

Would love to return and would not hesitate to recommend to even the pickiest of our friends! Oh, be sure to stroll through the gardens and visit bunnies in their hutch and the birds in the aviary. You would never know you are in the midst of a busy city. The hotel is a moderate downhill walk from the downtown area, so remember the return is a bit of a climb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear easytraveler49,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently, and also for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am exceedingly grateful for your wonderful praise of our hotel. I am thrilled to know that you were so pleased with your room, our grounds and our cuisine. Thank you very much for your marvellous recommendation of Hayfield Manor, it is greatly appreciated.

It also gives me great pleasure to hear that you were so pleased with our service. I will be certain to forward your kind words to the entire team, and I am sure they will be as delighted as I am with your kind comments.

I am very glad to note that you would like to return to us again, and I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor for an extended visit in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This is the place to stay if you're in Cork. Possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The attention to detail in this place is incredible. We reserved a no frills room on the third floor and it had everything you could want. The view of the city was unbeatable. In addition, the accommodations included a large bathroom, a comfortable king sized bed, free wi-fi, and a fainting couch (just in case). The ground floor of the hotel had anything you could want for a resort. The spa and pool were beautiful, the Orchids Restaurant (while pricey) is terrific, the bar has a greater whiskey taster menu, and there are at least three ornate sitting rooms that you can have your drink delivered to (one a library where we spent most of our time). Saturday evening, a lounge singer occupied the lobby with a great voice and he covered jazz standards. Finally, and most importantly, you have Frank and Michael at the front (both working at different times) for whatever questions you might have. Both have a kind and unrivaled personality that made this place the best we've stayed at. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Brian P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Ireland.

I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations . I am utterly thrilled to hear that you felt Hayfield Manor was possibly the best hotel you have ever stayed at. Thank you very much indeed for your marvellous recommendation of our hotel, I am very grateful to you.

Thank you also for your wonderful praise of our staff, especially our concierges, Michael and Frank. It gives me great pleasure to know that they were able to assist you in your requests, and that you found them both so helpful. I will be certain to forward your kind comments to them, as I am sure that they will be as delighted as I am to know that they made such a wonderful impression.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This lovely and charming hotel was just what I was expecting for our stay in Cork. The walled garden and grounds feel as if you are at a country estate while you are actually in the city. Our room had a historic hotel feel but had all of the modern conveniences you would expect, and was expertly maintained. Turn down service is always an added plus and just what I expected from a hotel of this caliber. The staff were very attentive, helpful and professional. The two restaurants on the property are also 5 Star. I would definitely return if in Cork again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kerry W,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much indeed for your kind recommendation of our hotel.

I am particularly grateful to you for your marvellous praise of our service. It gives me great pleasure to know that you found our staff attentive and helpful. I will be certain to forward your kind comments to the team, as I am sure that they will be delighted to know that they made such a wonderful impression.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights here and really loved the Hotel. The whole property is beautiful, with a nice garden not far from the University, about 15/20 minutes walk to the city.
The room itself was beautifully decorated and quiet.
We had dinner at the hotel and we really enjoyed the meal along with the great service of both the French waitresses, price was affordable and quality really good! The breakfast was also great, with many choices.
Overall a lovely place in Cork city! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Pablost,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and that you were so pleased with your guest room. I am thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful praise.

I am particularly glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals, and I will be certain to forward your lovely comments to our head chef and his team. I am sure that they will all be as delighted as I am with your kind praise.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently was treated to a night away here for my birthday - and it was beyond my expectations. I am from Cork so have never stayed here before but will definitley be back - it was like a tranquil oasis in an otherwise busy city! The room we had was beautiful and had every comfort imaginable. When checking in I was wished a happy birthday, and in our room their was a card from the general manager with the same wishes (very nice personal touch). We ate in the hotel restaurant and whilst I am not a fan of hotel food, this could not have been better - our waitress was an absolute pleasure to deal with and her recommendations showed off her indepth knowledge. Can't recommend this hotel enough, and will be dropping numerous hints so that I'm treated to this again!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room faced onto their Garden and the natural light was fantastic - noise was not an issue at any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear mbm27,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute delight to read your comments. I am utterly thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with your stay and that you would recommend us so highly.

Thank you for your wonderful praise of our guest rooms, our cuisine, and most especially our service. It gives me great pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations, and I hope that you had a wonderful birthday celebration with us.

I will be certain to forward your review to the whole team, as I am sure that they will all be as thrilled as I am to know that they helped to make your stay so special.

I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
381 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Catching up on our reviews...
Only spent 1 night with the family here in 9/2013. A picturesque and quaint property with beautiful, large, comfortable rooms (the milk and cookies and the pet fish put such a smile on our faces). Lovely service. Lovely breakfast. All went smoothly. Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarDivaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear 5StarDivaFamily,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hayfield Manor on your trip to Ireland last September, and also for taking the time to write your wonderful review of our hotel.

It was an absolute delight to read your comments. Thank you very much indeed for your marvellous praise of our cuisine, and of our service in particular. I am especially thrilled that your children enjoyed their milk and cookies and their pet fish. It is immensely gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations, and that you would recommend us so highly.

I will be certain to forward your review to the whole team, as I am sure that they will all be as pleased as I am to know that they made such a fantastic impression.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing